We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great trip

This was our first experience! Every staff member was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
ccs54359
,
Rock Hill, South Carolina
via mobile
Average trip to get the snow fix

Was lucky enough to not get there when crowded - there was limited snow so very very wet and warm... read more

Reviewed yesterday
michaelasJ4116OB
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Read all 7,432 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Gatlinburg
from US$ 60.00
More Info
from US$ 24.57
More Info
from US$ 181.00
More Info
from US$ 60.00
More Info
Reviews (7,432)
Filter reviews
7,432 results
Traveller rating
2,978
2,100
1,359
524
471
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,978
2,100
1,359
524
471
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice skating alpine slide snow tubing tram ride aerial tramway ski resort ski lift tram operator chair lift water slides the coaster nice ride black beans afraid of heights a lot of fun the smoky mountains skiing
Filter
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 7,432 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

When we planned to go to Gatlinburg for our Spring break vacation 3/10-3/17 we were all very excited. The kids wanted to go to Ripley's Aquarium (which was ok but very pricey) and all I really wanted to do was go down the Alpine slide. We called before we left to go there to see if a 19 month old can ride it with an adult. We arrived 20 minutes later - paid $5 to park. When we went in we discovered that the Alpine slide and most of the other advertised attractions were closed due to wind (there was no wind at all at that time) and that even kiddie land would not be open until the next week (NOT advertised as being closed) SO.... not only were we not told this when we called but I feel that they had a responsibility to let people know that most of the attractions that people go up there for were closed BEFORE you make them pay for parking. 2 - 3 hours later it did get a little windy. I feel that they simply didn't want to pay people to work the attractions for a few hours. I also feel it's a very shady way to do business - they just want you to spend money in their gift shops. HUGE disappointment. ASK, ASK, ASK as they won't tell you before you go there and they take your money to park. For shame!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank generalpeg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We are so sorry weather conditions had some of our activities closed during your visit. The Alpine Slide has to be completely dry in order to be safe so rain and ice can shut it down quickly. Also, because riders take the Scenic Chairlift part way up in order to ride the slide down, the conditions at the very top of that attraction have to be favorable in order for the slide to run as well. We apologize that nobody told you.

The Activities page on our website (www.Obergatlinburg.com) states all seasonal closings and the monitors and signs at the ticket and information booths both downtown and up on the mountain will show you what is currently open and whether or not something is closed temporarily (usually due to weather). You can also call before you come and our staff can tell you what's open at that time. Our business relies on our activities being open in order to make revenue so we are not happy when we are forced to close down rides but safety is a top priority.

Again, we apologize that you were not told some of the activities were closed and will work on getting more up-to-date information out to our parking attendants. We sincerely hope you will give us another try next time you are visiting Gatlinburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first time ice skating and the value for the time spent was excellent. $9 per person for ages 5 and up is nice because it includes the skate rental. You need 30 minutes as a first timer just to get used to the ice. Spent 1.75 hours total before getting tired with a 5 and 10 year old, and that was plenty!
Also road the amazing mountain coaster. Yes, it is $15 per person but I assure you it’s longer and bigger than any other mountain coaster in the area. It’s a little disappointing that there isn’t a second ride discount, however. They were in transition between finishing winter skiing and putting up spring and summer time attractions- as well as the scenic chair lift was down. There was also no alpine slide access either. So calling ahead to ensure that you know the attractions you seek are available will reduce any disappointment. We drove and paid $5 to park as opposed to using the tramway this visit. This is easily our tenth visit in as many years with the first time being spring break.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 922jennir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed the ice skating and Ski Mountain Coaster! There is an option to buy three rides and save some money but not currently for two. We're so sorry you didn't get to ride the Scenic Chairlift or the Alpine Slide. Many of our rides are dependent on weather and calling ahead can save some frustration. We hope you'll come back again and that the weather will cooperate. We appreciate your business and hope you had a nice spring trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We are a family with young children. We had a double side by side stroller couldn't get threw the line. So after we paid the money and waiting in line we turned around and got a refund. Very crowed when on the ride so we decided to not go. Some of the staff were very rude about the stroller.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Due to safety regulations, all strollers must be folded in the Aerial Tramway lines/terminals and also while onboard. However, we do apologize for any rude employee's behavior- that is unacceptable. We tried to do the right thing by issuing you a refund and hope that you will consider coming back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The sky lift was a last minute adventure just as the sun was going down. We already knew that the other sky lifts around town were smaller and around $33 to ride. When we called and found out that this lift was only $13 per person and they were still open, we jumped on it. When we got to the top of the mountain everything was closed so this review is not on the resort but only the sky lift. Going down the mountain and going over the second transition tower my knees got a little weak because I don't like heights. On the way down it was night time and the lit up view of gatlinburg was amazing from that high up. So, even for someone that's scarred of heights it was still do-able and enjoyable.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The kids and grand kids had an awesome day. Ride up and down enjoyable and the coaster ride was wonderful!! Great family fun area to visit:)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank cpark1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting and for the nice review! We're glad everyone had fun and hope you'll visit again soon. We try to offer new activities each season in order to keep things fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews