We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adventure”

Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community
Ranked #3 of 26 Museums in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A community of artists and artisans selling their wares where you can find everything from basket weaving, to painting and metal smithing.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An adventure”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was one of our favorite "tours." A bus picks you up at each section and takes you on to the next. Be sure to visit the broom shop and if you can strike up a conversation. We had such a great time just trying to figure out what they were saying and they laughed at us! Nicest people. Also, be sure to visit Marie in Jams, Jellies and More. She has become a dear friend. Met her on our first visit (honeymoon) and visit her as often as possible. Great products! Lots of neat things to see.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank UFGator39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    320
    115
    34
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Educational, quality, and most of all, beautiful”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

What a quaint store to visit on the trail! I purchased a German mold Santa ornament. It is absolutely beautiful. The owner Jack showed us some techniques while we were there and was so nice to us. They are very under priced and the quality is exceptional. I only get into the Christmas ornaments/decorations but all of the work produced is great. I cannot say enough nice things about this store. The only con is, watch closely or you will miss it! One a side note, this is a glass store with high quality, local hand made arts and crafts....leave your kids elsewhere.......

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ixolibopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Prairie, WI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Talent and Pride”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

These artists are clearly very proud of their work and rightly so. We took the 8 mile loop and stopped into most of the shops that were open. We did our tour on a late Saturday afternoon in December, so not all of the shops were open. We purchased some very unique and well-made items as Christmas gifts. Not only are the items for purchase beautiful, but the store owners who have made much of their own merchandise were interesting to talk to and knew where everything in their shops came from--who made them, how long they had been making the items, how they make them, etc. Along with our purchases we got some entertaining conversation and local tidbits! Highly recommended if you have time to savor both the merchandise and the conversation.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diner_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Arts and Crafts away from the commercial hustle of Gatlinburg”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We followed the "Arts and Crafts Loop Trail" just outside Gatlinburg. This was a great opportunity to find out more about the community of artists and artisans who make their home in this beautiful area. We visited a working pottery, where we chatted with the potter busily making lovely vases and other items. We stopped at a gift shop/gallery and visited the upstairs loft where two artists (a watercolorist and a basket maker) were working on new creations. They told us all about the historic building they where they were working and demonstrated some of their techniques. One "mall" of artist's galleries and shops included a dulcimer maker's shop, where the proprietor gave my husband a quick music lesson. We had the chance to shop for and buy original art, rather than mass-produced souveniers and T-shirts, while speaking to many of the artists. This was an enjoyable afternoon where we felt we got a little closer to the "real" Great Smokies community.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank GreatOutdoors65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Handmade Jewelry”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We really enjoyed our trip and saw great pieces art and crafts and lots of handmade jewelry my wife loved.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing