We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, comfortable lodge in the city”
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed one night in Vancouver, WA, the last leg of an Oregon coast vacation. I booked a room at the Heathman Lodge the night before we left for Oregon as we needed a place for the last night of our trip (most of our trip was spent in a vacation rental) and I'm glad I did.

The Heathman Lodge is beautiful. It looks like a lodge you'd see in the mountains, but instead it's situated in a very nice area of the city. My first impresson upon entering the lobby was positive until I got to the registration desk. There was one staff person behind the desk, although it was a large front desk with room for four personnel. He was on the phone for several minutes, never once acknowledging me, even to tell me he'd be with me a moment. He totally ignored me. After about five minutes another employee walked into the lobby, went behind the desk and asked if she could help me. From then on out, service was superb.

Our room was ready on time and check-in was quick and easy. The room was very nice and inviting. A king room with a leather couch, desk, great window view, separate bathroom, and small kitchenette with frig and microwave.

The hotel offers a business center with two computers and a printer, so I was able to print my boarding passes myself. I like that. The writing pens are made from recycled paper -- pretty cool.

We wanted to drive to the Columbia River Gorge, so back to the registration desk where a staff person was eager to assist, giving me clear directions and several maps. We drove as far as Stevenson, WA, and ate at CXXX Griill, a small, friendly bar and grill right on the river. Try the jalapeno burger - it's HOT!

The hotel has a lovely restaurant and bar area right off the lobby. We didn't eat there, but the menu looked good and people seemed to be having a wonderful time. They also have a nice indoor pool and sauna. The coffee maker (Keureg) did not work, but at least hotel guests can get a large, hot cup of coffee in the lobby. Ice makers and beverages are available on each floor as well.

Everything about The Heathman Lodge is welcoming, except for my initial greeting or lack of. Definitely recommend it for travelers and will definitely return when we visit the northwest again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Hello Frick,

Thank you for the nice comments about your stay with us. I am sorry about the first impression you received from our front office staff. We pride ourselves on providing great service, and I am happy to hear that we did recover from that. We will use your comments as a learning tool, and reinforce that even when we our on the phone we can always acknowledge our guests.

We hope that your next trip to the Vancouver, Washington area you will make the Heathman Lodge your place to stay again.

Yours Truly,

Brett Wilkerson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 723 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Heathman was way more than I expected. We did our annual customer meeting there and were blown away by everything. The cleanliess, friendly staff, catering to our needs, meeting space and the guest rooms. Plus, the rates are fantastic! We have made The Heathman our preferred hotel in the Portland/Vancouver area for corporate travel. I would go there for a personal trip too. The only thing it needs is a spa. That would make it perfect. However, that would not detour me from going there. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckley_girl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

We are happy that that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the kind comments about our property, and staff! As you can see we take great pride here in our building, and service to our guests. We are happy to hear that we will be seeing more of your corporate travel, and hopefully you will be able to visit again in the near future.

Yours Truly,

Brett Wilkerson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We travel about six times a year so the hotels can get boring and all look the same.
The Heatman Lodge is a destination. We loved the huge logs,Indian decor and Pacific Northwest feel. The room was large, flat screen TV,comfortable bed,modern tiled bath, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We paid twice as much the night before to stay in the Columbia gorge in a small room with no microwave and no pool or spa. It is a great value and don't miss Hudson's. The location is close to all major attractions in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. I am very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, and that our rooms were what you were looking for. We do agree that The Heathman Lodge is a destination, and I hope you will make it back to visit us in the near future!

Yours Truly,

Brett Wilkerson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nicely appointed rooms and a convenient location. The staff were friendly and helpful but little things had slipped. Not enough towels in rooms. Hotel restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catsaver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Thank you for taking time to review the Lodge. I am happy to hear that you thought Hudson's was excellent. We would love to hear more about the little things that have slipped. We take pride in our service and always are open to hear feedback.

Yours Truly,

Brett Wilkerson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Our original room was above the front entrance with an abysmal view of the cross beams of the canopy and some HVAC equipment. It was a floor above the lobby and bar/restaurant. When we arrived, the lobby was full of people having their photo taken for a class reunion. The din was deafening. We asked to change rooms and this was readily done. Our new room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the "wetlands" and lots of trees. This room had a nice balcony with a long bench under a cosy canopy. The only down side was that this part of the hotel was close to the freeway and the traffic noise was noticeable out on the balcony (but not in the room) and the insects at dusk were a little annoying. But it rained off and on and we did not use the balcony. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. Pendleton blankets on the beds were lovely. No bathtub, just a large shower--was great. Coffee maker, refrig and micro in room was convenient. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and the service was friendly and quick. Lots of other restaurants in the vicinity, including an Olive Garden. Easy access to freeways, airport, Portland, shopping, etc. I would certainly stay at Heathman's again and highly recommend it. The original room assignment was a handicapped room, barrier free, walk-in/roll-in shower, a larger room than the regular rooms--highly recommend a HC room for anyone, and esp. someone who uses a walker or wheelchair.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OSageOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for the kind comments. I am very pleased that our staff was able to move you to a room that better fit your needs. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Yours Truly,

Brett Wilkerson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
7.1 km away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
6.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.1 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 8,099 - ₹ 13,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing