We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An Anniversary to Remember"”
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"An Anniversary to Remember"”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We visited the Buckhorn Inn about twenty years ago when it was under different ownership. It was lovely then, but I'll have to admit, it was exquisite this time around. The owners have kept the charm of the old inn but added many amenities that blend the old with the new. The rooms are so roomy with a cozy fireplace, jacuzzi and small kitchenette. Our small balcony had the most incredible view of Mt. LeConte, with the view changing every few minutes as clouds and mist moved in and out. The scrumptious breakfasts allowed choices that many inns don't offer. The four-course dinners were equally fabulous (we purchased three cookbooks to take to family and friends). The service was impeccable and the owners, John and Lee, were hospitable and knowledgeable about area attractions. Our stay was over a rainy weekend, but the library, the game room and covered porch downstairs gave us plenty of room to stretch and relax. The nature trails and gardens are well-maintained and the two beautiful swans were an intriguing extra to observe as they made ready their spring nest. Without a doubt, we will not wait another 20 years to return. We plan to try a winter weekend and hope to get snowed in. It was truly and anniversary to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a "premium room" in the inn itself - - they have the balconies with the most beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    38
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
368
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This review is long overdue. My wife and I have stayed at the Buckhorn at least four times over the past several years, and it is hands-down one of the best inns we've ever enjoyed.

From the moment we turn up the forested driveway of this Smoky Mountain treasure, a sense of serenity sweeps over us. Then there it is, a white clapboard building with the handmade sign over the porch, The Buckhorn Inn, looking much as it did when it first opened in 1938.

Innkeepers Lee and John Mellor, owners since 1999, extend a high level of hospitality, deftly walking the fine line between welcoming their guests and respecting their privacy. The core of the inn is a large house with a comfortably furnished central living room that includes about a dozen tables strategically situated for dinners and breakfasts. Many of the tables, as well as an expansive back porch, offer a spectacular view of Mount LeConte.

The sit-down breakfasts come with the price of the room, and the kitchen staff does a wonderful job at baking breads and pastries that are delivered warm to your table. Imaginative egg dishes are typical, supplemented by bacon or sausage, choice of juices, and coffee. Dinners cost an extra $35 per person, but are oh so worth it. The dinner consists of soup, salad, entree and dessert. A limited selection of wines is offered, or you can BYO with no corkage fee, which always delights us.

The rooms vary. All are comfortably furnished. Upstairs rooms in the inn are $115 and $130, depending on size, and fancier "premier rooms" -- with views, balconies, and jacuzzi tubs, are $175 to $195. There are also seven cottages priced at $175 each. We have stayed in all of the above, and each has its own charms.

The public areas are excellent as well, including a sprawling TV room that includes a common computer, fridge stocked with Cokes, seating for at least a dozen people, and a porch with chairs and an impressive view of the mountains. On a daily basis, brownies or cookies are freshly baked and set out for guest in the late afternoon.

One thing missing from the fridge -- and it's intentional -- is bottled water. The property taps its own wells for its water supply, and the quality and taste of the water is extraordinary.

The Buckhorn is about 10 minutes drive from the main drag of crowded, bustling Gatlinburg and only a mile from the northern entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, a lesser used entrance that may make you wonder if it really is the nation's most visited national park. It's also situated along the Arts & Crafts Trail, a collection of shops and retailers that showcase everything from handmade soaps to ceramics. Plus, the Buckhorn has its own walking trail, including -- at certain times of the year -- nesting swans.

Bottom line: It doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: To avoid stairs, choose a premier room -- our favorites and No. 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pfbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

On the recommendation of friends my husband and I visited the Buckhorn Inn five years ago to celebrate our anniversary. We were hooked! Everything at the Inn is rooted in hospitality: a warming fire, hearty breakfast, comfortable rooms, spectacular views, walks on the property, swans(!), fabulous food, a labyrinth, refreshments throughout the day, space to roam, thoughtful landscaping... when we want a getaway, this is where we go. Lee and John have created a place where the experience of their guests is of utmost importance. That dedication shows in every way. It's a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank altarego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We don't get to visit that often since we're 7 hours away and have busy work schedules. But after traveling around the world with work The Buckhorn Inn is the most relaxing place on earth. The meals, especially the coffee, are awesome; or maybe everything tastes better in the mountains. But if anyone ever told us to "get lost!" we'd go to the Buckhorn Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLADD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort mill, sc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and i both recently spent a weekend here. We stayed at the lovely cottage 6. The inn was lovely. Our cottage was very clean and had a great and undisturbed view of the mountains and grounds of the Inn.

We had dinner one night which was a four course dinner for $35. The affair was very formal and would suggest dressing nicely for this.

Breakfast is included and was very delicious. I like that there are separate and private seating arrangements for couples.

All in all it was a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaprav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
9.0 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
7.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
9.4 km away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
10.5 km away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
11.0 km away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Property: Buckhorn Inn
Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,689 - ₹ 13,565
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, peace, and solitude emanate from the pine and hemlock forest surrounding Buckhorn Inn, while the ever-changing view of the Great Smoky Mountains across mountain meadows of wild flowers never fails to inspire the visitor. We offer a range of Gatlinburg accommodations, from full, private guesthouses to private cottages to traditional inn rooms. Pick the Smoky Mountain lodging that fits your style and length of stay and plan your Tennesee vacation today! East Tennesee's classic country inn, The Buckhorn offers the grandest Smoky Mountain views of any Gatlinburg bed and breakfast. Elegance and period charm mix with the inn's friendly, romantic atmosphere of a Smoky Mountain lodge. Buckhorn has been a favorite destination for visitors to Gatlinburg, Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains since 1938. Situated less than a mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Buckhorn Inn is convenient to all activities and attractions in the area including hiking, arts and crafts, musical theaters, and the Pigeon Forge Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing