We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A window seat to Heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular red aurora with shooting star. Looking south east from our place. Looking north
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Spectacular red aurora with shooting star. Looking south east from our place.
Looking north
Research Rocket being fired into the aurora from Poker Flat 10 miles north of us.
Kitchen from living room
Kitchen with east and south facing windows
Living room with south facing atrium and west facing window
North facing, heated viewing area.
First bedroom with two queen sized beds and private bath.
First bedroom with two queen sized beds and private bath.
Second bedroom with one queen bed and private bath.
Second bedroom with one queen bed and private bath.
Second bedroom with one queen bed and private bath.
Our Condo's private entrance and north facing heated viewing area.
Mt. McKinley (the tallest mountain in North America)  sunset from our place.
Mt. McKinley
Just one of our georgous sunsets with Mt. McKinley in the lower left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leonard h
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A window seat to Heaven!”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We came for Aurora viewing, and we were richly rewarded! The condo is situated perfectly for almost 360-degree viewing, and Chuck and Margaret are wonderful hosts with tremendous knowledge of how and when to see the lights. Besides the great location, the condo is warm and well-appointed, and Chuck has done a phenomenal job of insuring that there are windows looking out in all directions. Even though there is a deck that encircles 3/4 of the place to view and photograph the aurora, we didn't have to go outside to watch the "show" (my wife particularly appreciated this feature at 3:00am when she was comfy under the covers). Altogether a perfect spot, and a real high point for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view/location
Liked least: that we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rafi2001
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location for aurora watching”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We went to Fairbanks to see the Northern Lights, staying a week just to make sure we saw something. We selected a time of year that was supposed to be good, no moon, and not in the dead of winter. The result was a fantastic March 17 aurora and slightly less spectacular displays every other night of our stay. We usually could see something by 10 pm and went to bed about 2 am, though our time lapse camera caught plenty of action during the early mornings as well. Truly an amazing sight, with much more movement than we expected.

You have the whole upper floor of the condo to yourself, with a nice north facing balcony and a heated window-enclosed space leading to it. You can watch indoors or outdoors. The garage is below you, so there's good noise isolation from the main house. We usually checked through the northern windows to see what was happening and stepped out to catch the best views. Most of the action was roughly north and east, including directly overhead at times. To me, perhaps due to the movement, sometimes the aurora seems like it's maybe 30 yards away. Cameras catch the colors better than the naked eye, but not the real-time dynamics that keep it interesting all night. Chuck and Margaret were great and very helpful with aurora sightings and suggestions for things to do. It's not a new place, but it was way better than staying in the city and traipsing out to a mountaintop every night.

We rented a Subaru Outback to drive to the condo from the Fairbanks airport. I think just about any car could have made the drive, though we did have some ice to contend with. Just be sure to stop very slowly. The final road up to the condo was compacted snow. It was easy to drive on, with reasonable traction. We never had to plug the car in to keep it warm.

We tried Mushing School at Sirius Sled Dogs, the Ice Park ice carving competition, snowmobiling, the Fountainhead antique auto museum, Chatanika Lodge for dinner, and a day of the Open North American Championship sled dog race. All of which were much better than the trip to North Pole, AK that we had to try, just to say we'd been there. Not all of that is available throughout the winter, but we had something interesting to do every day besides surfing the web and watching TV.

We have a lot of other places we'd like to see now that we have the time, but I'm very tempted to return here if we have the time. We very much enjoyed our entire trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location at the top of hill, warm room to watch auroras
Liked least: Staying up late!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1HappyChi...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cleary Summit Condo”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful stay, albeit too short, at Cleary Summit Condo and thoroughly enjoyed Chuck and Margaret. After a week in a cramped hotel room in Whistler, we were so happy to have an apartment to spread out and relax in. It was spotless, bright and airy, with an awesome view out of every window. The furniture was comfortable and there was plenty of everything: blankets, towels, soap, even salt and pepper. We had thought our ski pants would be warm enough, but at -29, we were so glad that Chuck and Margaret had provided arctic pants. The front-loading washer was a bonus. The floorpan is great for watching the aura borealis - there are windows on all 4 sides so that you can view it from the comfort of the enclosed porch or you can go outdoors. I can't imagine having to drive an hour every night out of town and then back with the hopes of seeing the aurora. At the Condo, all we did was set the alarm for midnight and 2:00 a.m. and were rewarded each time. No, we didn't get to see an aura with intense color, but what we saw was active - it danced and shimmered and split, so that the sky looked as though it was striped with runways. Ski Land is a small ski resort with one lift and is almost next door to the Condo - we didn't ski there because of the cold, but the trails looked like they could be a lot of fun. We did go into town to see the ice sculptures, which were incredible. When we returned, Margaret had left us fresh homemade lemon blueberry cakes - they were worth going to Fairbanks for! This is not a glitzy, modern 5-star chrome and glass hotel or ski resort - it is a complete apartment that feels homey and comfortable. We are so glad we stayed at the Condo and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to kick back and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabur...
SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views from a cozy condo!”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just finished a two night stay at the Cleary Summit Condo, and it was fantastic! The condo is well equipped and comfortable. The views are amazing from every direction, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen well stocked. It's also great to have a warm, glassed in area for viewing the Aurora. The weather didn't cooperate for viewing the Aurora (cloudy with light snow), but I still had a great stay! The roads are icy and steep but I made it just fine with my 4WD rental. Chuck and Margaret , the owners, are so nice and me feel like part of the family. I am already planning my next stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing