We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“India's Equivalent of "Fawlty Towers"”
Review of Picasso Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Picasso Castle
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 29 January 2013

After many years of traveling throughout Asia and Australia/NZ, this hotel has to be the worst dump that I have ever stayed in. I stayed in here for 2 nights in January 2013 and would consider it to be an average price for a mid-range hotel in India. However, Alleppey doesn't have much in the line of hotels in the town centre anyway, homestays are probably the best option. Anyway, I booked this about 5 months ago before the more recent bad reviews of this place started appearing. Every one of the recent reviews on Tripadvisor describe experiences similar to my own and are very true in my view. I get the impression that this may have been a decent hotel to stay in a few years back, but now it seems to be a place that is just short of money or under some interim management. The whole operation is very amateur, there are none of the facilities mentioned on their website such as business centre, fitness centre etc. actually there and their restaurant looked closed down - probably by the health inspectors! The majority of the staff seems to consist of a bunch of teenage boys who clearly have no experience of working in a hotel. Aside from the place being terrible, my experience actually makes for hilarious reading when I look back at it. Read on.....

On arrival, I was asked to provide a photocopy of my passport, they didn't have a photocopier or scanner of their own so one of the boys went off with my passport on a moped to get it photocopied elsewhere. When I was asked to pay, I was told that card payment was not possible only cash, which was fine, because they charged me the VAT free price.
Then one of the boys brought my case to the room carrying a glade air freshener spray in the other hand. When he opened the door there was a strong musty smell and he gave a few sprays of the can around the room and left. The room was old, the light fittings were hanging off the ceiling by the wires and and wallpaper was blistered and flaking off the walls. The bathroom was filthy, with a dirty stained and smelly toilet, greasy mirror and shower screen and the bedlinen was old and musty smelling. The big problem with this room was the shower didn't work and toilet wouldn't flush, so I was moved to a new room.

The next room although cleaner and had a balcony was better except for the toilet flushing mechanism was broken, so rather than complain again I just used the large bath wash bucket to flush the toilet. The bathroom had a rather dangerous makeshift light with wires pushed into the mains socket. But later on in the evening the rusty bathroom tap broke away from the mains pipe when I turned it soaking me completely and flooding the bathroom in the process. This was like a comedy sketch. So then while completely soaked, I was moved to another room, the same type of room only cleaner, all bathroom features working ok, except for the usual smelly toilet. But, no major mishaps to report from this room. The bed was uncomfortable, and the pillow had a stale smell off it.

Breakfast in this hotel was brought by one of the boys to your room and was just an omelet and bread with coffee. One day, the only bit of cutlery provided with it was a spoon. it's just not worth the effort asking them to bring the rest! No internet access available in the hotel. After two nights, I was glad to be gone from the place.

Overall recommendation - keep well clear of this dump.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have balconies
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Picasso Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We were shifted here from Arcadia regency,because they had double booked our room.
It was a fairly average place - there was some stink in the room which we werent able to figure out till the end.
The sheets and accessories were clean.
Please dont take the breakfast package - they dont have a restaurant and they will serve all the breakfast to you at 8.30 in the morning in your room.
The staff was helpful- the reception and parking nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia4toi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Room were dirty, bathroom and room furniture were damaged. Only the manager spoke English and he was not available when we expressed our disagreement.
No breakfast available. Only rrom service with food item bought on the closest shop in the street ...Not possible to pay by credit card and when I asked for the bill receipt it was difficult for them to provide me it. Cockroach and bugs have settled this place.
Only good point mattress were good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomdene78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

i was at picasso on 2nd jan 2013, booked 3 deluxe rooms for my family through makemytrip. nothing is good there. Very first room given to me had no wash-basin and i had to ask them many times to change my room. No mosquito repellent was provided even i asked them many times.No hot water in bathroom. There was no proper food facility as well.They said they will get food from Mahaveer but when we got to know that its closed.Staff doesn't know anything and for every request/complaint they say they will check. Terrible hotel to stay so try to avoid this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeku05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I totally agree with other reviews for this hotel. The ambience of the hotel and room looked average but there is no service at all. The extra bed was not provided even after repeated reminders. Single towel for three people. Toilet has no ventilation. No plug point for even charging your mobile in the room. Virtually no service, all staff are underaged boys with no training, even stinking boys. No restaurant, provide food from outside. In breakfast they only provide idlis which is worth Rs. 15/- outside. Only good thing was the General Manager who suggested places for site seeing but he would also vanish when you have complaints. Not worth staying.

Room Tip: Its better to spend some extra bucks and book a house boat in backwaters.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanuj270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.9 km away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#18 of 68 in Alappuzha
42 reviews
0.9 km away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#51 of 68 in Alappuzha
314 reviews
3.0 km away
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
#47 of 68 in Alappuzha
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
3.0 km away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#48 of 68 in Alappuzha
84 reviews
15.2 km away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picasso Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picasso Castle

Address: Thondankulangara Jn, Alappuzha 688013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 2,258 - ₹ 5,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Picasso Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, the pioneers to create the state-of-the-art in Hospitality Industry in “Gods Own Country”, “Picasso Castle” build up with luxurious touch in the lap of the Punnamada Lake and in the Arabian Sea. Well furnished rooms with imported supplies to flock the global standards and spacious to get significance, while you share your imperial experience with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Picasso Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Castle Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing