We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of El Almacen

El Almacen
Ranked #100 of 6,662 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 60
Cuisines: Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Steakhouse with a focus on authentic Argentine cuisine, including empanadas, Homemade sausage, Morcilla & Molleja. All of our meat is grass-fed, certified organic,with no hormones or antibiotics. We also have options of seafood, pastas & vegetarian dishes. We accept reservation on resy.com as well as phone calls or emails to the restaurant.
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I went for dinner with my housband in July. The location is great in the middle of Williamsburgh. The place is nice and charming, romantic illumination. Food was really good, especially the empanadas, which were amazing. Maybe a bit overcharged. I'd recommend it to meat lovers though.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Q857PGsaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Outstanding atmosphere, this place has a real buzz. Hard to get a table so we ate at the bar (probably best to reserve in advance). Great service, tremendous steak perfectly cooked, good wine list Hard to beat

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Tim88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

The food is simple and tasty. The best items on the menu are the steaks and straight forward grilled vegetables. The service is a bit uneven, sometimes it's friendly and helpful, but when things get busy your server will often forget about you.

Finally don't expect to be able to sit down right away on a weekend night. Average wait time seems to be around an hour the few times I've gone.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I've been to El Almacen many times, in small groups and in large groups, and just to sit and have a steak at the bar. The food is outstanding; the service is fabulous; and the setting is bustling and festive with a great crowd. You cannot go wrong here!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SRMbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

This was an excellent find on our first night and within walking distance of our airbnb. The building seems small and unassuming from the outside but once inside it stretches back into a hive of genial activity and welcoming foodie smells.
The restaurant filled up quickly after 8pm - impressive for a Monday evening. It is largely a young clientele and some regulars were evident. It was lovely to watch customers looking relaxed and engaged with the surroundings and especially the food.Service is efficient and suitably genial.
Our food was packed with flavour reflecting the well sourced produce as claimed on the menu. The main courses of stuffed pepper and enchiladas were superb. All good value for money.
Thank you.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Auberiginas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Almacen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to El Almacen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing