We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking is the Main Benefit”
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
833 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“Free Parking is the Main Benefit”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Motel with parking about a 1 hour subway ride away from midtown Manhattan. Directly to the west of the motel is an industrial area and the Brooklyn docks. To the east and along 4th and 5th avenues are lots of small shops and restaurants; some chains but mostly local hispanic. The elevated Belt Parkway has exits both north and south of the motel, but not close to the intersection. The subway at 45th is a local stop. The express stop (N & D) is at 39th . If you can time the transfer from the local R, you can reduce the trip to downtown to 30 minutes. Rooms are clean but some are in the cellar. The air/heat works by a remote. A starter breakfast is offered but there isn't much seating available. I took the food to my room. Some top floor rooms have views. Wi-fi is available as well as a stand alone computer in the lobby. I only recommend this motel for those with a vehicle who are searching for a place that offers free parking. It's probably also OK for those having family or business in this section of Brooklyn. It has good access to the Verazzano Bridge, and the express trains heading south go straight to Coney Island by Nathan's.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cellar have window, but at sidewalk level. Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    75
    55
    10
    24
See reviews for
38
72
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Hi guys
This October, I spent two night in this hotel and noe i'm totally covered in bedbugs bite. I suggest to you " don't go there".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This place was disgusting. It looked nothing like the pictures posted on the site, and after reading the reviews it seems that most of the people that are happy with this place are smokers. Maybe the smoke covers the smell of body odor, urine and trash.
When we checked in our hotel room smelled like a homeless man, literally. The bed area smelled like a trash can, the bathroom smelled of urine (because there was urine in the tile and all around the base of the toilet) and the shower curtain smelled like someone had used it as towel to dry their nasty sweaty body.
The floor had not been properly vacuumed, there were toenail clippings at the bedside. There were 3 rooms total for our party and all 3 stunk, we had to open the windows to air it out enough to be able to sleep.
I called the desk the first night to ask to chnge room, there were none others available. The second night the manager came in, after complaining again) and watched over the 2 housekeepers as they " recleaned" the room. They put down and odor removing carpet powder and cleaned up the bathroom ( I had already cleaned it w/ lysol wipes) and they replaced the shower curtain. This did help, but we still had to keep the window open so that it didn't smell like a homeless man. The male housekeeper had Body Odor so bad that he literally stunk up the whole floor. When he walked down the hall he took everyone out in his path. It was disgusting, not to mention the malodorous smell he left behind in each room. I don't know how in the world the manager of a hotel wouldnt/cldnt pick up on this when she was right here beside him!
The hotel staff was honest, we left a camera behind and with a prepaid return pickup, it was returned to us.
I would definitely spend a few xtra $s and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank me4meye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were impressed with how clean this hotel was. Don't be turned off by the fact that it's in an Industrial neighbourhood. It was very quiet, both night and day. The only downside is that it's a bit of a walk to the nearest subway (4 blocks) or restaurants (2 blocks). You can ask the front desk to call their car service for you, and they're reasonably priced. The breakfasts are a little scanty: boiled eggs, 2 kinds of cold cereal, bagels, bread, donuts, apples and oranges, as well as coffee, tea and an assortment of very good juices. We were promised that there would be sausages but that didn't happen. Yogourt would have been nice, as well as a wider assortment of breakfast fruit like bananas.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barcelonabren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

after reading the remarks left by other people i was a little bit scared of staying here . we booked 2 rooms and had to small children with us. first impressions the hotel was in a very poor looking area. we checked in within 5 minutes no problem. went to our room to find it very clean and tidy yes the hall smelt of smoke but we chose to stay in smoking room so that was expected inside there was no smell at all except of cleaning fluids. the beds was comfy and there was plenty of room for 4 of us. only problem was when the doors closed it was loud. the breakfast was okay. a small area but we seemed to get a table everyday. plenty on offer to. the staff was friendly and helpful and they arranged our taxis and at a reasonable price. It took ten minute walk to subway.then an 40 minute ride to get to time square but we was prepared for that. we saved alot of money staying here and to be truthful you people are to fussy and want the best for the fraction of the price. the area was run down but we didn't once have a problem. i didnt see any hookers or bikers and we stopped a week. its a great base to stop if you are on a budget. while it was for us.

Room Tip: smoking rooms are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#29 of 72 in Brooklyn
372 reviews
1.8 km away
Brooklyn Way Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
1.3 km away
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
Hotel BPM Brooklyn
#39 of 72 in Brooklyn
763 reviews
2.4 km away
Avenue Plaza Hotel
Avenue Plaza Hotel
#36 of 72 in Brooklyn
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Property: Sleep Inn Brooklyn
Address: 247 49th St, Brooklyn, NY 11220-1708
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,839 - ₹ 17,974
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing