We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area
Ranked #39 of 119 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From downtown Gatlinburg, hop on to the 120 passenger aerial tramway for a ride to this ski area with a 600-foot vertical drop, nine beautiful trails and an amusement park complete with indoor ice skating, wildlife encounter, Alpine Slide, water rides and more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I guess they are maybe still rebuilding some things after 2016 fire, so keep that in mind. My 17 year old son and I rode the tram thing up and did the alpine slide. It was a little pricey for just doing the alpine slide because you first pay for the tram to get up to the Ober area and then you pay for each attraction. To save money, I guess we could have driven up to Ober and skipped the tram. When you buy the alpine slide ticket, it includes a little chairlift ride up to top of the slide. The slide itself was a bit tame for me and my 17 year old son, and there was a really scared woman about 4 people in front of my son who went down really slowly and kind of ruined the rides of the people behind them. Weirdly I say it is a little tame and doesn't feel that fast, but it still does feel like you could maybe slide off the track on turns if you went full speed the whole way down. We also did a mountain coaster, although not the Ober one, and we found that to be a LOT more fun then the alpine slide. I am thinking maybe the slide might be fun for nine to twelve year olds or so, but since we had already done the much faster coaster, it paled by comparison. I do think the rating would be higher for a younger family who wanted to check out the animal encounter and some of the other things at the top of the tram, or for those who had never even been on a tram like this before.

Thank davenlu20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback and for your visit. We are actually in the process of switching from winter to summer activities since we just closed the last of our snow attractions last week. We are constantly changing and adding things each season as the weather permits.

The Aerial Tramway is $13.00 roundtrip for adults and is a separate ride/attraction. You are more than welcome to drive up the mountain if you would prefer not to ride the tram. The Alpine Slide is $7.00 per person and is very different from our Ski Mountain Coaster, where the cars are attached to rails and include G-force turns. The Alpine Slide relies on gravity and is more like a bobsled- the carts are not attached to the slide at all. You can control your speed on both rides and for those who prefer to go fast, it can be frustrating to be behind people who prefer to go at a more relaxed pace. We're so sorry you didn't find it enjoyable. We hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice skating"
in 790 reviews
"alpine slide"
in 753 reviews
"snow tubing"
in 422 reviews
"tram ride"
in 460 reviews
"aerial tramway"
in 174 reviews
"ski resort"
in 119 reviews
"ski lift"
in 390 reviews
"tram operator"
in 80 reviews
"chair lift"
in 328 reviews
"water slides"
in 120 reviews
"the coaster"
in 145 reviews
"nice ride"
in 147 reviews
"black beans"
in 105 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 102 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 152 reviews
"the smoky mountains"
in 72 reviews
"skiing"
in 426 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 6,812 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we planned to go to Gatlinburg for our Spring break vacation 3/10-3/17 we were all very excited. The kids wanted to go to Ripley's Aquarium (which was ok but very pricey) and all I really wanted to do was go down the Alpine slide. We called before we left to go there to see if a 19 month old can ride it with an adult. We arrived 20 minutes later - paid $5 to park. When we went in we discovered that the Alpine slide and most of the other advertised attractions were closed due to wind (there was no wind at all at that time) and that even kiddie land would not be open until the next week (NOT advertised as being closed) SO.... not only were we not told this when we called but I feel that they had a responsibility to let people know that most of the attractions that people go up there for were closed BEFORE you make them pay for parking. 2 - 3 hours later it did get a little windy. I feel that they simply didn't want to pay people to work the attractions for a few hours. I also feel it's a very shady way to do business - they just want you to spend money in their gift shops. HUGE disappointment. ASK, ASK, ASK as they won't tell you before you go there and they take your money to park. For shame!!

Thank generalpeg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry weather conditions had some of our activities closed during your visit. The Alpine Slide has to be completely dry in order to be safe so rain and ice can shut it down quickly. Also, because riders take the Scenic Chairlift part way up in order to ride the slide down, the conditions at the very top of that attraction have to be favorable in order for the slide to run as well. We apologize that nobody told you.

The Activities page on our website (www.Obergatlinburg.com) states all seasonal closings and the monitors and signs at the ticket and information booths both downtown and up on the mountain will show you what is currently open and whether or not something is closed temporarily (usually due to weather). You can also call before you come and our staff can tell you what's open at that time. Our business relies on our activities being open in order to make revenue so we are not happy when we are forced to close down rides but safety is a top priority.

Again, we apologize that you were not told some of the activities were closed and will work on getting more up-to-date information out to our parking attendants. We sincerely hope you will give us another try next time you are visiting Gatlinburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first time ice skating and the value for the time spent was excellent. $9 per person for ages 5 and up is nice because it includes the skate rental. You need 30 minutes as a first timer just to get used to the ice. Spent 1.75 hours total before getting tired with a 5 and 10 year old, and that was plenty!
Also road the amazing mountain coaster. Yes, it is $15 per person but I assure you it’s longer and bigger than any other mountain coaster in the area. It’s a little disappointing that there isn’t a second ride discount, however. They were in transition between finishing winter skiing and putting up spring and summer time attractions- as well as the scenic chair lift was down. There was also no alpine slide access either. So calling ahead to ensure that you know the attractions you seek are available will reduce any disappointment. We drove and paid $5 to park as opposed to using the tramway this visit. This is easily our tenth visit in as many years with the first time being spring break.

Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed the ice skating and Ski Mountain Coaster! There is an option to buy three rides and save some money but not currently for two. We're so sorry you didn't get to ride the Scenic Chairlift or the Alpine Slide. Many of our rides are dependent on weather and calling ahead can save some frustration. We hope you'll come back again and that the weather will cooperate. We appreciate your business and hope you had a nice spring trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are a family with young children. We had a double side by side stroller couldn't get threw the line. So after we paid the money and waiting in line we turned around and got a refund. Very crowed when on the ride so we decided to not go. Some of the staff were very rude about the stroller.

Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Due to safety regulations, all strollers must be folded in the Aerial Tramway lines/terminals and also while onboard. However, we do apologize for any rude employee's behavior- that is unacceptable. We tried to do the right thing by issuing you a refund and hope that you will consider coming back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The sky lift was a last minute adventure just as the sun was going down. We already knew that the other sky lifts around town were smaller and around $33 to ride. When we called and found out that this lift was only $13 per person and they were still open, we jumped on it. When we got to the top of the mountain everything was closed so this review is not on the resort but only the sky lift. Going down the mountain and going over the second transition tower my knees got a little weak because I don't like heights. On the way down it was night time and the lit up view of gatlinburg was amazing from that high up. So, even for someone that's scarred of heights it was still do-able and enjoyable.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing