We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian take out!”

Giacomo's Italian Market
Ranked #37 of 991 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Italian
Description: “Call it fate,” he said. Giacomo Santomauro, the grandson of Italian immigrants, did not initially set out to open an Italian market, but he found himself returning to his roots. Nearly two decades later, Giacomo’s Italian Market continues to please the Greensboro community with great homemade, authentic Italian products. Since day one, our commitment has been to using only the highest quality, freshest ingredients and providing nothing less than superior service to our customers. Authentic, robust Italian flavors from homemade sausages, salamis and cheeses are what Giacomo’s Italian Market is what we're all about. Giacomo's has an extensive line of home-made sauces, sausages, salads and desserts, as well as an assortment of fresh baked breads and rolls. We would love for you to stop by our quaint deli for a fresh, artisan-made lunch! If you require catering for your party or special occasion, Giacomo's can prepare platters that will save you time without ever compromising taste.
Restaurant details
Description: “Call it fate,” he said. Giacomo Santomauro, the grandson of Italian immigrants, did not initially set out to open an Italian market, but he found himself returning to his roots. Nearly two decades later, Giacomo’s Italian Market continues to please the Greensboro community with great homemade, authentic Italian products. Since day one, our commitment has been to using only the highest quality, freshest ingredients and providing nothing less than superior service to our customers. Authentic, robust Italian flavors from homemade sausages, salamis and cheeses are what Giacomo’s Italian Market is what we're all about. Giacomo's has an extensive line of home-made sauces, sausages, salads and desserts, as well as an assortment of fresh baked breads and rolls. We would love for you to stop by our quaint deli for a fresh, artisan-made lunch! If you require catering for your party or special occasion, Giacomo's can prepare platters that will save you time without ever compromising taste.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We got some antipasto items for a light meal. Loved the marinated zucchini and eggplant. Best I ever had! Nice selection of sandwiches and sides. Very busy which says a lot! Service was excellent.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Otdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Giacomo's Italian Market, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks, Otdeb! We're glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018

We were really in the mood for some "hot" Italian sausage. It cooked up perfectly, the casing not tough, texture very good but missed the mark on any heat or other flavors I remember back in the "City"

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Giacomo's Italian Market, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi Mike,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience and that it warranted a three-star review. I've made a note about the heat-level and passed it along to the guys at the shop. We hope you return to try some of our other homemade products. We take all criticism - as well as praise - very seriously, as it helps us only grow better and better.

Thank you,
Alex Hale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Strolled in here one day looking for that local deli feel, and got exactly what I was looking for. The guys behind the counter are always more than helpful, and love making recommendations. I took the second recommendation of the Bruscino sandwich and haven't looked back since.

NOT TO MENTION THEY CARRY ZAPPS CHIPS!!!! If you haven't had these, you need. You didn't realize it, but your life is missing something. Spoiler Alert: It's the Voodoo chips.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MTomlinson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giacomo S, Owner at Giacomo's Italian Market, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

We’re so glad you enjoyed lunch with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Avenue U and the Giuseppe were a hit for the two of us paired with a split of wine (Chianti). Lunch was the best! This deli and lunch spot is a repeat whenever we are in town. Take some pasta, salads or mains home, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Becky1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, other at Giacomo's Italian Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Becky - we're so glad you enjoyed lunch with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Limited seating and dining in house this is mostly carryout. Have all the pasta dishes you'd find in an Italian Restaurant and their own sauces. Sausages and meats made in house and are excellent. Many imported Italian foods.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Wallypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micah S, Marketing Intern at Giacomo's Italian Market, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Wallypm,

We really appreciate your input! Please let us know why you gave us 3 stars for our service so we can make sure your future visits are better! We understand it's a smaller space, but we are in general a pretty small business. Our hope is that we can always provide the best quality Italian food at a fast pace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giacomo's Italian Market also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing