We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Lemon Dew”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lemon Dew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lemon Dew
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Lemon Dew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hi All, we just came back from a three weeks tour in South India.
Arriving to Alepy we received a recommendation to stay in the Lemon just when we stepped out the bus.... and indeed the hospitality was way and beyond.

Jey-Jey the guy who runs the place is just a remarkable and amazing guy who takes a great care of his guests. the food is surprisingly great as well - you just need to meet the lady who cooks it once to understand why.

The rooms are pretty basic, but everything you need for a stay, and much better then any of the surrounding opportunities in Alepy.

The atmosphere was very relaxed and we felt all along like we are really being taken care.
After all, its all about the people!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBtheBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    43
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
64
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I've spent there my new year eve n had a great time, stayed there for two nights ,situated on a lovely place not far from town but full of green, service was outstanding and they have facilities for all kinds of guests, both partying and quiet staying, had a nice time n will back again..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavalBedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our stay here was short - we could not face spending a whole night after checking the place over! We fell into the trap of being herded to this place straight from the Kollam-Alleppey ferry. The prices were not as quoted, the facilities, the guy showing us the place was trying to scam us - asking much more money from us than another couple for an identical room. The rooms were musty and not clean, all round a bit of a dive. When we left, the guy showing us around followed us and hassled us for details of where we were going and other details for ages while we waited for transport. I'm shocked by all the positive reviews of this place but glad that others had a better experience that we did!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snufflypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMONDEW, Manager at Lemon Dew, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
first of all we apologize for the bad experience you had in lemon dew.i like to point out few things for other travellers who read this review
1.the rooms here have diffrent prices because most of our rooms are diffrent from each other so there will be a price diffrence from room to room
2.spending less than five minutes in a place cannot give real picture of a place.
3.there are lot of people in allapuzha who work for commisions like unauthorised guides and tuk tuk drivers.if somebody outside lemondew (who dosent belong to us)
disturbed you we are not ready to take the blame for it(the guy who was showing you around)

i am sorry for the bad experience in allapuzha but if this traveller stayed here and made a review thats fine but without staying here and making a negative comment we cannot accept it all positive reviews from the people who "stayed" here proves our quality

THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skofja Loka, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

i love lemon dew...it's a very relaxing place and i have been there twice already and i'm sure that next time when i come to india i will visit them again...people who work there are very friendly,they really make you feel good.they also organise backwaters tours and they have the best offer,you get the best backwater tour ever for a good price also...if you are heading to alleppey you should really visit them,you won't be sorry:)

Room Tip: all the rooms are very good,you can even get one with an open bathroom..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjasa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Thank You for great time!
Rooms are big and with very big bathrooms. And its clean!
Location is nice aswell. near center but at very quiet canal (buy a lot of anti-mosquito stuff)
small shop with everything + chai :) is very close.

We have sooo good time there christmass time 2011.
The staff is very friendly and open minded :)
cheers to you JJ and Sanil!!! :)

Room Tip: buy a lot of anti-mosquito stuff. I think bathrooms with roof are better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
5.0 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.5 km away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.0 km away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#3 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
3.0 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
2.6 km away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#4 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Dew? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Dew

Property: Lemon Dew
Address: near Bhargavan Jetty | Pallathurathy, Alappuzha 688009, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 644 - ₹ 902
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lemon Dew is a place where you can see the sunrise on the backwater and the sunset will be in the paddy field. Our house is situated in a beautiful backwater village with awesome backwater views and gorgeous paddy views. You can always swim on the backwater because where we live there is clean water. Come and join us; you will get heaps of fun and lovely views and you can also experience the real beauty of village backwater life. We are situated just 2.5 km from the Alleppey bus station. You can always get public water transport from our home to town, and the railway station is just about 5.5 km from us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lemon Dew Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing