We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation place to relax and enjoy nature”
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great vacation place to relax and enjoy nature”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed for only a night but it was the best part of our Kerala trip! The rooms are tastefully done with old world charm. It reminded me of my grandma's place in konaseema, andhra. Lake view room are the best. Telugu movie 'oh my friend' was shot there about a year ago. My son instantly recognized it seeing the ambience and staff. Our boathouse came and picked us up from the resort and dropped us back there. Lot of activities are there for kids - cycles, trampoline, yoga, pool etc. Only thing I missed was authentic Kerala cuisine at their restaurant. Most of the fare was regular north/south indian stuff you get in any restaurant. Overall, it is a best place to chill and enjoy nature's beauty.

Room Tip: Choose the lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VasaviC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Ms. Vasavi,

Namaste!!!

Thank you so much for the kind motivating review and glad to learn that the villas could connect old fond memories of your grandma’s place. As you have mentioned, the resort is accessible by boat and road, now we started picking up the guest direct from allappuzha town in boat so that the guest can avail a pre check in cruise. Also nice to know that your kid enjoyed the activities and it made him engaged in the resort during your stay. Sorry to know that you have missed our authentic kerala cuisine, we have a separate portion in the menu only for the kerala cuisine and most of our guest praises about that portion and the variety.

Once again thank you so much for the inspiring comments and looking forward to have you here again soon.

Warm Regards

Jomon Joseph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    248
    64
    14
    18
See reviews for
266
339
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were at Punnamada Resort for 3 nights and this was the highlight of our first family trip to Kerala. The Duplex Villa is vey tastefully done and the open bathroom layout was a welcome change. The Staff was great with service and helpful. The indoor games provided really kept us and our 9 year old son busy. The food was very nice and spelled authenticity. The whole thing gave us a very comfortable feeling.

Room Tip: The lake view villas though priced higher have the best location but the other villas are just as go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rip1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!

Thank you so much for your review and the great words used about the resort.

We are happy to know that you are enjoyed staying at our duplex villa, activity room and the restaurant. The comments from respectful people like you will delight and motivate the entire team at Punnamada.

It is always our endeavour to provide guests with sweet and memorable experience.

We look forward to your continued visit

Warm Regards,

Jomon Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivakasi, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights - 2 nights @ lake view villa and one night @ house boat. Have to appreciate the staffs for their excellent service & behaviour. Food was excellent.

The Best thing is the house boat. It was better than anything we have imagined. We loved every second of it. Our three crew members were friendly. The chef was an amazing cook. We sailed across the lake and the canoe part of our cruise was amazing. I would recommend to all and will surely visit again!!

Room Tip: All Lake view rooms are good.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank Bala26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Mr. Bala,

Namaste!!!

Thank you so much for your review and your kind, appreciative and motivating words.

we are glad to know our food, houseboat & services measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time with us. These inspiring words from the esteemed and most valued guest like you will makes us more responsible to go extra miles enhance and refine our process to achieve highest level of customer satisfaction.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to serve you here.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at The Punnamada resort for two nights in March. The Keralan villa accommodation was very attractive, comfortable inside and with an outdoor bathroom open to the elements. The room was small but perfectly formed and the beds were extremely comfortable with crisp white linen. The grounds were very attractive and reached right down to the waters edge where the view was quite spectacular. From here you could just sit and watch in the peace and tranquility of your surroundings the boats and rice barges float past. There was always something going on! The staff be they in the restaurant, grounds, the chambermaids, security etc were very happy, friendly and smiley. The only thing that let the place down was the pool and poolside area. We couldn't understand this as all other areas were spotlessly clean and tended to daily. The pool was murky, the poolside was neglected, shabby and dirty. The sun-loungers were pretty disgusting. Towels were provided (they were fresh and clean) so we used these to cover the filth. Not really acceptable!!
Took some lovely walks in surrounding area...through narrow lanes and residential areas. Simple Keralan houses and such happy beautiful people. Little children came out to greet us as we walked by, we were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the local community. The resort feels quite remote but is well placed for Alleppey, just a short rickshaw ride away. From here you can organise backwater trips etc. we just called in at the tourist office there and were helped straight away. Take a trip to Alleppey beach to watch the sunset, just awesome.
Food was good with nice outdoor terrace with lake view. If the mossies (they didn't bother us) prove too much there's a good indoor restaurant too.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden villa. The lake view villas looked much better with own small private gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSEYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajanjoseph, Director of Sales at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Patron,

Good day !

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Punnamada.We have gone through your review and have taken note of positive and adverse comments. We assure you that this will be corrected in a day or two.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@punnmada.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, awesome ambience, great service, outstanding facilities and above all very nice people. They have a human touch to the place and service. This is not just any other luxury place with plastic smile and care. I will recommend this place very highly...a must visit in alleppey.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajanjoseph, Director of Sales at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Patron,

Good day !

Many thanks for your review and the positive comments.
We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@punnamada.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
32.0 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
9.2 km away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
9.0 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
679 reviews
10.3 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
691 reviews
4.1 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Property: Punnamada Resort
Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,485 - ₹ 18,970
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing