We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lynx(Brooklyn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brooklyn(Brooklyn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BKLYN House(Brooklyn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn(Brooklyn)
View Hotel
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
260
39
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
39
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed stuyother guestsb bnew yorkwedding nightmy home away from homeguest roomsliving roomsubway stationmoniquebroommemorabiliapeachjacuzziuticaneighborhoodmanhattan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I frequented the Akwaaba in Brooklyn monthly over a 3 year work assigment in New York city, It became my home away from home. Over the months of 2-3 night stays, I was often the recipient of much caring and hospitality from Monique, Glenn and Erica. Fact is I love the place. So when I heard that the new Bed and Breakfast of Akwaaba will be in Bethany, PA, I was so curious.
We happened to be in PA anyway and decided to take a drive by the Mansion on Noble Lane.We knew this was risky because it opens in late May but we called ahead and Monique said sure, but pardon the dust.
We drove into the wrought iron gates and came upon deer, squirrels and other wild life, (no worries they vanished quickly into the massive acreage), We were in awe driving down the tree lined entry road that leads to the beautiful mansion-Wrap around porches and a sweeping staircase reminded us of bygone days.
Before we could enter the mansion, we came upon a formal tiered garden with a huge gazebo with ancient wystria vines. The formal garden runs the length of the front drive.The grounds are beautiful.

Monique was there corraling the crew of a dozen or so workmen, doing what she does, and Oh guests are going to be delighted. She has such an eye for restoring old things and seamlessly adding new. Nothing old looking about this place it has clean lines and well appointed furnishings.
Monique was very kind to accomodate us and a few other curious locals for a tour. The living rooms and dining room are splendidly decorated and invitingwith their ornamental fireplaces, chandeliers, paneled and alcoved walls and ceilings. There are rounded windows and distinctively patterened doors,--it makes you just stand there and take it all in.
There are 2 kitchens, one for cooking lessons for gueasts and the community, and one to be used by the staff when preparing meals for the guests. A lovely tea room sits to the right of the foyer with the original turkish tile floor with in and outside seating. There are banquet rooms and several comfortable areas to unwind, read a book or mingle with other guests.
There are 16 spacious bedrooms each with it's own new bathroom , bedrooms are on the second and third floors Yes, Monique put in an elevator, so it is accessible to all of us who can not or don't want to take the stairs. Did I mention that the staircase winds up to the second level and then up to the third floor. Breathtaking! There are massage rooms .mani/pedi rooms. Did I mention it is Breathtaking!
There is an indoor olympic size pool, work out room, men and women shower and lockers in a seperate building behind the mansion. There are tennis courts and acres for places to sit, rest, hike, etc.. Guests will be amazed and delighted with the glamour and sophisticated surroundings, the spa services that will be offered and the laid back comfort of being in the Poconos.
We ventured into the town of Bethany and found nice restaurants, specialty shops, museums, etc. The towns people seem to be quite taken with the prospects of the Mansion.
We are looking forward to returning. Aaron & Terri (Atlanta, GA)

Room Tip: All looked wonderful
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We spent a night at Akwaaba around Easter. Arriving a bit later than planned we were nonetheless greeted warmly by owner Monique, who showed us around the B&B and recommended neighbouring restaurants for the evening meal.
After walking around and admiring the glorious old brownstones and daffodils, we somehow ended up spending the entire evening at Essence Bar and Restaurant (not on Monique's recommendation list) a nearby bar located on the corner of Atlantic and Troy. Though the food was okay, what kept us there till late was the music. Every Sunday, we learned, Essence is home to the AllStarz James Brown Tribute Band, a terrific funk and soul group whose many performers kept the crowd moving till late. Charles Bradley, though he didn't show on the day of our visit, is known to drop by for a performance.
Morning brought the smell of coffee, and what turned out to be turkey bacon. The breakfast part of the equation, we were delighted to find out, was just as nice as the bed (not to mention our room's hot tub.)
Over French toast and a delicious pear and vanilla compote, Monique and her partner regaled us of tales of the neighbourhood, Bed-Stuy. Not only did we leave well-rested, well-fed and happy, we also managed to learn something about Brooklyn's oldest continuously inhabited African-American quarters. We will definitely be back. Sleeping in a mansion is definitely something one can get used to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at Akwaaba Mansion for 4 nights at the end of April and had a wonderful time. Our visit to New York was magical and what made it extra special was the Akwaaba experience!

From the time we arrived (when we were greeted by Erica and enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea), to the time we left we could not have been made to feel more welcome. The house has a wonderful feel to it and we were fascinated by its history and that of the area. Our room (Jumping the Broom) was perfect and the large jacuzzi bath was great to relax in after a busy day.

And the breakfasts! What can we say except- fantastic! Glenn was a great host and it was wonderful to meet nd talk to the other guests around the table in the elegant dining room each morning.

The location of Akwaaba Mansion in Bed- Stuy was perfect for us. It was peaceful yet ideally placed for the subway at Utica Avenue, making it easy to get around other areas of Brooklyn and across to Manhattan (and the transport fares seem so cheap compared to what we pay in the UK!). Akwaaba is also close to some excellent restaurants.

We had an amazing holiday and when we're back over in NYC we will make Akwaaba Mansion our first choce.

John and Wendy,

Manchester, UK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

İt was quite romantic and unique. The building is historical and very good located. It's possible to fall asleep with the sounds of birds in the middle of the city. The price is reasonable.The staff is Erica, helpful and friendly. The owner, Monugie is also. We took the jumping the broom room. They asked whether we want candles at nights, care about details. I appriciate that..The music they play in hallway is very soft and good.The room was is not dirty but not clean .They explained that it is hectic day.. I hardly recommend for couples and melancholic visitors.

Room Tip: jumping the broom
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noterozge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable and unique experience in this mansion built in the mid-1800s and in the friendly neighborhood of Bed-Stuy in Brooklyn, the 4th largest city in the US. The breakfast was delicious and presented nicely. The room was clean and beautifully set. The host was helpful, accommodating and friendly. We would definitely attempt to stay there again upon a return visit to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regal Retreat and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews