We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooster is Hilarious!”

Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine
Ranked #13 of 89 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You'll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer tastings of our Award winning shine! Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin' and Moonshine Cherries as well as Apple Pie and Blackberry flavors - plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren't available in package stores. And of course, you'll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We came to Gatlinburg for spring break and found ourselves at Ole Smokey. We decided to do a tasting and stumbled upon Rooster’s bar station and woah, are we glad. Not only is he hilarious but his knowledge of the product was so helpful! Give this fella a promotion!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary F, Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at Ole Smoky. We are pleased to hear to that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for stopping by during your visit to Gatlinburg. Make sure you come back and see us again really soon! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 352 reviews
"blue flame"
in 122 reviews
"free samples"
in 376 reviews
"bluegrass music"
in 147 reviews
"t shirts"
in 176 reviews
"apple pie"
in 296 reviews
"taste testing"
in 216 reviews
"moonshine flavors"
in 106 reviews
"fun atmosphere"
in 94 reviews
"different kinds"
in 84 reviews
"take home"
in 141 reviews
"my favorite"
in 161 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 193 reviews
"in town"
in 180 reviews
"pigeon forge"
in 88 reviews
"bartender"
in 790 reviews
"tasting"
in 1,942 reviews
Filter

1,268 - 1,272 of 7,873 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was the first day of vacation after the ice in Cincinnati had found a way to put a truck in my lane. We had Elizabeth helping us out today. Truthfully, I was in pain as Elizabeth kept pushing tastings to the girls I was with. I must say, if it weren't for Elizabeth, I don't know that I would be wishing to go back and take my girls (girlfriend and her mom). She took care of us!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jascraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for stopping by! I am sorry to hear about your car though. Hopefully you can make it back to see us again soon... when you aren't in pain! Be safe traveling home and remember to Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I wish I knew my servers name, sign. Everyone here was awesome and Apple wisky...i got wasted...good times. Parking is 6 bucks and did not accept cash. We love the music.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank sunshine49046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for stopping by our distillery! We hope you can make it back out to Gatlinburg to visit with us again soon and enjoy more live music and moonshine! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stopped by for a tasting, moonshine was awesome. My only issue was our server got us in and out, we tasted 12 different samples in less than 10 minutes, possibly 5 minutes. There was no personality to the tasting, she just wanted to keep people going to get the next group in. Everything tasted great, but other places definitely take the time so you enjoy the experience of the tasting much more. When we left there was a band playing outside and we were able to sit in the rocking chairs and listen, that was really the cherry on top, the atmosphere is perfect.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank tarheels964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for stopping by Moonshine Holler! Glad to hear you enjoyed you visit and were able to kick back and listen for our band a little while. Being the most visited distillery in the world, we do have high crowd volumes at times. We don't want to rush the tastings, but sometimes it is a little necessary so that others do not have to wait in line very long before they are allowed to sample. You best bet is dropping by early on a weekday. We generally have lower crowd volumes and can offer a slower paced tasting. We hope you can make it back to see us again soon! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stopped by for a tasting recently while visiting the area. The atmosphere is perfect for the Great Smoky Mountains. Fits in perfectly. We happened to be there at a time when they had live music and the shine was great as well. Definitely worth checking out for those with interest.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for stopping by Darren! We appreciate you making Ole Smoky a destination on your trip to the Smoky Mountains. Come back and visit with our family again soon! Shine Responsibly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine also viewed

 

Been to Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing