We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
184
38
17
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
38
17
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rafting trip white water rafting bear cabin scenic float red caboose glacier national park off season adults and teenagers wedding weekend lodge building sand volleyball board games flathead river volleyball court middle fork gas fireplace perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Loved this little resort of West Glacier! We arrived in the off season (early October '17) and were unable to make it up the "going to the sun" - road as it was closed for the season. (Snow and Forest Fire damage) - So it was a tough two days ahead without any way to really go up and into Glacier NP. But the folks at Great Northern were so helpful to show us several very cool side trips to take, and gave us a great map with excellent suggestions for driving scenic roads, how to get into the park via eastern entrance and a trail to hike once we got in the park. They took the time to leave us personalized notes the night before (we arrived late due to flight issues) along with the keys to our room and the rooms were fantastic! Rustic modern with spacious bathrooms and brand new beds. LOVED the serenity and quiet. Strongly recommend for those wanting to get out of the hustle and bustle of larger cities and more touristy spots.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatNorthern2010, Director of Operations at Great Northern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share that with our future guests! As a small business, located in a natural setting it can be difficult to guarantee our guests access to the "must-do's" in Glacier National Park at all times. We are so thankful for your understanding of natural causes and your optimistic attitude to explore Glacier an alternative way! We are so glad we were able to help and that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

My husband and I spent a weekend at Great Northern Resort when our friends got married. It was such a lovely spot. The new lodge was so clean and comfortable. The outside spaces offered great lawn game playing, evening fireside hangouts, and general relaxation opportunities. The proximity to the park made it easy to head into Glacier for a hike or a picnic at the lake. The wedding venue was simple, beautiful, and offered amazing views. We will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rivadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatNorthern2010, Director of Operations at Great Northern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you so very much for leaving such a thoughtful review for us, especially as a guest to one of our Wedding Events! We know you have choices when it come to accommodations for these special times and we are so happy we were able to provide and be part of that for you! Our goal is to create a space for families, friends and individuals to relax, connect and enjoy the atmosphere! Thank you for taking the time to stay with us and for sharing with our future guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We loved staying at Great Northern! Its location is spectacular, an easy and quick drive to the entrance to the Park. We stayed in the lodge, which has everything we needed and a great open common space where we could hang out with friends. The rooms are a great size, big enough to fit our travel crib in easily and have a lot of room to move around. The family that runs the resort are so helpful, sweet and hardworking. The food at the caboose was wonderful. We will definitely stay again!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatNorthern2010, Director of Operations at Great Northern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing that review with us! We are so happy to hear that our Lodge was a convenient and nurturing place for you and your family. As a family oriented business we are so pleased to know that your would come back and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

No joke on the title. Fresh roasted beans from a local supplier and a manual lever machine that's dialed in perfectly... I dream about their espresso every day.

I must say I read some of the terrible and poor reviews before staying at GNR and I think most of them are bunk. Who want's a TV while on their Glacier National Park vacation?! And I appreciated that my paper and plastic cups weren't replaced every day... kudos to GNR for being more environmentally friendly in that regard. Complaints about the train are bogus (don't go to Glacier at all then...?) while the complaints about the fire are saddening...Beautiful wilderness and historic structures burned and guests are complaining about not getting a refund for a nights stay.

You'd be doing yourself a disservice by not choosing GNR for your Glacier getaway. Supporting this business means receiving an authentic northern Montana experience and putting dollars into hands of the people that care for the land, local business, and surrounding community.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edirkse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatNorthern2010, Director of Operations at Great Northern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Wow!! Thank you so so much for the time and effort of words in your review. Its obvious that you have read all of our reviews and as a business we are so thankful for your affirmation in what we value and our hope to make this a place that exemplifies all the best about the area in which we get to live. We are constantly learning and taking into consideration each review that is left as we genuinely want to provide an genuinely great experience for each guest that stays with us! We are constantly making adjustments and providing additional services as we value the opinions of our guest so thank you for giving us the chance! We couldn't be more thrilled at your review! Thank you so much!

As far as our espresso goes..you are correct!! I've become quite the addict to it myself along with most of our staff as its a unique and well done style out here in West Glacier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Beautiful location with trails. Very close to Glacier National Park. Fabulous staff. Very warm and welcoming. Great breakfast/lunch/coffee shop restaurant on property. It was a friend's wedding so many stayed at resort . Also wonderful setting in nature for the reception.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruz950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatNorthern2010, Director of Operations at Great Northern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave is such a kind review! We are always so happy to hear that guests had such a great time and experience staying at Great Northern Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews