We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and AWESOME houseboat”
Review of Palmy Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmy Residency
Ranked #32 of 223 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for one night- our room was clean, comfortable and had a porch and TV. Although we hadn't asked for a room with the latter two, we did end up watching TV and using the porch, so we didn't mind paying the extra Rs200. There was an in-house computer and internet facility which was cheap and fast (Rs 30) and we were welcome to use the roof for hanging up laundry- very appreciated!

The hotel manager was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, 1) warning us about how to be careful in the area food and people-wise, based on past incidents with guests, 2) getting us in touch with an owner of a very high-class houseboat, for a very reasonable price, and 3) allowing us to leave our bags in the hotel during the night that we were on the houseboat and 4) coming to find us at the bus station, when he'd realised I'd forgotten some important documents at reception.

Very homely and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maraliggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

The room was basic but clean and a mozzi net was over the bed. Poor nights sleep due to the heat and slightly uncomfortable bed. Friendly personal service from staff. You get what you pay for and this is a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We called up 1 week before we went to reserve a room and we told the owner we would be arriving at 9am. This was ok. We called up the day before to reconfirm and everything was ok.
When we arrived however there was no room ready for us, they said it would not be ready until 12pm. After an overnight train, 3hours spent on the platform waiting for it to get light and the 2 mile walk through allepey to find the place all we wanted was a lie down and a shower.
We were however offered the use of the staff shower (a grotty affair) and the public area to rest.
Luckily our room was vacated early so wasn't a major issue.
Room was well presented, plenty of space too.
Bathroom was a good size and the nets on the windows were good at keeping the mozzies out.
Easy 10min walk to the main boat jetty, and plenty of touts available for tours (also bookable via the residency)

Room Tip: Think carefully if you want AC, wish we had gone for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had read LP and thought we should check the place. We went to the right locations according to LP 2011 but it said Lotus Palmy resort. I had check the homepage for Palmy Residency just before we left for Alleppey in the morning and they warned for a scam from this hotel and wrote it was a different one. I called to Palmy Residency and a really nice girl informed me it was a different hotel, not their so she would send some one to show us the way. The guy that came was not so hospitable... First of all he whispered like it was a secret where he was from (palmy) and we got sceptical, second he gave a lot higher price for the rooms (then according to the homepage).
We went there any way and checked out the room. The room with a sit out was...not good, you may survive it, the one with out was not. It felt like he just showed me the crazy room to make me take the more expensive one (with sit out). It was a LOT of mosquitoes every were at this place. The room was cold (not in degrees but in interior, the bathroom was ok but nothing to talk about really. I was very surprised people actually choice to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

we were picked up from the landing stage, which was very thoughtful;our room was large, comfortable with a generously-sized bathroom and all spotlessly clean
we also chose a room with an outside area in a developing garden which was good to relax in.
The staff were extremely helpful and the room was one of the cheapest we had in our 6 weeks in india; they also organized a fantastic tour in a canoe for us, ( i think it was through their other hotel) and took us to the departure point by car
i can thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
13.3 km away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
1.3 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
422 reviews
1 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
802 reviews
3 km away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
859 reviews
2 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmy Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmy Residency

Address: Palmy Residency Opposite Matha Jetty, Alappuzha 688003, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 648 - ₹ 1,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Palmy Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmy Residency Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing