We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Green Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abad Turtle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abad Turtle Beach
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Spain, El Centenillo, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Green Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this place was a short trip from our previous destination and sound to be an excellent option to spend beach holiday,cottages we stayed was clean and was serviced daily.food was excellent with a lot of choices from Indian and western ,there were barbeques in the evening again a good option to launch on.the swimming pool was clean and was good.the beach also looks like paradise.we will be back on our next vaccation.

Room Tip: select cottages away from water bodies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhelen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadHotelsAndResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Abad Turtle Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter,

We want to thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at ABAD Turtle Beach. The satisfaction of our valued customers is most important to us.
We eagerly look forward to your return.
Thank you once again and request you to like and support us in Facebook.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager,
ABAD Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    172
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
197
193
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel in the last few months and both stays have been fantastic.

The hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility. It's really well laid out, with a lot of space between the villas which provides a good amount of privacy, and some interesting features such as an organic farm and butterfly garden. The rooms are large and well appointed, each with a good sized verandah and garden with hammock.

The beach is amazing, endless golden sand with hardly a soul in sight. No rushing for sun beds at first light! The palm trees provide a good amount of shade. Lots of space to spread out. In December the sea was calm and perfect to swim in, but when I stayed in April it was very rough and could easily knock you over (we did have the bonus of seeing dolphins swim past most evenings in April though).

The pool area is also very nice, with ample sun beds and parasols.

The food is good quality and, I think, good value with a reasonable amount of choice (Indian, oriental and western options). If there are enough guests they put on an evening buffet which is very good.

The only way this hotel could be improved for me is if they had a little bar / restaurant or even just food & drink service on or near the beach. This would save popping back to the restaurant which is at the centre of the resort and would also provide a bit of variety as well as a lovely place to eat with great views. There is lots of space available for this but, on the other hand the way it is now means that the beach is peaceful and unspoiled (just a few sun beds).

There isn't much nearby and not any local restaurants as far as we could see, so you mainly stay in the hotel unless you want to venture further afield (Alleppey is about 10km), but this is no hardship as the hotel is so lovely - we were happy to spend all our time there relaxing). There is a small shop just outside the gate and you can pick up tuk tuks easily, plus you can also use the hotel's bikes to get around.

We would highly recommend this hotel and we were sorry to leave (both times!)

Room Tip: Villas nearest the beach are great for privacy & access to the sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadHotelsAndResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Abad Turtle Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Your feedback is very important to us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ABAD Turtle Beach; your having a restful and good experience at ABAD Hotels is important to us.
We hope to be able to host you again upon your return.
Thank you once again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager,
ABAD Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The resort is made up of cottages and bungalows inside a park with lots of trees, a butterfly garden, and a bio vegetable garden. The sandy beach was fantastic, especially since there was virtually no one. It is possible to swim but, as everywhere, pollution is never far and I stepped on some oil nodule that left a mark on my foot. If you are lucky you can see dolphins ( just saw a fin from afar the day we arrived). The staff was friendly and helpful. On Chritmas eve, they decorated the dining area with light garlands and gave each of us a Christmas pudding. There were buffets for the three meals but the food was nothing to write home about. However, we did order food à la carte on two occasions and found it tasty.

Room Tip: The whole resort is quiet but if you want to be closer to the beach and have a hammock to relax take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thonburiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadHotelsAndResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Abad Turtle Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule in order to review us. Your comments are incredibly important to us and will help in improving our services in the future.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again. Thank you once again. Have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager,
ABAD Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 27-29 December as a last stop to relax after a two week tour of India.

Unfortunately the food (only option as it's far from any town) gave me severe upset stomach which has persisted in the form of severe cramps, vomiting and diarrhoea for two days after. I have to put it down to poor hygiene and basic lack of care in the kitchen - suspect reheating of food. A friend was similarly struck down having sent back a fish curry twice for it not being hot and my son similarly had to send a steak back. Aside this the resort is of a comfortable standard, just watch for the floating poo in the sea.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Abad is an amazing hotel. The grounds are extensive and include a fantastic clean beach that is fun to swim at, nice infinity pool, a lot of space where there are cows, tons of birds, chickens, roosters, swans -- an amazing amount of wildlife. There is also an organic garden and a butterfly garden which has thousands of butterflys (far exceeded my expectations). You wake up to hundreds of different types of birds chirping away. The grounds themselves are better than most 5 star hotels.

The rooms are in cottages (one or two rooms per cottage) which have 20 foot high ceilings and are well sized. The restaurant has great food and service. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. The massages at the spa are fantastic. Security is friendly and present.

I'm being picky, but there is room for improvement and with the towels, new pads needed near the pool area, room decor could be improved, paths could be better maintained, and more attention to detail by housekeeping (rooms are cleaned well, but towels/cups need to be replaced daily). I think these parts are inline with the 3.5 star hotel (which is what TripAdvisor currently has for this hotel). Seems like the hotel could be a 4 or 5 star hotel with these improvements + staff additional training. I'd also like to not have to bring my own alcohol, but the BYOB policy has its perks (less expensive than purchasing it at the hotel).

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbadHotelsAndResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Abad Turtle Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Aaron D,

We appreciate your providing us with your feedback. Your thoughts are incredibly important to us. And we wanted to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at ABAD Turtle Beach. We hope to be able to see you again soon and request you to support us in facebook too.
Thank you once again. We hope you have a good day.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager,
ABAD Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
24.0 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
17.4 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#6 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
11.1 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
17.2 km away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
0.6 km away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Turtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Turtle Beach

Property: Abad Turtle Beach
Address: Varankavala, Pollathai P.O. Mararikulam | Mararikulam, Alappuzha 688567, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,854 - ₹ 23,145
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abad Turtle Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across an area of 13 acres of land, Turtle Beach Resort is ideally located at Mararikulam, a fishing village about 30 kms from Kochi. The resort overlooks the white sandy Marari Beach and has a rivulet flowing on one side. Stretching across the expansive area are 16 cottages comprising 29 beach cottages and villa. Facilities: The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned with en-suite toilets and individual patios. Room are equipped with TV, telephone, fridge, tea/coffee maker and individual safe deposit locker, Ayurveda centre, doctor on call, currency exchange, credit card accepted, travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Expedia so you can book your Abad Turtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Turtle Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Abad Turtle Beach Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing