We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
218
59
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
59
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerother guestsnutmeg juicegrain storekalypso adventuresluxury cottagefolk songsdugout canoelocal lifebike rideshome stayacross the riverriceevening entertainmentlovely homestayayurveda massagethe main house
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This "homestay" looks and feels more like a boutique, heritage hotel!

Located right on the water, and backing onto rice fields; so, there's beautiful views and sunsets every day! They have free bikes you can borrow to ride around. They can arrange boat tours, ayurvedic massages on site, and transportation.

We came here as our last stop on our 4 day Kalypso Adventures kayak trip. It was a beautiful place to end our trip. The rooms are amazing: outdoor shower, big bed, sparkling clean, lots of nice wood and local design. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: wifi is weaker the further you get from the main office
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paradoxifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you very much for the Great review....

Vinod & Vijo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Sadly, we didn't even have a whole night here, as we had to leave before 4am the next day to get to Cochin for our flight home, so our experience was limited. However, we were given a lovely welcome by Vinod and our room, with open-to-the-air bathroom, was comfortable and roomy. The grounds are delightful offering many places to sit or lie in the several covered seating areas and hammocks. Alas we were too tired - and very hot - so limited ourselves to a short stroll around the immediate area. We joined the other guests for a delicious meal in the evening although would have enjoyed a little more interaction from the staff as they served the meal. We were a little disappointed not to be offered something to take with us for the breakfast that we had to miss.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tipishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for the Great Review.....

Regards,

Vinod Job

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This is a beautiful accommodation in a serene setting. We stayed in a total of 6 different accommodations during our 14 day tour around Kerala and Emerald Isle was definitely the one place we enjoyed the most. Very peaceful, relaxing and un-touristy. We enjoyed being by the river and walking around the nearby canals and getting a genuine glimpse of people who live along the water and how they use the river and canals to go about their daily lives. The homestay is a beautiful old building with lovely gardens and Vinod and his staff were so hospitable, they were always on hand to do whatever they could for their guests. Food was wonderful and we enjoyed dining outside with the other guests. There are hammocks behind the house in the gardens and views into the rice fields. We took a couple of old bikes (beware of chain slipping) out for a ride around the area and there is a small building on-site where you can have a relaxing massage. Vinod arranged for us to take a 2 hour boat ride on a small motor boat which can easily reach some of the smaller canals. We sat on top of the boat and we enjoyed it just as much, if not more, than the 1 night we had on a houseboat.

Room Tip: Corner room with the raised sleeping area and cottage in the front garden probably the quietist rooms
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank limaberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

The first person you meet is the guy picking you up by boat on the other side of the river; he welcomes you with a bright smile. When you reach the house, you are welcomed by the owner himself and a glass of fresh juice. The room is perfect, pre-cooled, nicely decorated, big and very clean. The Ayurveda massage is the best I got during my whole trip in Kerala. After the massage, you get a guided tour of the garden.
The diner in the garden with the other guests was perfect and the conversation animated and joyful, candle light, mosquito repellent ;-) and very fine and exquisite Indian food served. I wish I could have stayed longer. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank France S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for the Great review.

Have a Great Day.

Regards.

Vinod Job & Vijo Job

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived by kayak and support boat.
Great welcome with Nutmeg drink and lovely staff. Loved eating outside with other guests. Great to meet other travellers and discuss our adventures, very sociable. Stayed in the old rice store with outside shower - fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank moo296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for the Great review.

Have a Great Day.

Regards.

Vinod Job & Vijo Job

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews