We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B and B in Historic Fredericksburg”
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming B and B in Historic Fredericksburg”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

It's a nice B and B with many rooms and a bar and restaurant in the basement, and a courtyard. Our room was nice, quaint and comfortable. The Kenmore is conveniently located for walking about historic Fredericksburg. The breakfast was very good; it was more like a restaurant style breakfast; no specific time to eat, no group eating, and a menu. This was a refreshing change from the more typical everyone-eats-at-once at a specific time, though maybe a little lighter breakfast.

Room Tip: Note, we didn't see a fitness center as the rating suggests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    54
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
31
118
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Kenmore Inn. It is a beautiful historic old home that is now an Inn and Restaurant. We stayed on a Sunday night and it was very quiet. However, even if the bar was open, it is two floors below the guest rooms and so tiny I highly doubt it could cause much disruption. The restaurant is beautiful and serves a higher-end clientele.

The Kenmore Inn is the only place we have ever stayed where they allow a real log fire in the fireplace. It made for a very cozy experience to fall asleep to a crackling fire. Since we were traveling with our young son, we stayed in the Washington Suite which had an adjoining room with two twin beds and it's own TV. We all slept very comfortably. Our bathroom had a spa tub and a stand up shower.

In the morning, breakfast was served in the Restaurant and you choose an item off the menu. My omelet was delicious and my husband and son enjoyed their breakfasts as well. Delicious coffee was available too. I would definitely recommend a stay at The Kenmore Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antiqlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed just one night on our way through after Christmas. Wonderfully decorated, lovely historic home in a wonderful location in Fredericksburg - easy to walk to lots of shops and restaurants. The staff were wonderful in providing excellent dinner suggestions. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms - simple, historic decorations, clean. If you are looking for a nice historic home in a great location, good food and atmosphere at a good price I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelRayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Not all B&B's are created equal. Stayed here in Fredericksburg as part of our Chistmas trip to Colonial Williamsburg in December 2009. We found it quite delightful despite some negative reviews from others. The room and service was very good and the breakfasts excellent. Virginia is cold in December usually, but we had a working fireplace in our room and the staff was more than happy to help his build a fire and keep it stoked. The location was very good and allowed us to access the many nearby Civil War sites. The old house was decorated for Christmas and provided a nice holiday experience. It IS an old house and we've learned in our travels not to expect the VERY best from all B&B's. Some are better than others. The Kenmore was very good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Comfy room, close to downtown, nice staff. This made for a nice weekend getaway for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74JasonC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.7 km away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
330 reviews
7.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#5 of 41 in Fredericksburg
686 reviews
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
7.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 41 in Fredericksburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3736
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,299 - ₹ 13,497
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing