We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give me a Hilton anyday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Portland Vancouver
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The title of my review says it all. My recent stay at this Marriot chain reminded me why I'd not chosen a Marriott for my travels in a very long time. I'd made a reservation for a King room for one night for my husband & myself with a request for an early check-in. Usual check-in is 3 PM; we arrived at 2 PM after a long, hot car trip--merely an hour earlier. 3 young women were at the main desk--2 of them apparently being "trained" by a young woman wearing glasses. (I note that detail merely because I neglected to get her name.) She was curt & told me no rooms were ready but would be in "about 20 minutes". I'd booked with a AAA rate & asked if she needed to see my membership card, since my reservation said I needed to present it. Her reply "yeah, I guess, if you want to show me". She looked at it & said, "OK, I guess you're good with it 'til November"----this with a very smart-alec tone. The other 2 young women looked embarrassed at this point. My husband & I sat in the lobby for over an 1 hour waiting for a room. It was now past the 3 PM check-in. Nothing else was said to us during our wait until finally one of the nicer young women addressed me by name & said our room should be ready in just a few moments. I entered our room to find 2 Queen beds instead of a King. Entered the bathroom to find several very long dark hairs all over the floor---I'm not talking 1 or 2--these were very noticeable. Yes, I definitely should have called the desk at this point & demanded a clean, King room, but we are elderly & were exhausted at this point. I turned down my bed later that night to find that the "duvet" was badly torn along the top hem--just another "plus". At breakfast the next morning, the few tables in the lobby were occupied by what appeared to be business people, so we returned to the room to wait. I had an "express" check-out, so I simply left the key cards in the room after breakfast & didn't register my complaints with the desk. Again...my fault but I was pressed for time at this point. I understand that the business traveler is the bread & butter of this hotel because of its location. However, I pay for my room the same as they do. So, I'll stick with the Hiltons.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77gingergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Portland Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

I just completed a one night business stay at the SpringHill Suites in Vancouver.

The suite was nicely sized but didn't feel all that much bigger than a standard hotel room. The big difference here is that as a "suite", there are some extra walls which separate a "living room" area from the "bed area" and an impressively small but efficient kitchen area, but the only additional door is the one between the shower & water closet room and the bathroom sink area.

The kitchen area had a microwave hidden in one of the cabinets over the small sink. Under the sink was a small fridge which would easily hold a few days worth of items. There's a mini-pantry of sorts next to the front desk which also sells all kinds of cold drinks and even beers.

The flat screen was perfectly positioned between the living room area and the bedroom area, probably to allow it to be swiveled for proper viewing in whichever room you felt like lounging in.

In the closet I found an iron and a little luggage rack and an extra blanket and sheet (I didn't check to see if the couch folded out into a sofa bed). I was surprised to see there was no room safe hidden in the closet, but the front desk appears to have some mini safe slots designated for guests. The bed had four or five smaller and somewhat wimpy (i.e. not particularly firm) pillows on top of it.

I did get a chance to use the small exercise room, which is located to a slightly bigger pool area. The exercise room had a treadmill, an exercise bike, a stair master and a nifty (but very wacky) dual tracked treadmill (one belt for each leg, each belt going up and down independently) which simulated running on varied terrain. There was also a small free weight set and towels crammed in there as well. The Sunday night I stayed at the SpringHill Suites hardly had any guests staying in the property, but on busy business nights I can imagine both the exercise room and the pool being easily overwhelmed with people.

Breakfast options included different kinds of cereal (Cheerios, Frosted Flakes, etc.), little cartons of milk (skim, 1% and 2%), hot oatmeal, scrambled eggs with sausage or mini ham circles in the hot tray, two make-it-yerself waffle machines and mix, muffins and bagels, and different kinds of juices and yogurts. I can't recall actually seeing anything super healthy in there (i.e. fruit), but I might not have looked too closely enough. Yep, breakfast is included in every stay. There's a computer down in the lobby which I used to print out boarding passes for my flight out of Portland airport the next morning (only about 15-20 minutes away from the hotel, a surprisingly quick drive).

Was it worth the stay? It's close to almost any technology company doing business in Vancouver and if the price is right I'd say it'd be worthwhile. Myself, I spent $130 to stay Sunday night there, but I did see multi-night weekend package stays available on the website for less than $90 per night. I'd gladly stay here again if I were traveling with a family (i.e. with kids) or doing business, but I'd go for other options if I were doing a romantic getaway with my significant other (not too much in the way of hotel amenities or amazing scenery close by).

Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I enjoyed my 2-night stay at this SpringHill suites. Specifically, I liked the extra friendly greeting upon arrival. The clerk shared parking tips, location tips and when I asked for directions to an office-supply store, she not only found the information but she offered to help me with copies. It was an unexpected and refreshing encounter.

I also liked the cleanliness of my room, as well as the typical SpringHill suites amenities (suite-style rooms with a small kitchenette/fridge area).

The location was perfect, with a Whole Foods across the street plus several other restaurant and shopping choices nearby.

My only complaint is about the business center in the hotel lobby. Since the hotel has "tech" in it's name, I expected to see a contemporary computer and printer available. I had trouble printing a presentation because PowerPoint wasn't even installed on it (only the "viewer" version, which has limited options). So I would not recommend relying on the hotel's business center if you need to do any work during your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at the SpringHill Suites in Vancouver for a week while visiting my daughter. She helped me pick it because the location was so convenient to her house.

My room was spacious - king bed, 2 nightstands, huge closet, great vanity area and separate tub with shower (the real deal - not plastic!) The large flatscreen TV sat on a low dresser so it could be viewed from the bed and from the living area. There was a nice sofa, chair and coffee table, and a work area included a big desk with a good lamp, wired internet connection (the room has wireless internet) and comfortable office chair. The kitchenette was perfect - microwave to warm up restaurant leftovers, small refrigerator for snacks, handy sink.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and quiet, the bed cozy and comfortable, and the continental breakfast went WAY beyond continental - it included many hot options (excellent oatmeal, scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes, and a waffle bar) as well as the usual cereal, fruit, yogurt and bagels.

I enjoyed being able to grab a cup of coffee during the day in the lobby. On cooler, rainy days there was always a big fire in the lobby fireplace as well.

I looked in on the pool and hot tub but did not have time to use them. They looked modern and clean.

The staff was always professional and pleasant (even when I returned from a night out at midnight!) and check in and check out were seamless.

I will recommend SpringHill to others who visit Vancouver, and I will be staying there again!

Room Tip: I found that the rooms in the rear and on higher floors had some mountain views!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONGOLDENPOND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed with 2 children for 5 nights while my husband was attending a conference nearby. They had a full breakfast, with hot items, which was nice, kept us from having to eat out all 3 meals every day. The room was pleasant, with seperate living area and grainte sinks. Staff was friendly. They have a great rewards program. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. The one thing that bothered me is the coffee was bad, I mean undrinkable bad. I thought it was just me, but it was a concensus. So, I decided to try the stuff in the room, but it was the same company that made it and it smelled like feet, not coffee, when I opened the package. I ended up going to Tully's or Peet's everyday, and that added up. Otherwise, thumbs up....

Room Tip: Ice on 1st and 3rd floor. Kids liked the view from the top floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loira74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Portland Vancouver
2.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Vancouver-Camas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington
8.4 km away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
883 reviews
7.8 km away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#14 of 29 in Vancouver
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Portland Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Portland Vancouver

Address: 1421 SE Tech Center Dr, Vancouver, WA 98683-5553 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Vancouver Columbia Tech Center)
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 8,957 - ₹ 15,772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Portland Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Portland Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Vancouver Columbia Tech Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing