We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to shop in Gatlinburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Shops

The Village Shops
Ranked #8 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to shop in Gatlinburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Higher end stores with great finds! A big step above the tourist trap shops on the main street. Be sure to stop by the Day Hiker, You Name It, and the Donut Friar.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rkslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    155
    40
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Donut Friar & Day Hiker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Loved The Day Hiker! We found two t-shirts that were cheaper there than other places on the strip. Also, we purchased a day hiker park guide and the clerk hand drew us a trail that was not included in the book. He was very knowledgeable and friendly even though the store was crowded.

We also liked the Donut Friar. We were on our way out of town and were trying to decide between the Donut Friar and Dunkin'Donuts. We are SO glad we decided to go local. The coffee was great, my wife enjoyed her iced-mocha and we both enjoyed our freshly made donuts. We even bought two coffee mugs for family members as travel gifts. Worth the stop!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVE The Day Hiker, but stay far away from Hayloft Comfort Footwear!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I went into Hayloft Comfort Footwear because they are an authorized Vibram dealer. The gentleman in the store quickly told me Vibram's are terrible, and that if I worked in their store I'd hate them too. I was specific with the details of what I wanted, but he continued to complain about having to let people try the shoes on. Don't run off a paying customer, and don't bad mouth the product you're trying to sell!! This store brings down The Village!!!

After leaving the first store we went to the Day Hiker. They don't sell Vibrams, but the gentleman there was super knowledgeable and extremely polite. We were very happy with our purchases and the awesome service! Perfect score for the Day Hiker!!

Helpful?
Thank ekbstormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Very nice selection of shops and easy to get around. One off family's favorite places to go.

Helpful?
2 Thank Robb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint shopping experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

A lot of diversity and small businesses that cater to the tourist.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Shops also viewed

 

Been to The Village Shops? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing