We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Northern Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at the Great North Resort in West Glacier. We stayed at the chalets in January, but that didn't stop our fun! We had absolutely amazing food provided by Earth Angel Organics, who I hear also provides the food for the raft trips in the summer. We liked having the kitchen in the chalet too so we could warm the food back up for snacks at our leisure.

We also went to the Belton Chalet for drinks one night and had a great time in their Tap Room. The chalet is about a quarter mile east of the chalets.

My husband and I enjoyed getting cozy together in front of the fire watching TV or reading while a blizzard raged outside. But that blizzard didn't stop our fun either. Nic, who owns the resort with his wife Victoria, not only brought over a snow blower to make sure we had a path to our car after the storm subsided, but he also took us snowshoeing in Glacier National Park. We've been to the park in the summer, but it was really cool to see the park from the winter perspective. The views of the mountains covered in snow from our windows was a real treat, too.

I highly recommend the Great Northern Resort!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

We had great weather and spent most of our days outside, but at the end of the day we enjoyed having all the creature comforts...grills on the deck, tv, friendly hosts. Our guide was knowledgable and patient and gave us enough info for us to venture out on our own the next day. Highly recommend this place for both lodging and guide service. They do rafting trips too but we will have to come back for that.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spalabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We went on a vacation with extended family to celebrate my in laws 50th anniversary. We stayed at the Great Northern Resort. It was great. The place was spacious and there was also a place to cook and eat. We rented two of the larger "cabins" definitely nicer than we expected. We also went rafting with the same outfit, the guides were great and the dinner that they cooked us on the beach was wonderful! This definitely was one of the highlights of our trip as also the was the sights of Glacier National Park. What was great was that this place was just 5 minutes from the west side of the park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justhavingfun2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed at the Great Northern Resort Sept. 26-29 and wished we had stayed longer. We stayed in the Wapiti unit; an open bedroom with 2 queens along with a more private seperate bedroom w/ queen, both of which are upstairs with a roomy full bath. Beautiful bedding and so comfy. Perfect for the chilly West Glacier nights. The cabin had everything we needed and then some. We enjoyed the fireplace downstairs AND the fire pit outside. What means the most to us is cleanliness and this place was spotless. We enjoy traveling in the Fall and this was a great find for us, on many levels. West Glacier has a lot to offer in the way of hiking trails, scenery, fishing, kayaking, etc. This was the perfect base camp for us. Travelers included myself, my husband and my Dad. We all adored Great Northern Resort and hope to come back again and again. Thanks to Victoria for a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakesaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Just spent 5 nights at the Great Northern "Moose" chalet. The unit sleeps 8, 6 up and 2 down. The chalet is very roomy, cozy and fully equipped including large outdoor gas grill. The gas fireplace failed but the delightful young owners appeared in minutes and had it back on quickly. The resort is 5 minutes from the West entrance of Glacier Nat'l Park. One caution: if Going To The Sun road is closed in the middle, you'll need to drive 2+ hours to access most of the park's outstanding vistas. The unit was only $150 per night! It was post-high season but the weather was just fantastic, sunny and warm every day. The grounds are immaculate. It's all good!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.2 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
2.1 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
25.9 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#4 of 17 in Whitefish
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#10 of 13 in West Glacier
192 reviews
10.1 km away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
302 reviews
7.4 km away
Reclusive Moose Cabins
Reclusive Moose Cabins
#2 of 9 in Columbia Falls
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 12,625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Northern Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Northern Resort, we offer 5 log cabins in different floorplans and 14 beautiful guest rooms in our brand new lodge, modeled after the Glacier Park Chalets. We aim to provide the perfect base camp for exploring the beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you, or enjoying the shade on the wrap around deck on our lodge! Resort activities include whitewater rafting trips and fishing trips, yoga; as well as inflatable paddle board, inflatable kayaks and bicycle rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Great Northern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing