We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
66
33
6
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
33
6
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were a big group of 16 families who had checked in for weekend.They gave us an attractive package for the group including two lunch ,tea, dinner and breakfast. The ladies of the group ordered sandwiches during tea time, and we were aghast to learn later that for three star facilities, they have seven star charges.To escape the sizzling heat (the backwater is humid and hot at this time 39 degrees) we took to the pool.Only to find that the pool was having slimy, salty water, pumped straight from the back waters I guess. To top it, the kids all got eye sores after the dip because the water was heavily chlorinated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jith008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your valued feedback. We regret that you had less than a perfect stay with us. The hotel is known for its service and quality standards across all departments of room service, F&B Service, categories of room etc. We can assure you that the pool and other services at our hotel are hygienic & clean and geared to meet all standards of high service and quality.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Hotels across the country and enhancing your stay.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Park Hotel on Vembanad Lake for 7 nights during the last week of March. We have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by a member of management and made to feel extremely welcome. Our room (we received a complimentary upgrade) was exceptional - colourful decor, immaculately clean, contemporary furnishings, comfortable bedding, and quality toiletries. The view, which was directly over the lake, was also one to behold, particularly first thing in the morning.

The staff were superb. Always able to give good advice on what to do and where to go, they were very knowledgeable and went to great pains to ensure that all of our needs and requirements were completely accomodated. Transfers to and from the airport were promptly arranged, as were excursions to the beach and the backwaters (both excellent experiences and well worth doing). Mr. Karthik in this respect was particularly helpful.

Our room was cleaned twice a day, which we thought was a nice touch. The gym was small, with a limited amount of new-ish equipment (1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, dumbell set up to 20kg), and just about met my needs for the week (although a recumbent or upright bike and a multigym would be a personal requirement for a longer stay). The infinity pool was clean and had a jacuzzi, which meant lazing around by the lake's edge was a pleasure.

For me personally, the best part about staying at the hotel was undoubtedly the food which was served to us by the chef in charge, Mr. Sinu. I have no doubt that Mr. Sinu's creations would be worthy of any restaurant in London. My advice would be to dispense with the 'standard' hotel menu and leave the choice of dishes (be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner) entirely to Mr. Sinu's discretion. Our requests to eat "whatever chef is cooking today" never failed us, as we were served fresh lake fish, prawns and clams accompanied by a lovely array of vegetarian side dishes and breads. Always a nice touch was Mr. Sinu personally coming out to see us to talk in detail about the dishes he had served. The photos attached give an idea of the variety and quality which was served, but I doubt they will actually do the whole experience of eating what Mr. Sinu was able to cook for us any justice. Truly outstanding.

The hotel itself is unusual in that it doesn't actually feel like a 'resort'. In reality, we felt as if we were living amongst the villagers themselves. If you looked out of our window to the rear, you would see the locals going about their daily business in their own homes - cooking, cleaning, working, relaxing - and so the experience felt slightly more 'authentic' than staying in a 'resort'. Some might find this too much of a dose of reality, but for us it was exactly what we were looking for. We also enjoyed walking around the village and taking in 'normal' life going on around us.

All in all, a wonderful 7 days in a beautifully lush and green part of the world. I can see now why the Keralans refer to their state as "God's Own Country". We will be back, and would be glad to stay again at the Park Hotel, given the tremendous care and consideration it obviously affords its guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ash_tank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a perfect stay at the hotel. Your review is a source of inspiration for our team, which constantly strives to attain excellence in guest satisfaction. We value your motivating comments about our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Hotel across the country.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I stayed for 4D3N with my wife and 8yrs old daughter. They just have 10 rooms-nicely furnished. We can see the beautiful sun rise, as this resort is facing lake in the east. Can wake up hearing to singing birds. We can order choice of break fast and lunch. One day we asked for Kerala traditional lunch, they served 16 items in a banana leaf. Chef is an expert, you can ask anything, he will make it for you. Room service is very good. I used to have my morning coffee looking at the lake, in the balcony of the room. Walk on the grass in the morning. Watch birds flying around. Can see fishermen going early on their boats, on sun rise background. Got good snaps of them. Got an LCD TV in the room with 100over channels. Have choice of DVD's to watch. Can make the room fully dark and sleep till the evening after a heavy lunch at their restaurant. Evening, in the garden they play gazals, and set up buffet dinner. A swimming pool, small Gym to work out.
On the top of all, the ambience is so nice, we didnt feel like coming back. very quite and peaceful. If you really wanna relax, It's the best choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishorekvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The team at The Park Hotels constantly strives to offer its guests a perfect stay and a review like yours motivates us to deliver higher service standards at all times.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park hotels across the country in the near future.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

we did not know what to expect when arriving at this hotel. we found the rooms exellent. clean and well decorated. the staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. on arrival we were greeted and taken to our room. within a few hours the chef had come tio greet us and find out what type oif food we would like. the meakls were created fdor our taste and appitite. This is not a place to go to if you want late nights and discos, which was a relief to us. Relaxatiion was the hotel's speciality. the hotel was just a 10 minute walk away from the local village whichg was wonderful. the walk to the viullage was interesting, watching the local fishermen and chatting to the children. we were treated like royaltt throughour our stay. would definately recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Nestled in the backwaters of Kerala, The Park on Vembanad Lake endeavors to offer all its guests a memorable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Park on Vembanad Lake for another memorable stay.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a 3 week jaunt around kerala, and this was definitely our favourite hotel.

First, it's small with just a handful of rooms. This means the hotel feels very calm, the staff are able to cater to your every need and give you a high level of personal attention (eg they helped us plan our days, organize onward hotels, spent time explaining local customs etc), and you feel like you've totally escaped.

Second, the chef - Sinu - is truly excellent, and was perhaps the nicest and most helpful person we met on our whole trip. We ate some of our best food here, he catered to our specific tastes and needs (we're both vegetarians and my wife is gluten-free), gave us a one-on-one demonstration of local keralan cooking in the kitchen and was an all-round aid on everything indian (advising good hotels for the rest of our travels, explaining local festivals etc that we might want to check out...)

Thirdly, the hotel is immaculately clean, comfortable and well kept. Our room was large and very well designed with its own balcony facing the lake, the infinity pool facing the lake is beyond idyllic, and we appreciated having a gym.

Was a perfect little place and I'd recommend to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Park on Vembanad Lake, I would like to personally thank you for such a detailed feedback about our hotel and its services. A feedback like yours is heartening for the team that works so very hard to make our guests smile.

Regards,
Mr. Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews