We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy room, superb bathroom”
Review of Wythe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wythe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trendy room, superb bathroom”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Wow. When first entering the room, you're taken aback with its minimal decor, rough original brick walls, stark concrete floor and quality furnishings. Great bed, tall windows, integrated sound system for your ipod, spectacular and spacious bathroom with a claw-foot tub and huge rain-showerhead walk-in shower. My wife asked if this was the best hotel room we've ever stayed. Almost, but no. It's certainly the coolest but the seating area was limited to two classic wooden bistro chairs and a marble bistro table. Comfort took a back seat to design. The staff was warm, helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Get a Manhattan view and King bed, if available. But the Brooklyn view was okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    166
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
82
194
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Very "hipster" cool hotel with some amazing views of Manhattan and in a very friendly, open and trendy neighbourhood of Williamsburg. Stayed in a room overlooking Brooklyn and the view was still good. Room was decent size but given it had just opened, I hope, they were missing safes and mini-bars. Great bar to mingle at from Wednesdays through to Saturdays. Overall a very good stay and away from the bustle of Manhattan but you can get there in a 10 min metro ride.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BBCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We decided to have a staycation and check out this hotel which was only a month old. I booked a corner loft room online a week before check in but received a call a few days before we were to arrive that the room was not ready (they were still perfecting the rooms and waiting on furniture). Although this was a slight hiccup, I did appreciate the staff's professionalism in how they handled the situation--they were very apologetic and put me in the next best room available--an 8th floor king with great views and gave me a late check out. The staff was also very courteous upon arrival--quick check-in and a free drop off of Reynard's home made ice cream (note: the mini fridge is not yet stocked hence the complimentary ice cream).
As for the room, it's very no-frills in the best way possible...very comfortable bed, simple furniture with clean lines, concrete floors and nicely tiled bathroom with one way glass so you can shower while still looking out to the room and the city views. The in-room sound system that hooks up to your ipod/iphone was also a nice touch. My only small complaint would be that you could still hear a lot of hallway noise (our neighbors were a bit loud when their door was open) and construction was still going on in the loft rooms so there would be a lot of worker noise during the day--but again, didn't really bother us too much. Overall, a very good, relaxing stay and for the price, definitely worth it. Once they get all the minor kinks worked out, i would definitely go back or recommend to others. Plus, the restaurant was very yummy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockScissorsPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just kidding but wow what a great hotel. Stumbled on it as I was planning a spontaneous trip to Manhattan. Across the river from Manhattan in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Great Hotel!!!! Kept so much of the industry feel of the old building but added perfect luxury. Even the hotel sign seems to be made of recycled metal signs. It just opened in May. WE got the south 8th Loft. I hesitate even telling anyone about this place for fear it will get harder to make a reservation but then again it is too good not to give a great review to. The loft is so big I couldn't believe it. 650 square feet. Plus a wood stairway in our room that led to a private rooftop deck that looked out on a huge portion of Manhattan. From the Williamsburg Bridge all the way past the Queensboro bridge. The whole city basically lay out before us to watch whenever we wanted. It was fun to watch the bikers and people in Brooklyn, the boater on the East River, helicopters flying over the river and then the skyline as a backdrop. The Empire State Building was straight across from us. Sunset was spectacular. I rarely stay very long in a hotel room but this one was too nice to leave. WE went and got coffee and hung out on the deck all morning talking with family. They have a speaker system all throughout the room and onto the deck so you just plug in your iPhone and music everywhere to enjoy. There was an amazing leather couch that was very large, beautiful lighting, great dining area and a beautiful bathroom with a wonderful tub for soaking and a glassed in shower. The best part was the floor to ceiling windows on two walls. As we fell asleep we could see the whole city lit up and we woke to sun and the city. Oh and did I mention the cement floors are heated to take the chill out. The only thing I saw missing were robes but heck, who cares with all the extras I felt we had. A towel was just fine. So I have already book another night in the loft next door for July. I can't wait!!!!!!!! I have probably stayed in over 40 hotels in Manhattan and Brooklyn and this is my favorite hands down!! It is also a quick trip to Manhattan on the L train and on street parking is pretty easy to find in Brooklyn(though we got a ticket because of street cleaning on Tuesday morning but 45.00 is still cheaper than valet) They also have a great restaurant. We never got to the bar. Staff is super helpful. Thank you for creating such a wonderful hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picozoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

At last, a hotel option in Williamsburg. Overall it's been exactly what we'd hoped.

The good: the staff is warm and friendly. Relaxed but efficient, no Williamsburg "attitude." Love the room and would love it even more if there was a place to put my clothes (tough to live out of a suitcase). Great, great job on the building conversion. It retains an industrial feel but feels coolly luxurious. And I want to buy some of that wallpaper, too.

Breakfast in the restaurant was perfect. Lattes as perfect as I've come to expect in this neighborhood. Wish they had Marlow & Son's butter/jam biscuit on the menu.

Could really use improvement: housekeeping. We're currently on night 4 of a 5 night stay. The first night, our daughter spilled a little orange juice on the fitted sheet. It is very obvious, but the sheets have not been changed. Big dust bunnies are starting to grow under the desk but do not get swept or vacuumed. The shampoo and conditioner (Goldie's) are awful-- had to hit Duane Reade my second day to buy replacement.

But these things are minor and can be fixed. I am thrilled to have the Wythe in Williamsburg. A big thank you to the staff here for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamaainagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 km away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 72 in Brooklyn
236 reviews
0.3 km away
McCarren Hotel & Pool
McCarren Hotel & Pool
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
1.4 km away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,340 reviews
1.8 km away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
970 reviews
1.2 km away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 72 in Brooklyn
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wythe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wythe Hotel

Property: Wythe Hotel
Address: 80 Wythe Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249-1026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,054 - ₹ 31,327
Hotel Class:4 star — Wythe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wythe Hotel is a historically industrial building, from 1901, that has been converted into a 72-room hotel on the Williamsburg, Brooklynwaterfront. All of the inherent character of the building has beenpreserved-its exposed brick, arched windows, cast iron columns, andpine ceilings. The leftover ceiling pine has been re-used whereverpossible: in the beds, desks, minibars and restaurant floor. All foodand beverage, including a restaurant, rooftop bar, and private diningroom, will be operated by Andrew Tarlow, of Diner, Marlow & Sons, andRoman's. We are 5 minutes east of Union Square off the Bedford L stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wythe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing