We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My family and I just returned from a wonderful 5 day vacation at the Gunflint Lodge. Words can't express how amazing it was! The food was fantastic! The cabin was perfect! And the staff is amazing! We had 3 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs. This cabin was more than spacious! We enjoyed a wood burning fire each and every day/night - in between visits to our outdoor hot tub. The staff was incredible! All 4 children (ages 6-12) enjoyed the activies led by the lodge. My favorite craft was making our own Christmas wreath! The staff was so great with the kids. These organized activities gave us adults a chance to relax while the children were having a blast! What a wonderful memory for all of us! Bruce and Sue sure made us feel like family - even down to the hug goodbye =)
Gunflint Lodge....we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

Called to cancel a reservation ( which i had paid for with a coupon purchase ). I was told that I was to be charged $50 cancelation fee,
I understood and accepted that I would loose the value of the coupon ( nearly $200) I thought that the $50 fee was unnecessary.
I was rudley spoken to and the woman on the phone said she was sick of people who bought coupons cancelling.
She said she could have rented this room out on numerous occasions. I said that this should not be an issue as they have recieved payment for the room. ( via the coupon purchased )
She then stated that the coupon company got 60% of this fee (not my issue who recieved what amount of my payment...) her vocal's escalated upon as she asked the details of why i was cancelling, which is none of gunflints buisness!!!!!
She then said that she would not charge me the $50 cancelation fee and hung up on me.....
I have paid for a room i did not use yet have been left with the feeling that i have done wrong on gunflint lodge.
would never entertain the idea of having any dealings with the people associated with gunflint lodge....

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2011

We are very sorry to have disappointed this gentleman, but there is a bit of a second side to the story. He bought a discounted voucher that allowed for one date selection, but no changes. He called some months ago and asked for special consideration in changing his dates. We accommodated his request. Then he called again and asked to change his dates a second time. We agreed, even though we had now lost reserved cabin nights that we could not refill. With that change we thought we had a mutual agreement that we would charge a $50 administrative fee if he made any further changes. We proceeded on that basis when he called and cancelled for a third time. When he objected he got our reservation person rattled. I am sorry we lost our telephone diplomacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had the most wonderful Wedding Weekend Adventure at the Gunflint Lodge!!! We wanted to get married in the BWCA and the best choice we made was to have the folks at the Gunflint Lodge host our family & friends!

Everything was amazing, beautiful, and above & beyond what we had dreamed and hoped for by having our wedding in the great Northwoods! The people at the Gunflint Lodge made every effort to give us what we wanted and needed to make our wedding a success!

The Gunflint Lodge owners and staff are our family now! We really can't thank them all enough for making our wedding dreams come true!!! We cannot wait to visit them again as soon as we can!

This is a great place for couples, families, and friends alike!!!

Room Tip: The cabins at the Gunflint Lodge are all very spacious - lots of room for family & friends to sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Took our first trip to the Gunflint and it will be our last. We were jerked around a bit on the room- had been told one thing on the phone and then got there to find they put us in a smaller room and wanted to charge us the same price as the more expensive one. Then our 5 year old daughter found a used condom under the bed! We mentioned this to the clerk at the desk who then just gave us a quizzical look. The food was mediocre and service was slow. The area is beautiful, but of course, you can get that anywhere in the Grand Marais vicinity. At these prices, we had expected a more positive and memorable experience. The memory we left with is definitely not to return there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denali29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2011

We are very sorry that we did not meet the expectations of this family. Our original plan to upgrade this reservation at no additional cost backfired when we could not make it happen. It is my understanding that we offered to have housekeeping reclean their cabin after a foreign object was found under a bed. I personally work the floor during meal times to keep an eye on the quality of our food service, but apparently we flubbed this time around. We take all comments seriously and we will see that our staff reviews these comments, so we can prevent this from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from a Wedding at Gunflint Lodge. It was wonderful and first class all the way. The accommodations are really great. They have beautiful cabins in a great location, our cottage was very clean and cozy, everything we needed was right there. The owners and staff are absolutely the best. They worked very hard to make the wedding weekend a great success and every staff member I encountered was friendly and professional. The food was tremendous and everyone had a smile on their face. I have stayed at other resorts on the Gunflint over the years, I am already plotting to get back to Gunflint Lodge this winter, it is truly a First Class operation. Thank you Bruce, Sue and staff for helping to create magic!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnAvidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
48.6 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
48.6 km away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
48.5 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.7 km away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
48.4 km away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
47.5 km away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: ₹ 6,190 - ₹ 35,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury cabins in the Minnesota Northwoods on the historic Gunflint Trail bordering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Lakeside cabins with fireplaces accommodate 2-14 people and many have in-room saunas or spa pools. Activities include canoeing, hiking, fishing guides, guided Naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Winter activities include cross country skiing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, snow shoeing and ice fishing. Lakeside patio dining, full-service bar, and massage therapist are available. Featured in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die-U.S. & Canada." Always Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing