We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Trendy Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Aloft is a nice trendy hotel, next to restaurants shopping and major businesses in the area. Easy access to mass transit for an easy commute into manhattan. I stayed with my husband and son over the weekend and space was sufficient for a short stay. Valet parking is $39; self parking $25. The hotel offers food and a pool table in the lobby for a fee. The rooms are very small; beds are comfortable, nice views of the city, plasma TVs and mini fridge. The service and check in we're both quick and easy. Overall, nice hotel and I would recommend it to couples or people traveling for business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKLYNQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Brooklyn QT,

We are excited that you enjoyed your stay here at the Aloft Brooklyn. We work to accomodate all of our guests needs and your feedback will indeed help us continue this trend. We look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    408
    150
    69
    57
See reviews for
249
315
78
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aloft Brooklyn for three nights in February and was so glad I chose this hotel. We flew in on a red-eye flight, so I emailed the hotel ahead of time requesting my room early, but arriving on a Saturday morning (before 8AM), I did not expect to be checked in immediately! Kambio so kindly had our room ready upon our arrival. He was upfront about the lounge that was a few floors above us (we were on the 22nd floor) and said to just let him know if we had issues with the noise (we never heard a sound!). I was also very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and found the housekeeping staff to be very friendly and accommodating. All the toiletries, as well as two bottles of water, were replaced daily. There was also a mini fridge in our room, a safe, free internet all over the hotel, and a fitness room.

We also enjoyed having drinks at the hotel's bar, where prices were more than reasonable and the bartender, Jennifer, was very friendly and helpful. The food was also well priced, though we never ate at the hotel. Jennifer gave us some tips on things to see around Brooklyn, as in the past we have stayed in Manhattan. Walking a short distance from the hotel (down Smith especially) there were tons of restaurants and some really cool shops. We had an amazing Italian dinner in the heated, covered patio at Pane e Vino - great food and really great prices too.

On our last day, we checked out easily and were offered storage for our bags without asking. The front desk person also made arrangements for a car service to take us to JFK at 7:15pm that night (there are not many cabs in this area). After walking around all day, we arrived back at the hotel just before 7pm. Our car wasn't ready so we sat in the lobby to wait and when I went to the snack bar for some drinks, the front desk person gave them to me at no charge for all the trouble about the car. I advised that we were earlier than our reservation and it really wasn't any trouble, but she insisted we take the drinks for free. This was the kind of service we received throughout our stay and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to New York. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from several different subway lines and we had no trouble getting where we wanted to go. It was just a few stops to lower Manhattan and we had a very different (though great!) experience staying in Brooklyn. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for the deal that we got - $101 a night!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mnrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our Aloft Hotel. It is Guests like you that we love to hear from and Cameo enjoyed providing the exceptional service that you grow to expect here. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thanks again!
Tim Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I checked this hotel out on TripAdvisor first and it sounded OK. We choose it because it's location was close to my son's apartment. We got a decent price for our 3 night stay, but only because we paid in advance with no refund if we canceled. We had a quiet room location and the sleep quality was very good.

I did not care for the toiletries in the room, and they were very minimal at best and never replaced. We asked about getting a cab but we were told we could use the car service that is always parked out front. Because it was rediculously overpriced, we had to walk blocks to get a taxi. The hotel location is in an old neighborhood and is terrible condition with graffiti and posters everywhere. The local area is not that well served for restaurants. We did not feel safe walking around at night. The streets are all blocked and they have you going in circles.
The morning staff was too quick to remove the morning coffee and then girl looked annoyed when I asked her if there was any milk. The reception staff seemed inexperienced, unfriendly and honestly looked bored and annoyed.
We gave this new place a try, but sorry but we won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank codycat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we take your comments very serious. We strive to give each and every guest the best possible positive experience and if we ever drop the ball we like to give that guest an opportunity to give us another chance. Please look for me personally upon your next visit to New York and I will make certain that you have an immpeccable experience.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

a room that would cost double if not triple in manhattan. the subway stop is right around the corner and takes 15 min to get to soho. not bad at all. blazing fast free internet was also a plus. they key factor is that the hotel is still brand new. i would def. recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tronicmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
TronicMusic,

Wow and love the vibe that you gave the Aloft Brooklyn. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and we cannot wait for your return.

Thanks again,
Timothy Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cundy's Harbor
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We travel to Brooklyn from Maine regularly to visit our daughters and grandkids. Over the last decade, we've tried most hotels in Brooklyn, and none made us want to return. The aLoft was a great surprise. Almost brand new, everything worked. The lobby is a high energy place, with fresh fruit and pastries and boxed lunches (as well as pretty good coffee, and a pool table with a street view). The lobby had some cool places to hang out, and the lobby bar ("wxyz") serves killer Martinis. The room was well designed, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, free WiFi. The finish level was quite nice. Storage space is at a premium, but this is a New York hotel with a retail rate of less than $500, so that shouldn't be a surprise.
We found the staff very well informed and helpful.
They have room service, provided by the (comparatively very staid) Sheraton next door.
The neighborhood is one of Brooklyn's oldest shopping areas, with lots of retail energy.
Don't believe your GPS. Duffield is recently a one way going the opposite way your GPS thinks it goes-you have to actually read the signs.
We've already booked our next trip. This is a great place, great folks, great location and you can't beat the price. Book 'em Danno.

Room Tip: Reading the other comments here, we asked for a low room (Fl 3) and it was as quiet as a Maine night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Jack,

WOW thank you for your comments. I am soo glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the shopping and accomodations just to let you know more shops are opening in the next few months. I know that you stated that you booked your next trip so please ask for me at the Talent Desk and have a Drink on us!

Thanks Again,

Timothy Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 km away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#24 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 km away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Property: Aloft New York Brooklyn
Address: 216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,445 - ₹ 28,351
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing