We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Looking Place - Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
Ranked #7 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Looking Place - Great Price”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

More of a decent sized historic looking Inn than a little B&B. Amazing decor, grand staircase, a great find in Fredericksburg. Was very surprised at the low cost to accommodate three people. Very clean, helpful staff and really is a good location too. So many Hotels are located just out of town off on the ugly highway turnoffs. This is located 2 blocks or so north of centre. Downtown Historic Fredericksburg is really quite nice with lots of great and unique shops, bars and restaurants. Great for a stroll, night or day... Why stay out where there is nothing but crappy parking lots?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretzolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    71
    24
    20
    12
See reviews for
40
91
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,580 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 725 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at this inn four years ago and were so impressed that I had no hesitation in booking it again. In the intervening period the inn has changed hands and, as well as having new owners, the march of time has also made its mark.

Don't get me wrong - this is still a nice place to stay, but it really needs some investment to bring it up to past glories. A simple initial investment would be in some more pictures etc for the walls. I may be wrong, but I'm sure that on my last visit there was much more Civil War memorabilia on display, and I feel that at present the long, bare walls look rather drab. The public rooms have much more on display and, as a result, have a real charm about them.

Similarly, the family suites afford very comfortable and roomy accommodation, being two bedrooms with an adjoining bathroom. We were certainly very comfortable but one cannot help but notice that the decor is rather faded and in need of some TLC.

A continental breakfast is provided for guests and it offers a very good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc as well as bread, bagels and muffins. The hotel is ideally situated - being close enough to the town centre to be able to explore on foot, yet far enough away to provide peace and quiet. The people who run the hotel are helpful and very nice and I wish them well for the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Inn Keeper, Eddy, is fantastic - welcoming, friendly and relaxed - super family suite with bathroom between a double and twin room. Buffet breakfast - lots of choices in a homely breakfast room. Eddy came up with lots of places to eat - including the local ice cream parlour and a great steak house.

Rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet. A good place to stay, just on the edge of the historic area.

Room Tip: Family suite - lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I sort of hate to give this place such a low rating, because the staff really was VERY NICE. However, that niceness did not make up for the fact that the room was very uncomfortable... not at all what you're looking for in a weekend getaway. We stayed in the King Edward room, and when we opened the door the first thing I noticed was the smell. The bathroom had not been cleaned since the last guests came, and when I went to complain all they did was replace the towels (when they should have gone over everything with bleach). There also was no plastic liner for shower curtain!--Just the fancy outside part, which had clearly started to smell from getting wet so often. The room was horribly ventilated, and while it was plenty cool from the window AC unit it felt still incredibly damp and stuffy. The hotel is also not as close to downtown Fredericksburg as you might think. It's across the street from a Hardy's... not exactly picturesque. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Richard Johnston Inn (a little pricer) or the Courtyard Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a soft bed. I hear some rooms have very hard mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My wife and I were given a Weekend Getaway Trip as a Christmas Gift and we visited Fredericksburg in April 2011. Our Room at Inn at The Olde Silk Mill and the friendliness of management and staff were amazing. We were there on a pretty busy weekend and the Inn was pretty full. Our room and the amazing King Size bed were perfect. The Room was clean, the accommodations were just right and Ed at the Front Desk was very helpful in recommending places for lunch, dinner, and sightseeing. Not only will we be back, but we are buying a weekend getaway for our oldest daughter and her husband!
The Clays
Maryland

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms online and selected Queen Mary Room. We heard King Edward Room is even ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 km away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.5 km away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.6 km away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#20 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
3.1 km away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.7 km away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#7 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Olde Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Property: Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
Address: 1707 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3524
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,774 - ₹ 9,667
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At The Olde Silk Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (formerly Fredericksburg Colonial Inn) is under new ownership since May 2007. Many new upgrades, pillow-top mattress, Royal Suites, wireless internet, new breakfast items, warm and inviting staff. Walking distance to Downtown Fredericksburg Historic sites, restaurants, antique stores. Great shopping and dining options! Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing