We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food”
Review of Riverine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverine Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Place is superb in terms of locality and ambiance but service as well as food is pathetic.
My advice : Pack your own food bags & then visit this resort

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    36
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

One of unique experience staying a
On backwaters
They pick you at jetty and with their own boat travelled to enter their hotel

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

When I first reached the place, the resort appeared to be a piece of heaven on earth. Bang on the backwaters...the lullaby of the serene water, beautiful landscaping...but that is where it all ended. The resort is a big let down in all other aspects to be considered as a place for stay. The beautiful property is wasted by inexpereinced staff and lack of, well, almost everything. The ACs in the three rooms we took tripped almost every now and then making it impposible to get a good sleep. A very big issue is food- everything tastes the same..and spiced with a regional curry powder that would make you repel at the sight of it & if you are an inhabitant of North India, you would not be able to take it. Even the butter chicken we tried was made of stale chicken and required enough effort to tear it. All this at no cheap price either, a single boiled egg is charged 20 Rs. The complimentary breakfast is just so called- neither do they have a spread nor any general stuffs available. We booked Lunch+Dinner for 5 adults ( we took 3 rooms) but initially they tried to convince us that the complimentary breakfast is not per person but per room. I was furious and wanted to meet their manager- no one has perhaps heard that a double occupancy room would have breakfast/lunch served for a single person. The manager finally gave the waitor a go ahead and we were served.The evenings at this place can also get boring.. you dont have much to do..cannot even seat on the verge of backwaters, its an insects galore..and the television will also not help much as only regional channels are opted for. Do not expect basic housekeeping services..it does not exist there. On being enquired why the towels have not been replaced the next day, prompt came the reply " usually done once during your stay or after 3 days, whichever is earlier"!!!! And they never cleared the bins placed in the washroom ..I did not bother to ask why, maybe they do it once every month. Now take this- on being asked for an extra pillow for my baby, they said it can be given at an additional cost of a single bed. A pillow at an additional cost ? I am an avid traveller and have never faced such a situation before. On arguing with the manager, somehow finally managed to get an extra pillow at no cost. The hotel is seriously understaffed, only one person was spotted doing everything..poor fella. Also we took the 2 hours boat trip along the backwaters and it was definitely not worth Rs.1500. The check out was also a nightmare..they assured us they would accept credit card but moment before check-out they informed us the machine is malfunctional...we settled the bill at one of their travel agents' office finally.
I am sure if this hotel is given to a corporate group to manage, it would really make good business given the strategic location it is in. However, under the given circumstances, dont even bother to give it a try. Its better missed for your Alleppey trip.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the backwaters have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANIRMITR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Whatever best you can expect from a holiday excursion, you will be able to get it after visiting this place. It was a wonderful experience for our family trip. Right from the start of the trip from Bangalore and till the time we get back to our home, each and every moment was well managed and administered by the members of the resort. Infact, out of the numerous holiday’s trips, this was the best out of the best. The calmness, beauty, serenity, hospitality, food, ambience, surroundings, you have to feel really to have the experience. The most attractive was the few staff who manages the resort who will try to accomplish each of your requirements you can expect in the least possible time. Really a memorable trip and wish to go again very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing towards the river. so any room can be chosen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meeta_Khetarpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Ideal place to enjoy with sposue and children, its nice place for corporate outings good atmosphere,nice food and very kind hearted people, if any plan for outing i would love to go again to same place
I will recommend all my friends and clients this resort

Room Tip: all rooms are good u can choose as per ur needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomas2951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
44.1 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.2 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
7.3 km away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#32 of 68 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#17 of 68 in Alappuzha
319 reviews
9.7 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
679 reviews
8.6 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverine Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverine Resort

Property: Riverine Resort
Address: Kanjipadam | Chempumpuram Post, Alappuzha 688505, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,387 - ₹ 3,484
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat - The resort is in a magnificent location along the main water route connecting Allepy with Kollam swaying palms, inland water canals flanked by lush green paddy fields and a pristine back water canal. Nestled in the midst of this magnificent surroundings are 10 villas built alongside the canal. The rooms have rustic surroundings and interiors which gives you a combination of tradition and comfort. Built with the sole purpose of providing soothing comfort to recharge your grey cellsWork and Play –If you still need to be connected to work, friends or family. Go wireless with our EXPRESS CONNECT broadband. Go fishing with the local fishermen for an experience of a lifetime. Watch the traditional methods of farming. Go Cycling,boating do all that you can, away from your day-day livesDine – Our flagship restaurant Kayal Kalavara not only churns out gastronomic delights like the local Meen Porichathu, Malabar Chicken curry imbibing flavors of God’s own country. Our eclectic all day dining menu also caters to various Indian and Global cuisines. All this in the backdrop of the serene backwaters and a charming landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Riverine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverine Resort Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing