We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of Riverine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverine Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2017

It was Christmas and we wanted to head to the Gods own Country. Shopped around for quite a while to land a deal but, since it was that season of the year, the prices quoted were exorbitant.

We were this close to dropping the plan for the Christmas holidays but stumbled on to the listing of Riverine Resorts. Am I glad we did, this is a calm serene resort abutting the backwaters and we were in for a peaceful time.

The resort is away from the hustle and bustle of Alleppey and since it is tucked away even from the roads (the nearest roadway is a 15 minute boat ride away), you are in for a special treat. We were relaxed, fishing by the backwaters, taking boat rides, basking in the sun, witnessing the nature at its best form. Kerala is truly a place to be and Riverine was a perfect match to enjoy the splendour of Kerala.

The food that was served was authentic and boy was it yum? We had a very good experience and is sure etched into our memories to cherish for years to come.

A special mention to Mr. Justin, he is the torchbearer of this place. He is a wonderful person, looking for opportunities to go the distance to serve us.

The resort if about 20 kms away from Alleppey by the place called Kanjipadam. You can take a bus from Alleppey towards Trivandrum and get down at TD medical college bus stop. Take a rikshaw (tuk-tuk) from there for Rs. 100 and a boat will be waiting to pick you up from Kanjipadam.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the backwaters, upgrade to a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AmarnathPrabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The resort manager, Justin, made our stay very comfortable. While the resort is aimed at being restful, there is lots to do.
Exploring the nearby town of Allapurzha, or a day cruise on a houseboat provides hours of entertainment.
Alternatively, the comfortable and clean resort cabins allow you to unwind with the pristinely clean backwater being your front 'garden', with multiple houseboats cruising by every few minutes.
Freshly prepared meals are an absolute must, and the staff cater for most palates.
A reminder to bring along insect repellant (natural Citronella oil is very effective, as are incense sticks).

Our family selected a day cruise on Southern Panaroma Cruises, and these are a superior class of houseboat, with delicious fresh meals prepared onboard.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pavel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

This resort situated at a location, one side backwater channel and lush green paddy fields on other side. This big backwater channel may be route for many houseboat and normal boats..Morning time many boats pass through it.. watching this from front of the room itself amazing experience. Resort management arrange transport from Kanjipadam junction till resort by their own boat..

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Nice location. Extremely kind and service orientated staff especially Justin. Food was delicious and cooked fresh hence may take a bit longer. If u order food and decide on the times you would like to eat, the team does it on the dot. Prices are just fine. Lovely unpretentious down to earth place. Will suit people who are not looking for posh treatment. It was definitely a quiet space after city hustle and bustle kochi. They come to pick u up with their boat where u are since we arranged it. Don't come here if you want total silence though as the back waters are places where people actually live hence there will be somewhat of a liveliness and sounds coming but not aggressive. We opted to take a three hour boat ride arranged by team and it was lovely. I really don't get the need to pollute the waters with boats as big as a sub marine just for two people to feel romantic like a page out of Somerset Maugham books . Such a waste of resources. Whilst sitting outside my bungalow I saw so many boats full of fumes with only two people sitting. I only saw western tourist when I was there. Bathroom needs upgrade. Will definitely go again with a few friends to hang out and have a reunion. Will suit friends or family reunion who are not fussed. Great place to meditate oh and try the roti with cauliflower, delish!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JetSetter380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The location is excellent and right at the backwater bund. The exterior view is very attractive. Presently all the rooms are facing the backwater and you can view a houseboat travelling every 5 minutes. The Car park is at a home situated at kanjipadam. From there, they will pick u in a boat and will take about 15 minutes to reach the resort. ( In this you are getting a free boat ride bothways and that is excellent ). There is geyser for hot water and Wifi. Food quality is average and price is reasonable compared to other resorts. They have a houseboat too but need to book separately.
The area is totally isolated and has no access to other areas except through the boat. After 5pm there is no boat servce and beware of this while booking and plan your arrival and departure accordingly. If you love to stay isolated, this is the best place, you are out of the world. There is no other activities in the resort and there is no swimming pool. Only option is to sit in the cottage front and relax...........

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Siva69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.7 km away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#36 of 70 in Alappuzha
87 reviews
23.3 km away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
378 reviews
10.3 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
44.1 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
11.1 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverine Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverine Resort

Address: Kanjipadam | Chempumpuram Post, Alappuzha 688505, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 2,499 - ₹ 4,614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat - The resort is in a magnificent location along the main water route connecting Allepy with Kollam swaying palms, inland water canals flanked by lush green paddy fields and a pristine back water canal. Nestled in the midst of this magnificent surroundings are 10 villas built alongside the canal. The rooms have rustic surroundings and interiors which gives you a combination of tradition and comfort. Built with the sole purpose of providing soothing comfort to recharge your grey cellsWork and Play –If you still need to be connected to work, friends or family. Go wireless with our EXPRESS CONNECT broadband. Go fishing with the local fishermen for an experience of a lifetime. Watch the traditional methods of farming. Go Cycling,boating do all that you can, away from your day-day livesDine – Our flagship restaurant Kayal Kalavara not only churns out gastronomic delights like the local Meen Porichathu, Malabar Chicken curry imbibing flavors of God’s own country. Our eclectic all day dining menu also caters to various Indian and Global cuisines. All this in the backdrop of the serene backwaters and a charming landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Riverine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverine Resort Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing