We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Vacation of Our Lives”
other travellers have booked this property
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Moose Walk Cabin night view Cloudy Moonlit night over Moose Walk Cabin.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Moose Walk Cabin night view
Cloudy Moonlit night over Moose Walk Cabin.
Cabin entrance
Moose Walk Cabin entrance overlooking water
Front porch
Living room with water view
Dining room
Kitchen
Upstairs with two queen beds and futon--open floor plan
Upstairs with two queen beds and futon--open floor plan
Bathroom with shower/ tub and toilet
Mom and baby moose in stream in front of Moose Walk Cabin.
Your view of the magical aurora from Moose Walk Cabin window.
Cow moose feeding by cabin
Trumpeter swans feeding by the cabin
View of moose from picture window
Turn here. You've reached Moose Walk Cabin.
Rainbow Grayling fishing is excellent in front of the cabin.  2 canoes and fishing poles are on site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Matt P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation of Our Lives”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We searched for a cabin to celebrate two twin sister's 40th birthday that could accomdate 4 adults and 2 teenagers for 9 days. We wanted something that was off the beaten path and that we could enjoy as a family. We did not want a resort and we didn't want our experience of Alaska to be "touristy". The primary goal was to be able to see the Aurora Borealis and just relax. What we received was well beyond our expectations. We were greeted and treated like family by Rod and Terri. The cabin is exactly as shown in the pictures. Their was plenty of room for all of us. The cabin is absolutely beautiful. Every question we had they came to our rescue. They take great pride in the service they provide and ensuring that their guest feel at home in their cabin. By the first few days we had completed our "bucket list" (Chena Hot Springs, Ice Fishing, Snowmobiling, Smores by the outdoor fireplace, and ice skating) of goals to do in Alaska. This included one of the greatest, most colorful Aurora Show, which danced through the sky and seemed so close at times that it would reach down and touch us. There is no reason for an Aurora Tour, the best view is right behind this cabin. Moose Walk Cabin provided us was the best vacation of our lives. We will forever remember this trip and the time we shared at Moose Walk Cabin. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else but Moose Walk Cabin for our return trips to Alaska.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
The view of the aurora from the cabin is amazing. We personally ensure every guest experiences "Alaskan Hospitality."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyasencha...
Manasquan, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Can't say enough good things about Terri, Rob and their wonderful cabin. My family and I were looking for a place outside of Fairbanks where we could be close to some of the attractions near the city but far enough away to see the Aurora without interference from the city lights. This spot was just what we wanted. We arrived late after a long drive from Anchorage and were greeted by Terri and Rod. They gave us some great information - where to get a late meal, shopping, attractions for the kids - as well as a quick tour of the cabin. They made us feel right at home and let us know that they were close by if we needed anything else. Turns out we were so busy enjoying the local sights that we didn't see them during our two days, but it was good to know they were happy to help if we needed it. Rod offered some help on photographing the Aurora and locations (Chena Lake, etc.), but the best spot was right in front of the creek by the cabin. Would've loved to shoot from across the creek back toward the cabin, but the creek wasn't frozen yet in early October.

The cabin is extremely well-equipped with just about anything you could want during your stay. The wood stove was already set up and all we had to do was light it. There's a firepit and sticks for roasting marshmallows which would've been great with the kids, but we wanted to keep it dark for the Aurora. The Keurig was a lifesaver for a quick cup of coffee during some late nights watching the Aurora. The beds were fantastic and very comfortable, even the futon which was used by our young kids. The kitchen was fully-stocked with all the basics and then some. Outside is a beautiful creek with ducks, birds and the occasional moose, with a canoe to enjoy during the warmer months. It's also just a few minutes away from the restaurants and grocery/shops in North Pole. For anyone driving back to Anchorage, Rod had suggested an alternative route back through Delta Junction/Glenn Allen, which was just beautiful and gives you a taste of the interior of Alaska.

Choose the Moose Walk Cabin and you'll be VERY happy with your decision.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PastorTit...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Friendly ,cheerful and helpful couple”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Really hope to stay here again . Cabin is beautiful , relax and nearby the Chena Lake to see the aurora .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alaskan Excellence”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cabin was a cozy and delightful treat. I was there on business but the Moose Walk Cabin made it feel like a mini vacation.

The cabin, tucked back in spruce trees rested at the edge of a serene pond. The pond had a modest amount of ducks swimming about, no doubt stopping to rest as they traveled south for the winter months. The cabin was warm and inviting with my name scribed at the door with a welcoming message. The furniture spoke on behalf of the owner confirming just how much they cared for my comfort. They even had chocolates on the pillows - as if they needed extra brownie points. They most certainly did not, but it was the perfect treat before climbing into the comfortable and clean bedding.

Memories can be made here with special highlights like that of the of the sunset witnessed. The colors exploded in the sky and reflected in the pond. I enjoyed this at the edge of a paved-stone fire-pit. I stayed outside until the sun had dipped well beyond the horizon and the night sky brought it's lullaby. The only thing that could have topped that night is if the Northern Lights would have made a show. Apparently I need to plan another business trip to enjoy this cabin and all its luxuries under the Northern Lights.

If you have the chance, stay here. You wont regret it, and you'll thank me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire-pit!!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tozierla
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cabin is beautiful and Rod and Terri (the owners) were more than accommodating! They came over and talked with us as well as made us a delicious cake and gave us some Caribou meat after Rod came back form hunting. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice home away from home to stay while they are in Alaska!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty of the cabin
Liked least: how close it is to neighbors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing