We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest in India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest in India”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Mandala is a great place, nice, clean, comfi rooms with excellent staff. They book great canoe trips to the backwaters. Which a really recommend insted of the houseboat. You get so much closer to the backwaters by canoe.

The thing that made my stay at mandalas one of the best i had in india during almost 3 months was sujith and the rest of the staff. They had amazing hammocks, really nice location next to the sea, nice simple rooms but sujith made my trip to alleppey alot better. He was so helpful and kind in every way. Really sweet guy.

Im glad i went to mandalas and meet Sujith. I traveled with my girlfriend to alleppey 25 dec 2011 and i wanna come back.

Room Tip: Sujith is the guy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rasmusjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    44
    17
    11
    28
See reviews for
19
97
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

What a lovely place to sleep. It's a small guesthouse with basic but big rooms. The beds are amazing because the matras is really good and soft and it's clean. In the room you have a shower and a bath. It's a nice place to stay in Alleppey because it's close to the centre, it's next to the beach and you can book a boot trip there.

The people who work there are nice, friendly and funny and helpfull. They are willing to pick u up or bring u somewhere.

There is no restaurant in the Mandala but if you ask, you can eat what the lady in the kitchen is
cooking for the staff or you can order something and the staff will pick it up for you.

For me it was a really nice staying and i enjoyed Mandala a lot!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stansky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleroi, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My 2 friends and I spent only one night at this charming place, after a day in a house boat (Backwaters), but I could have stayed there much longer, for sure!
The rooms are very nice, with bathroom, and one of them even has a view to the sea!
You can have your breakfast or a sweet fruit juice facing the sea or relaxing in a hammock, feeling the cool breeze and the friendly atmosphere.
The place is small, right on the beach (really nice, warm sea), with lovely hammocks in the shade and amazingly nice and relaxed people, who will take care of you with a smile, will give you good advice, and enjoy their time there just as much as you, bringing friends over and organizing barbecues in the evening...
I just loved my time there and I strongly recommend it to all backpackers! Thank you Jay and Sujit, and a special thank you to Shibu, a friend of the house...

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the sea view... ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

hi hi .. many people think that Alleppey for it´s backwater but how many of us know athat alleppey has an amazing white sand beach??? we were amazed to see the white sand ´´clean´´ beach while we stayed at Mandala beach house in Alleppey.Nice ocean view Rooms,very attendive staff ,nice patron who provides all the needs then what else do we need? experience and feel the hospitality in Mandala beach house Alleppey....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamizuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Well our timing was terrible... turning up at Alleppy station at the height of the season without any bookins at all. None of the accommodation option in the Lonely Planet had any vancies, so we took a chance with a charming tout named Surjit who took us to Mandala, a few minutes from the station. It was perfect... right on the beach and totally charming staff. And very helpful with the planning for the rest of our trip to the Kerala Backwaters. Surjit arranged the impossible ... a houseboat rental on New Years Eve... it all turned out much better than we could have imagined. Highly recommended. Surjit et al. were delightful, generous and honest hosts.

Room Tip: ask for the beach-front room... the bedroom AND bathroom have spectacular views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RdeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
34.1 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
10.2 km away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.2 km away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 67 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
0.1 km away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#29 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 km away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 194 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Beach House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Property: Mandala Beach House & Cottages
Address: North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,666 - ₹ 15,704
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandala is a small guest house located on a quite part of Alleppey Beach. It has two basic rooms, one bamboo cottage and another cottage with a great view to the beach. We just started our annex property near Mandala and it got upstair rooms with sea view. All rooms are bath attached and three of them with bath tubs. We organize some trips to the sea with fishermen, to the back waters and we also do BBQ on the beach. You can have a comfortable and relaxed stay over here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Mandala Beach House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Beach House & Cottages Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing