We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Condo with a Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurel Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Point Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Condo with a Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our family planned our Spring Break vacation to Gatlinburg. After searching through hundreds of choices I discovered Laurel Point Resort. What a discovery! The location of the resort was perfect! Just a short drive up the mountain from downtown Gatlinburg with a view that was amazing! We could watch the Tram going by as it headed to Ober Gatlinburg with the mountains in the background. The Condo was larger than we expected. We were very comfortable and enjoyed having a kitchen. We were able to google the nearest grocery store and get the food we needed. We took a picnic with us every day into the National Park. We also took the short drive up the mountain from the Condo to Ober and went on the Alpine Slide! The Resort also had a nice indoor pool, hot tub and sauna which was nice considering it was chilly when we first arrived. We also enjoyed the fitness center! And after going to the Ruby Mine in North Carolina, it was nice to be able to use the laundry facilities since we got dirty from head to toe! And enjoy the jacuzzi tub!! We will stay here again!! Two Thumbs Up!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dewey419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    32
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
58
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
550 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We have been staying at Laurel Point Resort every January for many years. It is always very, very clean. We stay in a 2 bedroom condo, nicely furnished. The unit is laid out very nice and is quite large. You have a patio door off the living room and the spare bedroom giving awesome views of the Smoky Mountains, only if you are in Bldgs A and C. Bldg B has views of a mountain of which there are a lot of houses/buildings on it. It is a convenient location not too far up the mountain. The road is very curvy and can be very busy, especially on the weekends in January. It is an older resort, but well maintained. It has a nice, big indoor pool and hottub, along with a sauna room. The water temp could be a little warmer in both the pool and the hottub. It also has a small exercise and game room. Each unit has its own large hottub, too, and a woodburning fireplace. The showers are very, very small in the unit, and beware of the hot water. One can easily get scalded from it, so be careful when showering. You can exchange your towels and linens on Sundays-Thursdays. They, also, have a pay laundry facility. We have been coming to this resort for many, many years, but did have a couple situations that were not acceptable to us on this last trip. We always stay in the "A" Building, 3rd floor. I have always called ahead to request that building and floor. When we arrived, they put us in Bldg B, 3rd floor. We were not happy about that at all, but what can you do about it. We started to unpack our car, and the front office person finally came out, and said that they could put us in Bldg A, but on the 2nd floor, and it is a unit that they keep open for maintenance emergencies. We said that would be fine. We checked in on a Saturday, and the people above us were running around late into the night. We assumed they had little children, and just thought "kids are kids", but it was nonstop running. We put up with it, and made no complaints about it. Sunday night, we were eating dinner, and all of a sudden, we had an onslaught of water coming through the ceiling of the main bathroom. It was pouring through all the light fixtures, vents, etc. It was so bad, that it spilled over into the 2nd bathroom. We called maintenance, and they showed up about 1.5 hours later. They thought the people above us probably had overflowed the hottub. He said that he would bring us clean towels the next morning at 8:00, as we used every towel we had to clean up the mess. And, he said he would talk to the people above us. As he was getting ready to leave, we heard a huge boom from above, and he asked what that was. We told him that is what we had been listening to ever since we checked in. Not sure what the people above were doing, but it sounded like they were ripping the place apart. Anyhow, when maintenance went to talk to them, no one answered the door. Maintenance also told us that he would like to get into the unit to fix the water damage if we would have no problem being moved to another unit. We said that would be fine. On Monday, we all were up by 8:00 waiting on fresh towels. At 9:00, we still did not have towels, so we proceeded to gather up all the dirty, wet ones, and went to their service area to pick up new ones. We figured that someone would be contacting us from the office about moving us. At 10:00, my husband went to talk to them about it. They acted like they did not know anything about it, but said they would get us moved to a different unit. We sat around all day waiting for them to tell us where we would be moving. My husband repeatedly kept checking up with them, and they would not really tell us much of anything. 2:00 that day, we finally were able to move. Our day was wasted waiting on them. Not sure if there is a lack of communication between maintenance, the front office, and the cleaning teams, but we were NOT satisfied with how any of this was handled. It just did not seem very customer oriented at all. We felt like we were a bother to them. We would not have moved if maintenance had not said they wanted to get into the unit and get it repaired. We love coming to this resort, but after this past experience, we are not so sure anymore. We will definitely have to give it a lot of thought. This is the first time that we had such a bad experience with them. So do not know if they are under new management or what other underlying personnel issues they are experiencing. We got no acceptable compensation for all the troubles we experienced with them.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location is away from the busyness of town, so if you're looking for that, I would especially recommend this location. If you want to be able to walk to locations in Gatlinburg, this place wouldn't be for you. The unit was well-appointed with many modern features (flat screen TV, etc.). Again, you will find more modern features and newer locations, but in Gatlinburg...I really don't think this is important. The only real "negatives" were that the second bedroom has two twin beds, and the bathroom that connects to it (and the living room area) has a very small shower (though it has an unusually large hot tub). Additionally, the staff is very nice but neither the people nor the amenities warrant an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here the week of Oct. 10th, 2010. The rooms are very nice, the staff is especially accomodating, the view is good, the kitchen is well equipped. "New" in Gatlinburg qualifies as anything built since the Knoxville World's Fair in 1982. I don't know for sure, but I'd bet Laurel Point was built in the mid to late 80's. Gold faucets and room trim and wiring for cable give it away. However, the only negatives I can really give about this resort are 1) the showers and 2) the drive. 1) these showers must have been left over from a failed space-saving experiment! I couldn't turn around in the shower without knocking off the shampoo, soap or something with my elbow! Tiny AND poorly lit! Don't expect to spend a lot of time taking a leisurely shower. 2) The drive down to town is a brake burner, no doubt about it. I put my truck in low gear on the automatic and still had to pump the brakes a couple of times down the hill.....it's incredibly steep. My son honeymooned here in January--I can only imagine what the roads would be like in snow or ice! It's narrow, hairpin curves and steep, but worth it in the end! Hot tub in the room was enormous and there was more than ample hot water for it, washing dishes, etc. Nice place and we would stay there again! No problems!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLYBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and I enjoyed the resort. The resort had very informative social on Monday and great giveaways. We had to drive everywhere but that turned out to be a good thing. We visited more places and saw more of the surrounding area than we would have if we had been in town and just walking around.
The only draw back was for my parents who do not handle stairs. The towel exchange and washing machine areas were down quite a few stairs.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spankyb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
1.8 km away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
2.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
18.6 km away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Laurel Inn Condominiums
Laurel Inn Condominiums
#25 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
9.9 km away
Mountain Meadows By Exploria Resorts
1.5 km away
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
#23 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Resort

Property: Laurel Point Resort
Address: 805 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3904
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,518 - ₹ 16,428
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laurel Point Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Laurel Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Point Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing