We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return to Tanzania gave us more suprises”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manyara Ranch Conservancy
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The opportunity arose for us once more to return to Tanzania. We had heard of this new style camp in it's embrionic stage. So it was fabulous to see it well established. We were fortunate to stay three nights and then another on our return from Ngorongoro Crater.The camp is small and intimate. There are six guest tents that are beautifully spacious,comfortable, well furnished and serviced. Piping hot water comes out of the shower which is so welcome after the dusty journeys, we experienced. The staff are superb and can't do enough to help. The tents are clean have white linen and fresh towels daily.

The Mess Tent was welcoming. In the evening we spoke to other visitors exchanging experiences of the day and enjoyed an appetising meal.Conversations would often continue around the camp fire afterwards. At breakfast we ate outside the tent watching lovebirds,sparrows and squirrels at the bird-table, whilst the Go-away-bird would be above them in the tree squawking just that!
Our walking safari was extremely informative.The guide was very knowledgeable and we felt quite safe with a Massaii askari who walked with us.
One evening we had our dinner outside our own tent when we spent our time trying to guess the night noises by candlelight.
Game drives were just that much more exciting because we were able to go off road following wildlife, rather than watch them from the road in a National Park. On our last night lion tracks were right outside our tent. Gave us that scary but exciting feeling.Lions, elephant, zebra were often close to camp but were happy to accept us as respecting visitors. A late afternoon gamedrive would end with a Sundowner in a beautiful place with a sundowner before we returned to camp.
A great experience, yet relaxing and luxurious. A return is definately in our diary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

The luxury tent accommodations are almost too good to be true. They offer everything a nice hotel room has with the addition of being right out under the stars. The ranch is staffed very well and the safari guides were extremely friendly and enhanced the experience. The food was as good as any five star restaurant I've been to. They have all of the details down. For instance, when we were out on safari one afternoon, we were sitting in a hut at the watering hole watching the animals and they brought out fresh tortilla chips and guacamole. They also had any beer or wine we wanted to have. The guides got to know all of us, making the experience very comfortable. The experiences I had at the ranch were some of the best moments of my life. I have been on other safaris but the opportunity to experience wildlife in such an intimate environment is unparalleled. On most safaris you are one of several vehicles chasing after different groups of animals. At the ranch, you are alone with several animals at once and can relax and enjoy your time.
I cannot recommend Manyara Ranch enough. Tanzania is a spectacular place and Manyara makes it an irreplaceable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Spent two nights here at end of October, next time we come we aim to spend at least three days. Ruan and Svenja manage the place extremely well and there's a nice pleasant atmosphere. Because you're not in a National Park driving and walking safaris are not restricted, the early morning walking safari was a real highlight for us, getting close to elephants and spotting lion and snake tracks. There's a lot of wildlife about including kudus and a resident lion pride, giraffe, buffalo etc and also a lot of birds, even around the camp. Ruan is incredibly knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna and added greatly to all the safaris we went on. We finished one late afternoon safari with sundowners at a bar Julius and co had set up in the bush. Meals were excellent and it was nice that the managers ate with us as they were very good company. The tents are all quite separate, are very luxurious inside with hot showers and flushing toilets. They have verandahs with seating and we enjoyed morning coffee there as we watched wildebeest and zebra pass close by. The staff and service were excellent throughout our stay. We didn't try the horse-riding but other guests who'd gone out with Svenja and a guide told us it was well worth it. My partner is Tanzanian and she absolutely loved it here, she said it was much more like the camping she'd done in the bush when she was younger, although also much more luxurious. I'd recommend visiting their website so you can read up about the conservation that goes on here. Hopefully there's a great future for places like this in Tanzania, it's certainly top of my list of places to return to - I need to see those wild dogs.

Room Tip: All tents are quite separate from each other, with a good distance between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mastodon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on my latest trip, great little private camp which offers alot - game drives, walking and even the chance to ride a horse among the wildlife.

The tents were nicely done, service good, food nice but portions small - I would like a wildebeest leg next time please, was paying enough for the whole animal I'm sure!

Also was a great base to use to visit Tarnagire and Manyara National Parks and then have somewhere small, private and out of the way to return to after a hard days game viewing.

Happy travels
Peter

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent one night at the conservancy. Too little for certain. Plan for more, and enjoy the small camp environment with lovely hosts, a South African and his beloved from Germany. Excellent staff and service. Wonderful environment. Sit on your porch and watch the zebras, giraffe, gnus, and elephants walk by. Loved it.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms....but all seem excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
23.3 km away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
286 reviews
43.3 km away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
101 reviews
60.9 km away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27 km away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
421 reviews
37.3 km away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
634 reviews
61.5 km away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyara Ranch Conservancy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Ranch Conservancy

Address: Manyara Ranch | Between Tarangire and Manyara National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: ₹ 27,220 - ₹ 44,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manyara Ranch Conservancy 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and exclusivity make this comfortable classic east african style tented camp an ideal safari destination. Offering professionally guided walks, night game drives, safaris to Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Manyara and visits to the local Maasai community, Manyara Ranch Conservancy offers a glimpse at conservation programs in action. Every visit generates contributions for the conservation of this critically important wildlife migration corridor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing