We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
traveller
1 review
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family and friends meet up once a year and this time it was at Lemon tree Muhamma. We arrived a little early than expected but they were very gracious enough to give us an early check-in. The room was very spacious and had a great view of the vembanad lake. Kids had a great time in the pool (i have attached a snap) and all the games they had to offer. The food was great - karimeen pollichathu and prawns were out of the world. The only negative I have to share is - wish they had a bar where I could walk in for a beer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alayil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    329
    90
    46
    39
See reviews for
441
385
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My Husband and I visited kerala for 4 nights in August 2011; 2 nights at Tea County in Munnar (v average), 1 night at Elephant court (Superb stay and food) and one last night at Lemon Tree, Alappuzha (mindblowing stuff). Lemon Tree was mezmerizing. The room was big and v well equipped with DVD player, Electric Kettle and good 32 inch tv , neat and v comfortable mattress on bed; the bathroom was done up beautifully. The room was on the ground floor and opened into the infinity pool. We ordered for lunch (chicken chettinad and some panner dish with rice) and can tell you till date have not had btr chettinad anywhr...Though our original plan was to go for boat ride post our lunch, we didnt want to miss our chance of sitting by the pool and looking at the ocean so we skipped the boat ride. We felt like we were in heaven. it was calm, serence, peaceful, romantic and completely relaxed us. We spent 5-6 hourrs sitting by the pool looking at the mezmerizing ocean. We didnt step out and therefore, we dont know how the city is :D. The DVD collection is good.Breakfast buffet spread was fantastic. The only negative was the reception which had completely disappointed us but the rorom, view, food all made it up for us. We are planin to visit the hotel again v soon.

Room Tip: Try and get supererior lake view room. I think ours was Room no 207 (not sure though). But that is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aanchal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Lemon Tree has got to be the highlight of my trip to Kerala. It is one of the most picturesque resort you will ever stay at.

One thing you must note: When you plan a trip to Kerala, you will probably think of Munnar, Kochi, Alleppey (backwaters), Trivandrum etc. And you are bound to give this place a miss! That's because the Lemon Tree resort is not in any of the 'sightseeing' places.

It's located at a place called Muhamma, which is in the Alleppey district.

However, trust me, you must include if not two, at least one day at Lemon Tree. You will not regret it! It will add magnificently to your Kerala trip. Consider your Lemon Tree days as rest days.

Let's look at the goods and the not-so-goods.

Goods:
- The resort is by the Vembanad Lake and you get an amazing view of the lake.
- I think most of the rooms were lake facing (if not completely, partially lake facing). So, anywhere you stay, you're close to the action!
- Their swimming pool is at the edge of the lake. If you love swimming, woah!!! This is the place.
- The food is excellent. EXCELLENT. I did not find better food anywhere in enire Kerala. I tried Mutton Qurma and Appam there, and I would never forget how tasty it

was.
- The staff was extremely courteous.
- They have put it in writing that customers should not tip the staff because service charges are being added to the bill. I found that to be extremely wonderful. Especially for people like myself who never know what amount is decent for tipping :)
- The resort has arranged for many activities to enable you to pass time, including badminton, pool table, books, cycles, fishing, swimming, DVD movies, shikara rides etc. I found that to be wonderful.
- The resort even had their own houseboat. You could opt for that as well. The boat is in the lake during the day and comes back at sunset.
- Excellent views from the restaurant. Please don't bother to order food in the room.
- Free 30 mins wifi everyday. Thereafter, chargeable.
- Free breakfast buffet has an amazing spread. Just so, so, so many options.
- There is a kids' swimming pool as well.
- You could use their houseboat to take a trip to Alleppey backwaters.
- The rooms were spacious and with all modern amenities.
- The bathrooms and dressing areas were very, very good.

Not-so-goods:
- Food rates for room service are a bit more expensive than the restaurant.
- They don't serve alcohol. Although, I think you can get it from a wine shop nearby. Check with the reception.
- We found the dinner buffet to be a bit expensive. It was around rupees 700/- per person (excluding taxes I think). Mind you - the buffet spread was excellent. There were hell lot of options.

Phew! I just can't stop praising them.

Find the review useful? Say YES!

Room Tip: Any room is good room. Considering the location of the rooms, I don't think paying extra for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kshitij K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, especially the attentive and courteous service, the excellent food and breathtaking view.

May I apologize for parts of your experience at our hotel not meeting your expectations fully.

We have studied the issues mentioned by you and are relooking at our processes so that our guests can have a more comfortable stay with us. Specifically,
• In Room Dining rates versus the coffee shop rates: as a common policy these are usually higher as serving food in the room involves an additional infrastructure and service. We do ensure that our rates are very competitive versus other hotels
• Facility to serve liquor: the hotel currently does not have a liquor license and so we cannot include liquor in our menu. Going forward, we are evaluating how to resolve this issue.
• Buffet pricing: we set our menus in accordance with the demands of our guests and what other resorts like ours would offer. One of Lemon Tree key brand propositions is great value for money and we make every attempt to offer that.

Please give us another opportunity to show you Lemon Tree’s true hospitality. Do email me at ab.abhilash@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely,

Abhilash Ab
Hotel Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma – West of Kumarakom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Are you looking to unwind, relax and rejuvenate? You want to just slow down, clear your head and calm your senses? Then go for it.

Thats what our stay at Lemon tree did for us. It was a great experience. Resort's location is just so perfect. Its beautifully placed swimming pool overlooking the vast Vembanand Lake is such a treat to the eyes. It soothes and calms you totally. Have the sumptuous dinner at the restaurant, take a walk towards the pool, sit back, look at the blue skies and listen to the blue waters... :)

Hospitality is amazing. Staff goes of their way to make guests comfortable and happy. Rooms are super neat and done in traditional Kerala style.

Their restaurant serves some of the best delicacies and whatever they serve, it tastes very authentic. food choices are plenty but don't miss to try the local dishes like appum. You just have to place a request and restaurant is more than happy to serve your special requests.

We also tried their spa services and the traditional hot oil Kerala massage was the right way to refuel and rejuvenate. Great job Swapna :). And they decline to any kind of tips! I just wish they add a steam room soon to their spa.

They also have video library and also suggest stuff to you if needed :) Try riding their complimentary bikes around the neighbourhood. Its beautiful.

Overall I highly recommend this place to stay. No matter you travel solo, in a group, family or are a couple, this is one place you don't want to miss.

Just one advice on boating in general. 2 hours is more than enough to experience backwaters and canals. And try to take it from Allepey town itself. If you took it from hotel itself, it will be a very long and boring.

Room Tip: Take a first floor room located around the pool. View to the endless Lake with the pool is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepTravellingInLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Plus:
Excellent Service
Quiet Location
Superb room
Nice warm pool
Good Value

Minus:
WiFi is not complimentary

This was our first stay at a Lemon Tree (LT) property. We were not sure what to expect in terms of quality of property and service. However the management earns 100 marks in terms of the courteous and friendly service offered by the staff there. I can't say enough about the consistently superb service offered by everyone from the staff at the reception to the waiters at their restaurant.

We had our car and as the address had mentioned Kumarakom, we landed there and then decided to call them for directions. Thats when we were told to take a turn towards Alleppey before reaching Kumarakom, to the area called Muhamma. At around 60kms from Kochi, due to the narrow roads and traffic it took as 90mins or so, plus 30mins for the detour. Its approach road is a blink-n-miss narrow lane, which thankfully had a sign-board, guiding you to get off the main road.

The property is relatively smaller compared to the others - Zuri, Taj, Kumarakom Lake Resort, Coconut Lagoon. Of course these are in a higher category and are premium. However one doesn't feel a general lack of space or facilities. As it was Onam time plus peak Monsoons, there weren't too many tourists anywhere. Which was great while visiting other places in the vicinity. They did mention that they had a games room and offered cycles for the guests, though we could not try anything as we were there only for a single night.

We were told that we had been upgraded to the Lake-view room, from the Superior room. This room was very spacious with a nice four pillar bed. The room's other side opens up to the infinity swimming pool and the Vembanad lake. I guess we were at the quieter part of the lake as we could only see a few houseboats glide away at a distance. So this made the setting more serene.The bathroom and walk-in closet was relatively spacious as well.

Their restaurant, Citrus, was like a small cafe, but the food was good. We tried their Pasta and local delicasies, they were overall decent. These were priced relatively low as well. The swimming pool simply looks great and I believe is a heated pool. Also taking the infinity look by merging with the lake's level, it looked great. My 60 year old dad too took a plunge, after 20 years or so and swam with youthful joy!

Do note that they offer only 30mins of WiFi complimentary in the room and do charge for specific periods like 2hrs, 4hrs, 24hrs (rs 950 incl tax!). Their logic being only a few guests need this facility longer than 30mins and didnt think it was right to spread the cost of internet amongst all for the want of a few. Well what can I say, I don't agree to this logic! Though using their PC at the business center was fully complimentary.

But for the WiFi, they score a perfect 10 and I really appreciate the service offered by Mr.Retheesh, Jaison and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: The Pool/Lake View rooms (106/107) offer easy access to the pool and offer a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
22.9 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
19.2 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
8.3 km away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.3 km away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.6 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Property: Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,186 - ₹ 11,474
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing