We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad first impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bad first impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we were met by a surly and unfriendly woman who checked us in (gave me the key without saying more than one or two words). After this greeting we felt very disappointed with the experience and unhappy with our choice of hotels. However, these bad feelings were quickly made up by the other staff who were very cheerful and welcoming, a beautiful room and great location. The housekeeping service was especially efficient, friendly and maintained the room very well.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pearson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we would like to apologize for any shortcomings during your checkin process. Our leadership team takes these comments very seriously and will address with our team.

We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will stay with us again soon

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    666
    171
    57
    15
See reviews for
589
1,045
53
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf,Md
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic location, you are within walking distance of the famous River Street, lots of stores, restaurants,City Market,and nightlife.The hotel is clean,safe and staff is quite friendly.My only complaint was the Wi-fi in rooms. Elsewhere in the hotel you could pick it up but I had to rely on tech support to boost the signal to my room, and they must change the code everyday, because in the 4 days I was there, I had to get a new code 3 times! But other than that it was good.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simplycuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for the great reveiw, we are delighted that our convenient location worked out so well for your stay!

We hope to have you back again soon

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Springs, Ga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for our 21st anniversary and it was great. The location couldn't be better. The hotel was clean and the service was good. Breakfast was included, but don't get too excited about it. It was average at best, actually not even average.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful reveiw! We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter and I were there in April 2012. BEAUTIFUL hotel, rooftop pool and what an increible staff. Michelle at the front desk was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and a joy to talk with. The nightime manager was really nice and even opened up the fitness center for me so I could work out earlier than the 6 am time that the fitness center is set to open. The rooms were spotless. The view amazing. and you are across the street from the River Front so everything is right there. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and the best location. But it was the wonderful staff that made the visit so wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with an historic view- you can see the ships come in from you window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoHelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Area is very walkable, near the water. Valet is the only hotel parking offered and it dies get backed up, so plan ahead. Front desk remembers your name, which is a nice touch. Hotel itself is clean, nothing notable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttorneyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,044 - ₹ 21,703
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing