We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 336
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pointe Plaza Hotel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 191
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Indigo(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NU Hotel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 292
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Jolie(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
US$ 172
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 347
US$ 312
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wythe Hotel(Brooklyn)
US$ 534
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveller rating
345
432
163
75
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
432
163
75
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew yorkrooftop barfront desk staffdekalb marketjay stcheesecakesubway ridecobble hillrooms are smallbarclays centercar servicecoffee makerking roomfew blockslobbynycjuniors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aloft Brooklyn for three nights in February and was so glad I chose this hotel. We flew in on a red-eye flight, so I emailed the hotel ahead of time requesting my room early, but arriving on a Saturday morning (before 8AM), I did not expect to be checked in immediately! Kambio so kindly had our room ready upon our arrival. He was upfront about the lounge that was a few floors above us (we were on the 22nd floor) and said to just let him know if we had issues with the noise (we never heard a sound!). I was also very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and found the housekeeping staff to be very friendly and accommodating. All the toiletries, as well as two bottles of water, were replaced daily. There was also a mini fridge in our room, a safe, free internet all over the hotel, and a fitness room.

We also enjoyed having drinks at the hotel's bar, where prices were more than reasonable and the bartender, Jennifer, was very friendly and helpful. The food was also well priced, though we never ate at the hotel. Jennifer gave us some tips on things to see around Brooklyn, as in the past we have stayed in Manhattan. Walking a short distance from the hotel (down Smith especially) there were tons of restaurants and some really cool shops. We had an amazing Italian dinner in the heated, covered patio at Pane e Vino - great food and really great prices too.

On our last day, we checked out easily and were offered storage for our bags without asking. The front desk person also made arrangements for a car service to take us to JFK at 7:15pm that night (there are not many cabs in this area). After walking around all day, we arrived back at the hotel just before 7pm. Our car wasn't ready so we sat in the lobby to wait and when I went to the snack bar for some drinks, the front desk person gave them to me at no charge for all the trouble about the car. I advised that we were earlier than our reservation and it really wasn't any trouble, but she insisted we take the drinks for free. This was the kind of service we received throughout our stay and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to New York. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from several different subway lines and we had no trouble getting where we wanted to go. It was just a few stops to lower Manhattan and we had a very different (though great!) experience staying in Brooklyn. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for the deal that we got - $101 a night!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mnrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our Aloft Hotel. It is Guests like you that we love to hear from and Cameo enjoyed providing the exceptional service that you grow to expect here. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thanks again!
Tim Gilbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I checked this hotel out on TripAdvisor first and it sounded OK. We choose it because it's location was close to my son's apartment. We got a decent price for our 3 night stay, but only because we paid in advance with no refund if we canceled. We had a quiet room location and the sleep quality was very good.

I did not care for the toiletries in the room, and they were very minimal at best and never replaced. We asked about getting a cab but we were told we could use the car service that is always parked out front. Because it was rediculously overpriced, we had to walk blocks to get a taxi. The hotel location is in an old neighborhood and is terrible condition with graffiti and posters everywhere. The local area is not that well served for restaurants. We did not feel safe walking around at night. The streets are all blocked and they have you going in circles.
The morning staff was too quick to remove the morning coffee and then girl looked annoyed when I asked her if there was any milk. The reception staff seemed inexperienced, unfriendly and honestly looked bored and annoyed.
We gave this new place a try, but sorry but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank codycat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we take your comments very serious. We strive to give each and every guest the best possible positive experience and if we ever drop the ball we like to give that guest an opportunity to give us another chance. Please look for me personally upon your next visit to New York and I will make certain that you have an immpeccable experience.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

a room that would cost double if not triple in manhattan. the subway stop is right around the corner and takes 15 min to get to soho. not bad at all. blazing fast free internet was also a plus. they key factor is that the hotel is still brand new. i would def. recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tronicmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

TronicMusic,

Wow and love the vibe that you gave the Aloft Brooklyn. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and we cannot wait for your return.

Thanks again,
Timothy Gilbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We travel to Brooklyn from Maine regularly to visit our daughters and grandkids. Over the last decade, we've tried most hotels in Brooklyn, and none made us want to return. The aLoft was a great surprise. Almost brand new, everything worked. The lobby is a high energy place, with fresh fruit and pastries and boxed lunches (as well as pretty good coffee, and a pool table with a street view). The lobby had some cool places to hang out, and the lobby bar ("wxyz") serves killer Martinis. The room was well designed, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, free WiFi. The finish level was quite nice. Storage space is at a premium, but this is a New York hotel with a retail rate of less than $500, so that shouldn't be a surprise.
We found the staff very well informed and helpful.
They have room service, provided by the (comparatively very staid) Sheraton next door.
The neighborhood is one of Brooklyn's oldest shopping areas, with lots of retail energy.
Don't believe your GPS. Duffield is recently a one way going the opposite way your GPS thinks it goes-you have to actually read the signs.
We've already booked our next trip. This is a great place, great folks, great location and you can't beat the price. Book 'em Danno.

Room Tip: Reading the other comments here, we asked for a low room (Fl 3) and it was as quiet as a Maine night in February, which is pretty darn quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Jack,

WOW thank you for your comments. I am soo glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the shopping and accomodations just to let you know more shops are opening in the next few months. I know that you stated that you booked your next trip so please ask for me at the Talent Desk and have a Drink on us!

Thanks Again,

Timothy Gilbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed over a weekend prior to a trade show in N.Y.C. What a great find and so convenient to N.Y.C. We explored the local area by foot and kept the car on the parking lot. We checked out the winter Brooklyn Flea Mkt.(the old bldg. is a marvel). The local restaurant row on Smith Street was fantastic with something for everyone. Our favorites: Shelsky's a must see;Bien Cuit Bakery(Wow!);a Thai was excellent;and a Middle Eastern Rest(Can't remember the name) was the best.
The local neighborhood near the hotel is undergoing change,but, we had no problems. We walked over to the nearby Brooklyn Bridge and explored the walkway halfway to Manhattan.
Fantastic!

jsl

Room Tip: Due to upstairs nightclub, go for rooms under the 18th floor. The staff is very young and could do a better job with local area recommendations. The Asst. GM was excellent when he was on duty.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studebhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Studehawk,

Thank you for your comments regarding the Aloft Brooklyn. I am sooo happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and was able to experience the many eating possiblities in the area. We will look forward to your next visit to brooklyn.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews