We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
264
66
12
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
66
12
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river escapes smaller boat upper deck one night house boat highly recommend this company changing scenery crew members sun deck man crew overnight stay relaxing cruise recommend this trip prawns tender coconut water bedroom boat air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed this experience. We booked a two bedroom houseboat for a one night stay and we all felt very relaxed & comfortable. The houseboat is clean & spacious for a family of four. We all enjoyed relaxing on deck watching the world go by.

The staff are extremely polite & helpful. We were served lunch on arrival which was delicious and an equally delightful evening meal. All made by our onboard chef using local ingredients and traditional fare.

A highlight of mine was going out in the tiny backwaters in a small canoe and seeing village life. That was a great one hour trip.

A couple of things to note, make sure you use everything you can to protect you from the mosquitos in the early evening, I was eaten alive. Also as it’s very humid we had the a/c on all night, therefore the noise from the generator can be heard.

I would definitely recommend this trip though. We all enjoyed it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, General Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We are contented to know that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us. It’s always a delight to have feedback from our guests. Thank you for the review.

We would love to host you again at the Xandari riverscapes in near future.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Really wished we’d stayed on the boat longer than 1 night. This was very professionally run the greeting staff were very friendly & efficient and the 3 guys on our boat were outstanding , not intrusive at all . Compliments to the Chef this was the best food we had in Kerala. The bedroom on the boat is much bigger than we expected & very comfortable, the whole layout of the boat is very well designed. We had one with a top deck I would ask for this when booking. I thought this was great value for money. The trip in the smaller boat down the narrow canals was really interesting it’s was like sailing through peoples gardens you got to see what daily life is like for them. I’d go again if I get the chance.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarahndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, General Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Every element was carefully chosen to highlight the beauty of the House Boat.Most importantly we appreciate your acknowledgement of our team - they make every effort to ensure that guests enjoy their stay at Xandari Riverscapes, we're so happy to hear they succeeded!
We look forward to your next visit!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We spent two days cruising on the single-berth Chaliyar. The longer trip meant that we explored areas beyond the normal circuit, and thus avoided the crush that can occur - we did not see many other boats until our second afternoon. The cabin was great, air conditioning a relief, the views of bird-life fantastic, and our three man crew attentive without being overwhelming. Our chef produced such fantastic veg and non-veg dishes that we had to go ashore for a walk in order to manage dinner! An experience that we highly recommend to anyone who wants to see a different face of India.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GumDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, General Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your review about Xandari Riverscapes. We are so delighted that you had a wonderful time at Xandari riverscapes. We really do appreciate you mentioning all the aspects of your stay you most enjoyed. It is nice to hear the retreat being endorsed for its perfect settings and the warm hospitality of our staff during your stay. We are personally delighted to hear that the team offered an elevated experience throughout your vacation and thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Xandari Riverscapes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night and it was an amazing experience. Really relaxing and very luxurious for a house boat - even had hot showers. The staff were fantastic and offered to cook pretty much whatever we wanted. Food was plentiful, fresh and delicious. Brilliant service and we were checked in and on the house boat in under 10 minutes. A few mosquitoes in the evening but we were prepared for that. Would recommend it without any hesitation.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank JetDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, General Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and we are pleased that you had a good stay overall and you enjoyed our culinary experience and hospitality. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this.However, we apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and we will try our best to rectify the situation.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Spent one night aboard the Pamba one-bed boat with Ajesh, Rahul and Ratheesh looking after us and we had an awesome time. Our kids warmed to them straight away and Ajesh tailored the meals to suit their boring palette. Haha. the views are constantly superb. So much to see even the canoe trip along the smaller waters was a lovely relaxing break from the main thoroughfares which can busy with houseboats. It was perfectly safe with our boys (4 & 2 yo, and I can assure you they are monsters, any opportunity to climb something they take it) but here, they were fine. One of us was out front all of the time of course and they were happy running to our room and back. Had there been an upstairs like some boats we might have struggled. It was hot on board in March. The air con was a saviour when it kicked in at night in the room. One night was enough with two boys. Definitely a must-do when visiting Kerala. Thanks Xandari riverscapes and Thanks Globe Travel Centre.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Xandari, General Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Patrick,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review of your time here, we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed backwater views, culinary experience and our hospitality! We will surely let our staff know that you were pleased with their service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews