We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Chakara Restaurant

Chakara Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 109 Restaurants in Alappuzha
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We saw this restaurant in a guide book and wanted to eat somewhere in Alleppey outside our resort. We were not disappointed. We had a prawn dish and a chicken dish and both were really good. We also had beer and a nice half bottle of dry white wine. The service was very good and the waiter was really friendly.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sybstercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Having tried all the other local eateries in the area this was definitely a cut above the rest. Anyone who is expecting something on a par with home should go home as this is India and you shouldn’t be naive enough to expect anything different. Our meals were excellent, the restaurant is clean and light so you can see what you are eating, the waiters were helpful and gave us some samples for free to try, the serve beer and wine without having to serve it in a mug. And of course just because someone doesn’t like a curry does not mean it’s a bad one it’s just not like the one they are use to from the take away!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

It is a little overpriced, but it is definitely a very good restaurant, recommended to anyone who wishes to have a good dinner.
The setting in itself is great (if you don't mind the elevated highway of course...) and the dinning room is up to expectations for a fine dinning restaurant.
The service is very attentive, though it was slow when we went (just one waiter for a full room). Nonetheless, we received our food in decent time.
As for the food itself (fish curry, triple veg curry and coconut rice) it was of great quality, spicy enough and tasty.
All in all a very good experience, even though it comes with a higher price tag than other restaurants.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Olivier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

What a little gem! Looks a tad dodgy (by Western standards) but pretty nice for India, but as per Lonely Planet, pick of the bunch. We went there twice it was so good, with 2 kids aged 7&9 (keen to have a break from spicy food). Chicken soup, pasta with fresh tomatoes and spaghetti bolognaise for the kids. Adults sampled the Chettinad chicken, Kerala prawns and fish curries. Marvellous the lot. Cold 650ml bottles of KF to wash it down with at reasonable prices (high end if on a budget-but worth a splurge if you want good food).

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank jasonn823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Tasty food although we expected more considering the price and time it took to get food prepared. Getting the waiters attention proved to be challenging.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chakara Restaurant also viewed

Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 

Been to Chakara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing