We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My mother, son, and I stayed here and loved every minute of it. There is a pavilion down the back hill, which borders the Great Smoky Park. The pavilion sits near a gorgeous creek. Perfect for wading and splashing. There are fire pits outside the pavilion, and tables and fireplaces inside. There is a hammock next to the creek, if you must nap in nature with the sound of water lulling you to sleep. Bliss. Wildlife and nature.... Fabulous customer service. From the Pavillion, you can ring the front desk and someone actually comes in a jeep to transport you back to the lodge. We loved it. Friendly staff, gorgeous views from balcony, huge room, gigantic shower and tub, delicious supper. We did not eat breakfast at the inn.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisalaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
278
630
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I've always want to stay at a hotel or resort in the mountains near a river or creek and found everything I'd been looking for at the Lodge at Buckberry Creek. The resort is situated up the mountain with several different "lodge" buildings of different sizes. I stayed in a building with 4 suites. The design of the buildings and the interior suites were meticulously decorated in rustic magnificence. We had a full kitchens, fireplace in the living room, a deck looking out to the mountains, and a jacuzzi style tub in addition to a large walk in shower. There is a gourmet restaurant available for both breakfast and dinner with a choice of eating indoors or out on a wrap around deck with, you guessed it, views of the Great Smoky Mountains.
The piece de resistance is an area known as The Pavilion. It is a bit of heaven on earth. We were taken down by a 4 wheel drive vehicle but it is possible to hike down via a steep trail. Not my choice! The Pavilion is located down by the creek and has chairs by the creek, also under cover with large picnic tables (where, believe it or not there is also a TV that works in the middle of the wilderness), and other chairs scattered on the property. There is also a hammock to take a snooze. The outhouse has stained glass windows. that really blew me away.
Buddy (the co-owner who is on property all the time, I think) and his partner thought of everything and we reaped the benefits.
Needless to say, I can't wait to return with friends or family.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4302. Thus room is higher than most and therefore has a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Thank you for a beautiful stay. Service was so awesome. Cabins are beautiful!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkreb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Overall, I don't think our experience for three days was worth the $652 that we paid, and we will not return.

We stayed in a gallery suite on the top floor of Building 4. Below are the pros and cons about our stay.

Pros:
1. The best part was the great view that we had from our top-floor balcony. It was great.
2. Bed was large and comfortable.
3. Room was clean and housekeeping did a good job refreshing it.
4. Shower was large. Jet tub in bathroom was great.
5. King size bed was comfortable.
6. Kitchenette was adequately equipped.
7. A/C worked well.
8. Bathrobes were comfortable.

Cons:

1. The restaurant staff was very aloof. They made us feel like we were inconveniencing them when we went for the free continental breakfast and also for the "Sundowners." For Sundowners, the Buckberry Inn gives its guests one ticket for each night's stay for which the guests can get one free beer or glass of wine at the inn's restaurant. The person who served us our free drinks made us feel like we were bothering him. He, himself, didn't seem to be fully aware of how the "Sundowners" ticket worked and kept telling us that we needed two tickets.

2. The continental breakfast was such a disappointment. My advice to the kitchen manager is if you cannot offer a decent continental breakfast, you should just discontinue it because you are disappointing and frustrating your guests. The selection for the breakfast is terrible -- mostly carbs with the exception of yogurt. That guests can't serve themselves everything that is included in the continental breakfast (which isn't much, anyway) is ridiculous and is a waste of guests' valuable time. We skipped the continental breakfast on the last day of our visit - - it wasn't worth the lousy selection and aggravation.

Other cons:

1. Room needed a fresh coat of paint - - there were a lot of marks on the walls.
2. The furniture looks worn.
3. Towels in bathroom are thin.
4. The picture on the mantel above the fireplace was missing, so the room looked rather drab.
5. Chair on balcony are uncomfortable - - very hard and do not recline.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the view. We lucked out and got a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peachypie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Buckberry Lodge on Sunday and Monday night. We defiantly enjoyed our stay. The room was fantastic, we loved the fireplace and full kitchen. We stayed in Building 5 on the first floor and we weren't too disappointed in the view, it was still quite beautiful. I feel that perhaps the cost should have been lower for the building farthest away from the main building and a less than perfect view, had that been the case I do not think we would have cared at all. We also experienced quite a bit of noise from the people on the upper level, I absolutely feel that the noise was beyond "average" noise. I kept us up and woke us up very early.

As far as the kitchen we loved everything we had, though we only had breakfast. The staff was very nice, both at the front desk and at the restaurant. I would agree with some other reviews however that they could have had additional staff at the front desk, we waited nearly 15 mins to return our key and check out while the lady was on the phone.

Overall, the stay was very nice, we will defiantly stay again,only if we are guaranteed a top floor room.

Room Tip: Try and avoid building five (less than perfect view and the distance from the main building) also, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gata4554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.9 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.3 km away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.3 km away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
2.4 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,666 - ₹ 26,503
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing