We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pamba Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We spent a night at the main villa as our last stop during our Kerala tour. What we have experienced here is very much in line with many positive comments made by other reviewers.
Great location with very good view and peaceful environment (facing the river and next to a paddy field), spacious, clean room, filtered water, delicious home cooked foods and friendly owners with warm hospitality.
Our host Rajeev is very accommodating. He accompanied us to nearby villages, also introduced us to various interesting places such as the Coir Museum which we find it very educational.
We will definitely come back here if given another chance to visit Kerala in future.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chik-Khwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely room in the main house which was light and spacious with a large balcony overlooking the river, we also had an adjacent seating area which also had a balcony at the front of the house and overlooking the river. As others have said the food is excellent, we stayed on a full board basis which included breakfast, lunch, dinner and a lovely afternoon snack and hot drink about 4pm. There is plenty to do but you do have to give it some thought. We caught the ferry into Alappuzha one day, cycled to another village another day and each evening when it was cooler we went walking and met local people and watched the birds. Rajeev also took us to a very interesting Catholic Basilica and whilst there we stopped in the village cafe for a cup of tea, a fascinating experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Pamba Heritage Villa was to Indian home stays what the best boutique hotels offer us in North America and Europe. We felt we have discovered a new category of the best Indian lodging in the future.

Our 110 year old converted granary heritage rooms were 4*. Rajeev's personal hospitality accompanying us on walks though the local village, in arranging a 3 hour boat tour of the smaller canals (which cost $12CA for six people), in facilitating trips to the Coir Museum and the Popy Umbrella Factory Store (which should have a 5* review in every guide book), phoning to make all the arrangements to visit a Temple Festival with elephants, and arranging a visit across the waterway to one of the best Ayurvedic doctors in Kerala was a priceless personal 5* service that no 5* hotel can offer.

And to top it all off our three Kerala meals a day which were cooked by Rajeev's mother's, Leelamma Thomas, were better than we had in any of our 5* hotels in 21 days. (And we're all included in our $100 CA daily room rate).

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Glenn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The food was unbelievable here and there was a lot of it. The hotel is nice and quiet but unless you're willing to hang out in a hammock, there wasn't much to do. We took a boat ride along the backwaters to kill time. The room was too dark for reading, but had some history. The owner was nice but tended to sit with you while you ate, which made me uncomfortable. Did not want to offend since his Mum was the cook, but seemed a tad intrusive for me.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Leoleoleoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePambaHeritage, Owner at The Pamba Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017


Thanks for the review. From the name and profile I could not recognise the guest. But I think he misunderstood our Homestay as a hotel. When we have guests in our Homestay we always think they do visit us to get to know about our culture history etc. And we can make out how much you would like involve in such talks. If I sit with you I do believe you showed me the interest to talk. Well I understand the guest's expectations were different. We do have various activities in our property such as Canoe boat tour, motor boat tour bikes to roam around the village, guided village walk tour etc. May be you were expecting a hotel experience and sorry that we could not met that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This was the perfect place to stay if you want to learn about how the real Kerala ticks. The host, Rajeev, is a wonderful source of local knowledge and could not have been more helpful.The accommodation is authentic and the location, on the banks of the Keralan backwaters ,was absolutely wonderful.Rajeev's mother is a brilliant traditional cook and I can't recommend this delightful stop highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 km away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
154 reviews
9 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
8.5 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
18.8 km away
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Purity at Lake Vembanad
#1 of 189 in Alappuzha
238 reviews
19.4 km away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pamba Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pamba Heritage Villa

Address: Kanjooparambil-Umbukadu, | Nedumudi Jetty, Alappuzha 688503, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 4,922 - ₹ 7,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pamba Heritage -a most perfect blend of old world charm and modern amenities. The antique wooden structures "Ara" and "Nilavara" which were originally used for storing grains have been restored for modern living.This is the home away from home, which is sandwiched between the silver cascading Pamba River on the western side, and emerald carpeted paddy fields on the eastern side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Agoda, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your The Pamba Heritage Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pamba Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing