We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
112
37
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
37
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatch the boatsfresh pineapple juicedownstairs roombest thing about this placeperfect place to enjoyfirst floorbeautiful locationwonderful stayrooms are nicetuk tukjosethomasjosshomestaybackwatersalleppeycandlelight
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We booked this wanting to visit the backwaters but not knowing whether we wanted to stay on a houseboat or not after reading mixed reviews. The homestay is quite hard to find (our taxi had to call them) but that is definitely a good thing as it’s away from the touristy hub of Alleppey actually on the backwaters with a beautiful view. We had the pick of the rooms choosing an ensuite upstairs in a lovely wooden building with a balcony overlooking the canal. With the peaceful ambience, great welcome from the staff and perfect location we decided to stay our 2 nights in the homestay and visit the backwaters by day kayaking ( fantastic-see separate review) and boat tours. This gave us the freedom to eat out on the first night and then order in a takeaway on the second to really make the most of the fantastic balcony and being in the heart of the backwaters. Joseph the manager helped with our onward travels and the family looked after every need during our stay giving us use of the fridge and bringing candles and fly repellent for our evenings. Only thing we missed is there is no aircon and even though there are fans it does get hot. Even so we definitely recommended and booked a second night unplanned. Thank you for our for our wonderful stay

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayjay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We stay for 1 night before going into the backwaters. Malayalam resort is the perfect place to enjoy all the boats going on the lake
The staff and the boss are very nice and their welcoming is excellent !
We get a massage also after a hard walking day... it was fantastic
Thanks to the owner and Thomas

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 69Xavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

A beautiful room, good bed, nice mosquito net tent. No restaurants nearby but dinner was brought to us the evening we stayed "in". Very friendly and efficient staff. Very comfortable verandas with a view I never grew tired of — always something moving on the river.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

From the moment of arrival, this was a perfect stay. The peaceful lakeside location & warm welcome relax you immediately. Accommodation is very comfortable. Food excellent, & breakfast memorable (thank you, Rosie) - the best-ever fresh pineapple juice. Jose & Thomas do everything to make your stay special.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John and Mauree... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeswin1991, Owner at Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hi John & Maureen

Greetings from Malayalam Lake Resort!

Thank you for being with us and for the great appreciations.

Great regards and love from all of us at Malayalam to you and your family.

Have a wonderful year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I came here with my friend in October 2015. Jeswin was very kind to give us a room in a very short notice. I read about their reviews on lonely planet and was really looking forward to staying only in malayalam lake resort. I could only find their ID by facebook but jeswin repsonded.
The house is very well located right at the backwater!! you dont even need a boat to visit the backwater because you already ARE at the backwaters. The morning view is amazing, we had a ground floor home. My friend was visiting me after 4 years and we just fell in love with the place. Jeswin was very helpful and also directed us to the right places for coconut oil, and banana chips.
We had a great time with uncle, aunty, jeswin and his friend. we also shared great conversations next to backwater in the evning. When we had to say good bye we felt liek we were leaving our own family.

Jeswin, Mary (Padova, Italy) sends her regards! hope you are doing well. I hope to see you again.

Shivani

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShivaniP187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews