We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are they "world famous" for? Mediocrity?”

Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #58 of 160 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fresh Tex Mex Cantina, "World Famous Margaritas"and the only Roof Top Dining in Gatlinburg with Fire Pit Lounge areas.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

They got off on the wrong foot immediately ... we called from the car to get on a wait list and were told the place was dead and we'd walk right in ... 15 minutes later when we showed up, we were told there was an hour wait; clearly, we'd been misled while in transit because they like to keep a line outside on the busy strip. When we were finally seated, our table was still dirty and there was a pool of water underneath. The atmosphere, even at half-capacity, is loud and chaotic. Chips and salsa tasted like there were days old. Margaritas were practically virgin, they don't use enough tequila. Our fajitas were average at best; chicken was bland and dry, and they don't provide enough condiments to go with (peppers, onions, etc...). Our server forgot about us after bringing us our food, and we sat for another 20 minutes after finishing for our check. We'll never be back.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mountaindrew1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennedy Concepts, General Manager at Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, there. We're very disappointed to hear about your experience. Please take the time to email us at marketing@kennedy-concepts.com with the day and time you were here as well as a name/description of your server and host. These details you provide will help us quickly address these problems and will allow us to resolve these issues immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

Delicious and a super vibe!
The food was delicious and the drinks excellent! The vibe the music we loved this restaurant!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank themummy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennedy Concepts, General Manager at Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2021

Hi, there. We're thrilled to hear about your experience. ! We're so glad you had an awesome time. We take pride in providing a one-of-a-kind atmosphere for our guests to have a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021 via mobile

Stopped in mid-afternoon for a quick bite. Tried the famous fajitas and weren't disappointed. Lots of people drinking and having a good time. Boisterous atmosphere but the food was prompt. Service was ok, but for a table of non-drinkers, you sometimes fall by the wayside.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank BlueRidgeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennedy Concepts, General Manager at Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Hi, there. We're thrilled to hear that you loved our Famous Fajitas. Thank you for the great review. We strive to provide the best food and experience possible! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

I had been to Loco Burro a few years ago on a trip to the Smokies. Was average at best then.

Since we live in a small rural town in Western NC and don't have great Mexican food there and we had not eaten any in quite awhile - I mentioned it to my wife (who had not eaten there before) to give it another try. Maybe over the years they got better!

Not in the least.

When you have lived for many years in Texas - you know good Tex-Mex and not good Tex-Mex. Loco Burro may be right in the middle of those two opposites.

I got the beef enchilada's and rice - no beans. I have never had Mexican Rice like Loco Burro fixes it. Had carrots, corn, and some other veggies in it. Not bad though. Now the beef enchilada's with chili con carne sauce - well average at best. They were also spicy, almost beyond what I like to eat. Maybe it was the chili con carne sauce that was spicy - not sure.

Wife had steak taco's with soft shell and guess they were good - she ate them. Yet, she never really says much about her food - she just eats it. Has to be really bad for her to not do so.

Service was just okay - it was pretty crowded on a Thursday evening (about 5 pm).

Can get quite loud on the main floor, esp when people have imbibed a little too much and they ride the Loco Burro machine.

I am not some food snob , yet when I read the reviews that it was the BEST TEX-MEX or MEXICAN they've had - well, then they must have eaten Mexican like we get in our small town and Loco Burro may be a step up. Also know that food is different on different days due to changes in kitchen staff - so there is that too.

Want decent Mexican - Loco Burro delivers on that. Enchilada's may not be their best item either - so try something else like the Steak Taco's.

I did give value a poor rating - simply because it is Gatlinburg and everyone seems to overcharge for everything here - due to being a tourist town.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennedy Concepts, General Manager at Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Hi, Terry. We appreciate you choosing to dine with us. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't have the best experience possible. We strive to provide the best for our guests. Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

Loco Burro is one of the best places to eat on the Gatlinburg Strip! We came here expecting to just get some good margaritas, and also had some great food and amazing service! We will be coming back on our next trip!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank nemofish1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennedy Concepts, General Manager at Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for the great review. We strive to provide the best food and experience possible! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.