We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
89
6
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
6
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight gamewalking safarigame drivesdining tentmagical placeevery mealanimal trackslate afternoonmanyarasundownersbushlandtanzaniawildlifetoiletcampnature
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The luxury tent accommodations are almost too good to be true. They offer everything a nice hotel room has with the addition of being right out under the stars. The ranch is staffed very well and the safari guides were extremely friendly and enhanced the experience. The food was as good as any five star restaurant I've been to. They have all of the details down. For instance, when we were out on safari one afternoon, we were sitting in a hut at the watering hole watching the animals and they brought out fresh tortilla chips and guacamole. They also had any beer or wine we wanted to have. The guides got to know all of us, making the experience very comfortable. The experiences I had at the ranch were some of the best moments of my life. I have been on other safaris but the opportunity to experience wildlife in such an intimate environment is unparalleled. On most safaris you are one of several vehicles chasing after different groups of animals. At the ranch, you are alone with several animals at once and can relax and enjoy your time.
I cannot recommend Manyara Ranch enough. Tanzania is a spectacular place and Manyara makes it an irreplaceable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Spent two nights here at end of October, next time we come we aim to spend at least three days. Ruan and Svenja manage the place extremely well and there's a nice pleasant atmosphere. Because you're not in a National Park driving and walking safaris are not restricted, the early morning walking safari was a real highlight for us, getting close to elephants and spotting lion and snake tracks. There's a lot of wildlife about including kudus and a resident lion pride, giraffe, buffalo etc and also a lot of birds, even around the camp. Ruan is incredibly knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna and added greatly to all the safaris we went on. We finished one late afternoon safari with sundowners at a bar Julius and co had set up in the bush. Meals were excellent and it was nice that the managers ate with us as they were very good company. The tents are all quite separate, are very luxurious inside with hot showers and flushing toilets. They have verandahs with seating and we enjoyed morning coffee there as we watched wildebeest and zebra pass close by. The staff and service were excellent throughout our stay. We didn't try the horse-riding but other guests who'd gone out with Svenja and a guide told us it was well worth it. My partner is Tanzanian and she absolutely loved it here, she said it was much more like the camping she'd done in the bush when she was younger, although also much more luxurious. I'd recommend visiting their website so you can read up about the conservation that goes on here. Hopefully there's a great future for places like this in Tanzania, it's certainly top of my list of places to return to - I need to see those wild dogs.

Room Tip: All tents are quite separate from each other, with a good distance between.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mastodon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on my latest trip, great little private camp which offers alot - game drives, walking and even the chance to ride a horse among the wildlife.

The tents were nicely done, service good, food nice but portions small - I would like a wildebeest leg next time please, was paying enough for the whole animal I'm sure!

Also was a great base to use to visit Tarnagire and Manyara National Parks and then have somewhere small, private and out of the way to return to after a hard days game viewing.

Happy travels
Peter

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent one night at the conservancy. Too little for certain. Plan for more, and enjoy the small camp environment with lovely hosts, a South African and his beloved from Germany. Excellent staff and service. Wonderful environment. Sit on your porch and watch the zebras, giraffe, gnus, and elephants walk by. Loved it.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms....but all seem excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent about 2 full days at Manyara Ranch-we arrived from another camp to a wonderful lunch outside under an acacia tree-absolutely great food- you never expect this in the middle of nowhere. That afternoon we went on a walking safari around the conservancy with Rowen and a Maasi warrior as our guides and protection- what a treat to walk rather than be in a land cruiser all day. Rowen explained the plants and their uses by the Maasai. We came up fairly close to elephants before they saw us- slowly left- saw new birds, other animals and the elusive kudu. We drove around the conservancy with our own guide where we were rewarded with the siting of many animals in a very varied landscape. The lodging was simple but very comfortable with beautiful surroundings and our own stone oven in the back to provide heated water in the morning and at night. The next day at night we drove around the ranch to see the nocturnal animals with Rowen and a Maasi tracker- we were rewarded with some nice sitings- hyena with its prey, a genet cat, kangaroo rabbits, an eagle owl and some others.
This place is a treat to add to your safari plans.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews