We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
286
69
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
69
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smaller boat upper deck the river one night house boat highly recommend this company changing scenery night cruise sun deck crew members man crew relaxing cruise air con recommend this trip wonderful experience prawns overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2019

We were surprised at how spacious the barge was - yes the cabins were "petite" but more than adequate with en-suite, air-con and windows! the staff were excellent and food was superb. Inclusion of a leisurely trip on a small boat through the little waterways was a treat - lots of birdlife, and seeing how families live alongside the water.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi

Thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time for sharing your detailed feedback.
We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us.Keeping the true tradition of the Xandari Riverscapes, we continue to strive towards the highest levels of services'.

Canoe ride through small canals is one of the highlight of the trip & witness the life across backwaters.

The Xandari Riverscapes team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Alleppey.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019 via mobile

Totally recommend this one, there were two of us, having a captain, chef & cabin boy catering for our every need. We were greeted with a coconut to drink & then just relaxed in the beautiful backwaters.. the food was beautiful & the cabin so comfortable with a better bathroom than some hotels we have visited.. we were taken on an excursion on a smaller boat & stopped off on the way to get us some beers. The guys & the boat were both outstanding & cannot fault them.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BlueFrog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi

We are grateful for the feedback and recommending our company on your stay with us.

Staff on board are experienced and trained to ensure guest has a memorable stay with us.

Canoe ride is one of the highlights of the trip to get a glimpse of village life.

We look forward to your visit in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

I can not recommend Xandari enough. From the happy, helpful and experienced staff to the luxurious accommodation to the experience itself. The food prepared by the cook ( note lots of vegetarian dishes, but we also had fish caught from the river, and a duck and a chicken dish) was tasty and plenty of it. Always fruit at the meal times and at breakfast. NOTE: if you want any alcohol you need to get some from liquor store before getting on the boat (one near the dock) as the boat is dry. Not a problem for us. We took a two night trip,which we had been recommended to do (1 night does not go far enough and it’s too quick). The experience and the scenery were magical. If you do one thing in your life, this is worth doing.
As mentioned in previous review sad to see some, not a lot of rubbish I.e plastic and bottles in the rivers. Please people do not do this to your planet. This off course is not the fault of the tour company

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pearlie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi

Thank you for your valuable feedback and extremely happy to know that you had a great time staying with us.
All our staff are trained and professional to ensure all guest staying leave with an experience to remember.

Due to statutory reasons, we are not allowed to keep Alcohol on board.

Looking forward to you future stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

Xandari Riverscapes

This is a must for everyone who visits Kerala. Relaxing while floating down the backwaters is one of the most tranquil experiences we have ever had, Xandari are experts.

We did a 2 night cruise and had a team of 3 looking after us, catering for our every needs. Rajeev, Shree and Shubu were amazing, so friendly and helpful.

The food was amazing and lots of it. From local fish caught that day to fruit and veg there was always and superb spread, and cook perfectly in a spotless kitchen.

The accommodation was lovely and clean and spacious. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The bathroom and shower we perfect. There was a nice deck on the top to watch life go by as well as a lower deck to relax away for the sun.

Xandari were so helpful with the booking and arranged a taxi to collect from Cochin airport, a bit of a trek but made it easy.

If you are looking to create a memory for life and an experience you will nurture forever then do this.

Thanks Xandari, will never forget this experience, there are other companies doing this but not as good, or at the quality of this company.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AvondaleGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi

Thank you for your valuable feedback on the stay with us for 2 nights.

The stay on a houseboat is one of the unique experiences with mesmerizing view of the backwaters, local life and enjoying the traditional cuisine on board.

All our staff are professionally trained to ensure the guest has a wonderful & memorable stay with us. Also ensure highest standards in cleanliness and service.

We feel proud and happy to know that you have rated our company much above other companies.

Looking forward to your future stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019

Xandari Riverscapes was exactly what we were looking for and then some! I went with Xandari based on reviews from booking.com and I am really glad I did. It was a bit pricey I admit, but I felt it was well earned. The staff members were so kind and attentive and I cannot say enough good things about the food! Absolutely delicious (note: if you are a vegetarian, definitely mention beforehand as we did have fish for lunch and dinner; it was amazing) and getting to drink fresh water from a coconut upon arrival was lovely. It was also a nice relief to have Xandari take care of transportation for us upon checking out; they arranged for us to have a driver for the entire day to slowly drive us up the coast to Kochi where we flew out of the airport. Basically, cruising along the backwaters has so far been the highlight of my trip to India. A really great experience.

There was more litter than I would have liked to see on the backwaters, but that is by no fault of the company. Just sad to see humanity treating nature like this across the globe.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ablueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Madam,

Thank you for the feedback and extremely happy to know that you stay with us was as expected. All the staff who are employed and professional and trained to ensure all guest staying with us has a memorable experience. We Xandarian’s are committed to the conservation of the backwaters and we are the only company with own sewage treatment plant to ensure no waste is drained out into the backwaters. Also, we use paper straws and avoid plastic bottles which is replaced with glass bottle filled with purified drinking water.

We hope to have you back with us in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews