We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citrus, a tangy experience during the rains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Citrus, a tangy experience during the rains”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Actually, we were planning to head for another resort nearby, when a friend recommended this new property. After a smooth drive from Kochi to Aleppey city, and another 4 kilometres down, we reached St. Thomas Church besides a river and boat jetty. There was a fabulous house boat waiting to take just the 6 of us to the hotel. A 10-minute cruise later we reached the hotel, where Sujith, the friendly guest relations executive, was waiting to greet us by the dock.
This is not a resort; as their name suggests, it's more of a retreat. A retreat from the everyday hussle and bussle.... Excellent buffet spread. Clean and nice rooms that look out into the river. Very, very friendly and accomodative staff. Not to to mention Mr. Santhosh, the General Manager, a gem of person (to underline the fact, he even has a tiny gem on his left ear). Great guy. And a great resort!

Room Tip: If you like looking out into the river, ask for a river-view room. Optionally, you could ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laljacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Citrus Alleppey and thank you for your kind words.

It is a pleasure to know that you chose to stay with us and we could contribute in making your experience here memorable.

Our team is our greatest strength and we constantly strive for guest satisfaction and it is through guest feedback that we can enhance our service further more and it is comments such as this that we are enthused about.

Thank you for the review once again and we look forward to welcome you once again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    179
    65
    22
    20
See reviews for
283
244
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

There are no signs to guide you to the place where to park your vehicle and take the boat to the property. But they do give detailed directions while booking, I am told. Unlike some other properties where the boat is waiying for you, here we had to call and wait for a good 15 minute before the boat arrived,

Citrus, Allepey is a small property but well maintained and with comfortable rooms. The food is good but the chef could take some lessons on creativity and do different things especially when they know that the same group is staying for more than 1 meal!

It's a place to just relax and do nothing. But you do need the lake facing rooms for that - which come at a premium. The other rooms face a inhouse pond and lush paddy fields - which may not be that lush during other months of the year. A good place to go with friends, chat up, play indoor games (there is no place for outdoor games) and enjoy yourself. It's also a good place to enjoy your solitude, if that's what you want.

You can get fresh toddy from the locals and that's worth experiencing. Fresh toddy is a healthy dring and does not have any of the ingredients for intocation.

They have decent conference facilities and are planning to expand the area a little distance away. The service is very good and the GM has an infectious personality. Don't go with too much expectations and you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: lake facing is definietly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annchaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Landed at this place after moving in from lake palace resorts ! wow this place is no comparison its just concrete built in alleppey with no essence of kerala in it. out on the extremes on a village strip building a property and calling it a hotel doesn't suffice. You cannot access a market or the nearest visitng places unless you cough up for a taxi. The hotel boat makes you land nowhere near a road where there are no signs that they would come and pick you up from there. It exists but it virtually is untraceable. They charge you for internet and a days charge is almost what you pay for a month backhome for your regular internet connection and yes they have LCD TVs in the room where 3 out of the 5 channels say that these guys have not subscribed for it.Grow up citrus stop being cheapsters.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashishyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Kerala has always attracted me as a holiday destination, so i decided to pay it a visit last month. I opted to stay at Citrus Hotels while I was in Alleppey! Their property truly takes you on another level. The lush greenery and the ambience within the hotel itself rejuvenates you! The stay was so very comfortable and the food was very commendable. Everyday the menu would have fresh sea food that left you asking for more. I even happened to see the houseboats and would recommend it to any couple looking for a romantic getaway in India. Overall service was top notch. If you travel to Kerala, this is something that should not be missed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidds7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Citrus Alleppey and thank you for your kind words.

It is a pleasure to know that you chose to stay with us and we could contribute in making your experience here memorable.

Our team is our greatest strength and we constantly strive for guest satisfaction and it is through guest feedback that we can enhance our service further more and it is comments such as this that we are enthused about.

Thank you for the review once again and we look forward to welcome you once again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
40.9 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
6.5 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
648 reviews
23.3 km away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
563 reviews
20.4 km away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
324 reviews
5.3 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,081 - ₹ 7,903
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing