We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
172
66
9
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
66
9
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesoutdoor porchbooked last minutecoffee teahot dishescoolidge cornereach morningb and bpublic areasboston areaon dutystayed for one nightnew englandquiet at nightfirst floorold mansionlate check
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Visited Boston and didn't want to stay right in the city. First off for Boston area being super expensive this place was greatly priced especially for a Bnb! The staff was very helpful and friendly! Had a very old feel but the good old feeling. Comfort beautiful and homey. The bed was absolutely amazing! Seriously the most comfortable bed I ever slept in! Fireplace and the shower was great! Spacious room! The inn is located close enough to walk to Fenway little over a mile. Felt very safe there! Great breakfast hot food provided, pastries, fruit, cereals ect! Coffee tea and water afternoon cookies! We actually got engaged the night we stayed there! So this place will hold a very special place in my heart! Also a cute touch they leave you chocolates and a letter with tomorrow's weather, menu ect. I've never seen an inn do that. Only complaint my other half being an electrician the electric work in the room was not of code and not safe. Other than that nothing bad to say!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your honest review! We're very glad that you found our B&B comfortable and well priced. We're lucky to be located in a safe and convenient spot; I always tell the owner, how much of a visionary he was at 25 when he purchased it!

We're so glad you have such a nice memory at the Inn with your engagement! Congratulations!

We appreciate you telling us about the electric work in the room; I'll definitely pass the word to the owner. Even though we receive yearly inspections, we want to address this and keep up our standards; if its at all possible, I'd ask you to email us or call us just wit the room number to be able to identify the room more easily.

Thanks again for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review.

Sincerely,

Astrid
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stayed her while visiting my son who attend Boston University and was in a show. We were looking for some place at that end of BU. Usually we stay at the Marrioitt Fenway or Eliott Hotel. I looked up the review and decided to try this on mostly because of location but also due to cost. It was lovely!!! We hit a lot of traffic going up and were running late to the show. I called the Inn and explained that i would have to do check in after the show. They were very accommodating and we made arrangements for the late check in. I also asked her to call a cab and she did and the cab was waiting for us when we pulled up. Yes, we made the show in time. BUT I have never had such wonderful friendly service!!! The was large and clean. The bed was comfy. We had a sofa and nice size bathroom. The bathroom cabinets, if I can be picky, needed a little touch up with stain and to tighten a few screws. But it was a lovely victorian bathroom. We enjoyed the early breakfast out on the porch. A few people were sitting out on the deck. They had fruit, scones, cheddar muffins, cup cakes, toast, coffee, tea, OJ, pastries, and hot & fresh Eggs Benedict for the breakfast with relaxing background music. This is a very friendly Inn and the staff went above and beyond for us. She even asked us about the show the next morning.... we will return.

Room Tip: Our room was off the lobby and were told it could be noisy due to location. We did not hear any noise.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travelWfam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BertramInnBrookline, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

I am so happy to hear that we will be seeing you again! I loved meeting you guys and making your experience in Boston one to remember! Our staff takes a genuine interest in our guests traveling experience and strives to foster lasting relationships!
Thank you so much for leaving a kind review! Happy spring!

Best,
Skyler
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The old home the establishment occupies is quite nice. My room was workable. The common rooms were well-appointed. A lot of care and effort clearly goes into making guests happy

Stayed: February 2017
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BertramInnBrookline, Innkeeper at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dearest Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate honest feedback as it helps us improve our home. We are delighted to know that our staff was supportive and friendly, it is the hallmark of our service. We hope to have you stay with us again!

Thanks,
Stephanie
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here in the past although not recently. We love how we are greeted each and every time, nothing cold or robotic about it. The guest rooms are quaint and of a an era long ago. Fireplaces in many of the rooms. The common room is always set with snacks and a warm, home cooked breakfast is set out each morning. Their room rates are better than most area hotels.
If there is one thing a little lacking is that it's not as clean as it used to be. The Bertram is not dirty it's just that the corners and underneath furniture and Windows could use closer attention.
We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank reith20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BertramInnBrookline, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Welcome back to the Bertram Inn! We are happy to hear that you've returned for another great stay. Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. Our friendly staff, warm common spaces, delicious snacks and breakfasts make the Bertram as great as it is!

We have taken your feedback to the housekeeping team as we strive to be better for you, our valued guest. Our guests are our first line of quality control, and we value your critical input as an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Skyler
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at The Bertram in the past.It is homey has a warm atmosphere and a perfect residence while visiting Boston. Astrid,the receptionist,was vibrant and knowledgeable both about the inn and Brookline. Our room had a working,wood-burning fireplace, chandeliers,tapestry and heavy wood paneling.Snacks of fruit,nuts, etc.and tea and coffee are available as well as continental breakfast (for early birds) and hot breakfast for the rest of us!
We have also stayed at her sister Inn The Samuel Sewell,across the street.It is undergoing renovation but will be re-opening soon!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BertramInnBrookline, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

We're so glad that you experienced a cozy stay here at The Bertram Inn. We work hard to ensure guests can relax and feel at home with our working fireplaces, homemade snacks, and our turn-down service. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you for kind comments!

Jaime
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews