We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking, awesome vacation stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, awesome vacation stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Not sure I understand the few bad reviews on here, it must be a problem from the past, because our stay was exceptional! We stayed in a gorgeous suite in the trout building, what an amazing view! The food in the restaurant was outstanding. We also enjoyed and Easter buffet that was nothing short of incredible. If you are staying in Gatlinburg, stay away from the strip during the busy time and head up the mountain for a short ride to Buckberry. The rooms, view, well worth the money! My only advice is that if you new to driving in the mountains like us Floridians, make your first trip up the mountain in daylight to get yourself acclimated to the drive, it's a fun ride up!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Michael S,
On behalf of the staff at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, thank you for sharing with the TripAdvisor community about your exceptional stay with us. We are pleased you were impressed with your suite, the views, and your dining experience at our restaurant. We think its wonderful you were able to take part in our annual Easter Brunch and look forward to welcoming you back for another Buckberry Lodge event in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
278
630
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were pleased with the service, the continental breakfast, the views and such. We were disappointed with the size of the "suite" and the amount of noise we could hear from other guest rooms. For the price you should not be hearing people above you walking around let alone cough! And the doors being opened to the doors around us were terribly loud to us. The quality of construction materials on the surface appear very nice but, being a carpenter, I can tell that the attention to noise reduction is not there. I would not stay there again because of these issues and I'd say the room was worth about $140 tops, not $180.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariatafoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I loved this lodge! Normally we book a cabin when we go to Gatlinburg, but we decided to try a hotel this time. I did not regret it one bit! The lodge was beautiful, the rooms were nice and spacious. I would recommend requesting a room on a higher floor though so that you can have the incredible views that those rooms will provide. We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast, but it was great! The food was delicious and the views from the porch where we sat were a wonderful start to our morning. The staff was great and helpful. The hotel felt secluded, but it was still not far at all from everything else. The lodge was also was less than a 10 minute drive from downtown gatlinburg and the entrance to the national park. I loved this lodge and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evan103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear evan103,
Thank you for sharing about your great weekend at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek! Our lodge is definitely secluded, one would never know all the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg is just a short ride down the mountain. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The room was nice and clean, albeit a little small for a suite. The hike to the pavilion is worth it, but it would have been nice to have some refreshments there. The pavilion is very nice, hopefully more utilized at other times of the season.
The staff is very friendly. The only real negative has been referred to in another review as "bait and switch" continental breakfast. This is exactly the way we felt. My family just wanted to grab a quick danish and coffee or juice. Instead, you must sit at a table and be served from a very small selection by a server. The whole idea of the continental breakfast is simple and quick, self-service. My family had no desire to dine-in for breakfast, therefore we just skip this experience and stopped in town.

This was annoying, but this is a very nice place and will be even nicer with the plans for expansion they have in the future.

Room Tip: bring your own supplies for breakfast, unless you want a more formal breakfast. at least once, hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Cal T,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek. We are so happy you got a chance to hike down to our Creekside Pavilion – next time let us pack you a boxed lunch with a cold drink to enjoy. We appreciate your concerns regarding the continental breakfast as this helps to ensure we are providing consistent top-notch service to every guest. Keep us in mind for your next trip to The Great Smoky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

rooms where very nice but many short cuts and very short staffed. It appeared to be only 2 desk clerks with one working in the morning and one in the evening. They seemed over whelmed from phone calls each time we seen them. The breakfast was NO continental breakfast, it was a "bait and switch". The "continental" is only a few cold items but for $12 a person you can order off a menu. Was expecting a true 5 star but its a place that needs more employes and to not cut corners to save money while charging a 5 star price. For less money we could have rented a beautiful cabin with 3 bed rooms two baths, full kitchen and TV's in every room while getting an amazing view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Rent a cabin and get much much more for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jsmith955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear jsmith955,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room during your visit. Although we love being busy with reservation calls at the front desk, it is not our intent to appear too busy for our guests. Recently we have added to our front desk staff to help as we come into a busier season. Please accept our apologies regarding the continental breakfast; however we do offer a plated continental which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, scone & pastry. Cereal, granola, milk, coffee, and tea are conveniently set up for self service. All hot breakfast is available a la cart and varies in price. We hope to welcome you back again in the future when you travel back to Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.8 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.3 km away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,756 - ₹ 26,728
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing