We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, and a great deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bales Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bales Motel
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location, and a great deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

While this is definitely an older motel, it is clean and comfortable. It is located on a back street in Gatlinburg, which to me, is a great plus. Gatlinburg itself is an insane place with all its crazy dinner shows and tchotchke shops. And in summer, the main drag is bumper to bumper with traffic. This little motel is owned by the grandson of one of the original settlers of this area. See the Bales farm on the Smoky Mountain NP Roaring Fork motor trail. Wifi was fine, more stations than I expected on the TV, and there was a frig and microwave in the room. I'll stay here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank novastorm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    23
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
32
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed here. It is a very good value, not too expensive when trying to find less expensive lodging. It is conveniently located in Gatlinburg, a short walk to the strip. The motel is older and very basic and could use some updating, but we certainly felt very comfortable and our room was clean. We reserved a basic room with 2 beds and we were pleasantly surprised when we got there our room had a little alcove with a 3rd bed (twin size), so our son got his own semi private room. There was also a refrigerator and microwave and a table and chairs for dining on. There is also an outdoor pool and small playground, but we did not have time to use theses this time. The staff was very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David and Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We always stay at the Bales when we go to the Smokies. It has a wonderful location. We just leave our car and walk to everything. Bill and Nichole are wonderful hosts. Though this motel is not new and fancy, it is clean and comfortable. The prices can't be beat either. We get a room with a kithchenette and it really helps with your budget. The kitchenette rooms have a stove and full size fridge and a the dishes and cookware. If you have kids, I can't express how much of a savings it can be to prepare evven 1 meal at the motel. We always a least ate breakfast there. Bales is the kind of motel that my mom and dad always took me too when I was a kid and it brings back happy memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ferretparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have been coming to Gatlinburg for more than 25 years. My family had never stayed here and didn't even really know it was there until 2009. Holy cow what a great place we were missing! The Bales are some of the greatest folks we have ever known in TN. Bill is always smiling and goes above and beyond to take care of you. He even walked my wife and kids back to our room when I had to take care of our car down the street. While the rooms are older and they are not lavish, Bill and Nicole make this place better than any resort. The rooms are clean and large and are a blessing after a day of walking. Not to mention the building is right smack dab in the middle of Gatlinburg, but secluded enough that you can sleep in peace and quiet. If you are looking for a top place to stay where you know you will be appreciated, there is no other place for you than with the Bales.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the back near the vending machines. And bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank richardcarterjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

All things considered, this is one of the best value places I have stayed in, anywhere in the world. You cannot get better than this, at this price. The people who run the place go out of their way to be warm and painstakingly accommodating. The gentleman at the reception took pains to allot us a room that was the best available at that time (even changing the allotment when he remembered some small defect in the room he had originally allotted). They also allowed us to keep our car at their parking for a considerable length of time, even after our checkout. This latter was indeed a great help, since the main streets of Gatlinburg are extremely crowded, with very little space to park.
Other than this, the rooms are really clean and spacious, and the location is such that almost all Gatlinburg attractions can be covered on foot. All basic facilities - like TV, microwave, mini-bar, etc ... - are all in place, and work perfectly.
Overall a wonderful, no-frills experience. This was just the sort of place we were looking for during our short stay, and something that is evidently very hard to find in Gatlinburg!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jit-Roy-Chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#51 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 km away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.3 km away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 km away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#42 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 km away
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bales Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bales Motel

Property: Bales Motel
Address: 221 Bishop Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3532
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,926 - ₹ 3,853
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a family-run motel in the heart of the Smokies and that means we're clean, we're quiet, we're cozy, and we're cheap. And that's all we think you need on your next vacation. Give us a try. *Closed from November to March every year.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bales Town And Country Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing