We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the perfect one but overall satisfactory”
Review of Picasso Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Picasso Castle
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rooms were not that clean, reason seemed was those might not have been used recently. Though rooms were spacious have balcony with good soothing view. Staff is very friendly including general manager who seemed to be a very generous person.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheKnight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Picasso Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

The restaurant only had roti,plain rice,chicken curry and mixed veg. 4 items only! Service is not good. Room is not what it looks like. It's average,the hotel too. Choose another hotel. Beer bottles and cigarette buds were all over. Please avoid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ratna506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights here. The first night I arrived at 1am, and the secretary was asleep but they put no problem in giving me the room. However, the room is not what it looks like. I thought it was going to be a really nice place, but the bed was uncomfortable and the place was not really clean.
The breakfast had very little variety too.

The only good thing was that the hotel manager was really nice and helped me out with organizing my stay and visit to Alleppey and the backwaters tour.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NoeSil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The pics of hotel are totally fake. We went to stay there and took a room for 2 days. As soon as we entered the room it was stinking and all alcohol bottles and used cigarette pieces found on the floor. They have not changed the bed sheet too .
Lot of mosquitos flying in the room . Most funniest part is General manager of the hotel who is so flexible , and provides the bill without amount written on it.

Never visit this place .. people are being cheated by website photos of the hotel.

Best hotels in alleppy are arcadia regency and raj park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saivivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

After many years of traveling throughout Asia and Australia/NZ, this hotel has to be the worst dump that I have ever stayed in. I stayed in here for 2 nights in January 2013 and would consider it to be an average price for a mid-range hotel in India. However, Alleppey doesn't have much in the line of hotels in the town centre anyway, homestays are probably the best option. Anyway, I booked this about 5 months ago before the more recent bad reviews of this place started appearing. Every one of the recent reviews on Tripadvisor describe experiences similar to my own and are very true in my view. I get the impression that this may have been a decent hotel to stay in a few years back, but now it seems to be a place that is just short of money or under some interim management. The whole operation is very amateur, there are none of the facilities mentioned on their website such as business centre, fitness centre etc. actually there and their restaurant looked closed down - probably by the health inspectors! The majority of the staff seems to consist of a bunch of teenage boys who clearly have no experience of working in a hotel. Aside from the place being terrible, my experience actually makes for hilarious reading when I look back at it. Read on.....

On arrival, I was asked to provide a photocopy of my passport, they didn't have a photocopier or scanner of their own so one of the boys went off with my passport on a moped to get it photocopied elsewhere. When I was asked to pay, I was told that card payment was not possible only cash, which was fine, because they charged me the VAT free price.
Then one of the boys brought my case to the room carrying a glade air freshener spray in the other hand. When he opened the door there was a strong musty smell and he gave a few sprays of the can around the room and left. The room was old, the light fittings were hanging off the ceiling by the wires and and wallpaper was blistered and flaking off the walls. The bathroom was filthy, with a dirty stained and smelly toilet, greasy mirror and shower screen and the bedlinen was old and musty smelling. The big problem with this room was the shower didn't work and toilet wouldn't flush, so I was moved to a new room.

The next room although cleaner and had a balcony was better except for the toilet flushing mechanism was broken, so rather than complain again I just used the large bath wash bucket to flush the toilet. The bathroom had a rather dangerous makeshift light with wires pushed into the mains socket. But later on in the evening the rusty bathroom tap broke away from the mains pipe when I turned it soaking me completely and flooding the bathroom in the process. This was like a comedy sketch. So then while completely soaked, I was moved to another room, the same type of room only cleaner, all bathroom features working ok, except for the usual smelly toilet. But, no major mishaps to report from this room. The bed was uncomfortable, and the pillow had a stale smell off it.

Breakfast in this hotel was brought by one of the boys to your room and was just an omelet and bread with coffee. One day, the only bit of cutlery provided with it was a spoon. it's just not worth the effort asking them to bring the rest! No internet access available in the hotel. After two nights, I was glad to be gone from the place.

Overall recommendation - keep well clear of this dump.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have balconies
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.9 km away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#18 of 68 in Alappuzha
42 reviews
0.9 km away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#51 of 68 in Alappuzha
314 reviews
3.0 km away
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
#47 of 68 in Alappuzha
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
0.1 km away
Royale Park Hotel
Royale Park Hotel
#30 of 68 in Alappuzha
75 reviews
3.0 km away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#48 of 68 in Alappuzha
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picasso Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picasso Castle

Address: Thondankulangara Jn, Alappuzha 688013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 2,274 - ₹ 5,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Picasso Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, the pioneers to create the state-of-the-art in Hospitality Industry in “Gods Own Country”, “Picasso Castle” build up with luxurious touch in the lap of the Punnamada Lake and in the Arabian Sea. Well furnished rooms with imported supplies to flock the global standards and spacious to get significance, while you share your imperial experience with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Picasso Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Castle Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing