We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chakara Restaurant

Chakara Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 80 Restaurants in Alappuzha
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

In raheem residency hotel, we ate here a lot. Lunches were good, if a little samey but dinners were excellent. Service at lunchtime could also be poor but we never had any problems in the evenings. We had curries, a lovely seafood platter but the highlight was the soups, which were always excellent.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“what's all the (LP) fuss about?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I went to the restaurant based on a Lonely Planet review, which said that it is the best place in town. The food I had was OK and there was nothing to complain about, but it was far from thrilling. I dined on the lawn in front of the hotel/restaurant. I should note that some of the Trip Advisor reviews mentioned rooftop dining. Nobody mentioned this possibility and it was not obvious that it was an option when I was there. I should point out that the LP review was from their 2009 South India guide.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thedudeinvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rooftop dining with a view of the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

One day of sightseeing in and around Alleppey, ending with dinner at Chakara, and was it the RIGHT decision ever...
The restaurant is open air with a thatched roof atop the Raheem Residency hotel in Alleppey Beach, right by the beach.As recommended by our driver, got there before sunset, so as to take a stroll down Alleppey Beach and see all the fishermen activities. Did not get the corner table with a view of the beach that we had hoped for, but nice cozy table for 2.

Very romantic place with very subdued lighting and amazingly quiet despite its small size and we did have quite a crowd, including a table of 8 having a party of sorts.

Service is very good with attentive and polite waiters, though the dinner does take some time to arrive. Not the place to be if you're rushed. Enuff time for a Kingfisher (goes so well with the spicy Indian dishes. rather than wine, which are far too pricey as well).

They do have a complete dinner menu, but we chose instead to order a la carte. Kingfish curry, cooked just right in a light sauce, and a Kerala-style prawn curry cooked in a spicy sauce and green mangoes, toned down for us but absolutely finger-licking Yumm... Yes, more Kingfisher, please, to put out the mild fire, even though the dishes were "medium-hot".

Being a smoker, I asked and was pleasantly surprised to find the adjoining large open terrace under moonlit skies to "destroy my lungs" while sipping my Kingfisher and waiting for dinner to arrive. Soon I was joined by almost half the occupants who probably were not aware of this "facility".

Indeed, the place is pricey by Alleppey standards, but what a wonderful way to end the day and our stay in Alleppey before the Backwater cruise the next day. Had "saved" from the previous night's meal at Mushroom (also a nice experience), so it averaged out rather nicely.

It is another MUST DO in Kerala and really deserves a higher TripAdvisor rating. I only gave it a 4 only because it is pricey (especially the Kingfisher brews)...

Strongly recommend Early reservations for that "Corner Table"...

And here is a link to "What to do in Alleppey for one day" with the ending clip at Chakara
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZeLfK6G1tk

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinooram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, but a little overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

The food and fresh juices were really good quality, they also made the vegetables less oily on request. The service was terrible though, there were only two other guests, and they took 15 minutes to even bring the water and take our orde. The prices were also a little high for what you get, we paid 1500 for three small main courses and three non-alcoholic drinks. Ambience is very nice though, airy and cool outdoors seating with glimpses of the beach (not a breathtaking sea view though). They also let you use the hotel swimming pool for 400 Rs. [Prices in Dec 2011]

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Neena_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
214 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Disappointing restaurant in a beautiful, elegant hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed at the Raheem Hotel where the restaurant is situated. The hotel is delightful, comfortable and elegant. The staff are also very helpful. We were therefore disappointed that the restaurant did not match the standard of the hotel. We ate breakfast, one sandwich lunch and one dinner there. The dishes we chose were all in a similar sauce, perhaps the same base with only slightly different seasoning. We stuck to a fruit platter only at breakfast. The French toast was swimming in oil and the omelette wasn't cooked properly.
Perhaps this was a different temporary chef?

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chakara Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chakara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing