We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planters Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 204
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 251
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 486
US$ 266
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 166
US$ 155
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 205
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andaz Savannah(Savannah)
US$ 242
US$ 236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 231
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 167
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 254
US$ 247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,943)
Filter reviews
2,943 results
Traveller rating
1,676
876
254
89
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,676
876
254
89
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreynolds squarewine and cheeseparking garagegreat locationpink house next doorhistoric districthouse restaurantfour posterwithin walking distancethe rivereach eveningcontinental breakfastwarm cookiessouthern hospitalitybottle of champagneturn down servicetwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,095 - 2,100 of 2,943 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I just spent the weekend in Savannah and Planters Inn was a fabulous to stay. It is in a great location: on Reynolds Square, 2 blocks from the River, right next to the Olde Pink House (great food), and across from the historic Lucas Theatre (which offers a variety of cultural experiences - from the Philharmonic to classic films). The Planter Inn rooms were very nice - upscale and comfortable. You might ask for a room that does not over look the parking garage, though. Ours did, but that was ok since we weren't in the room much and the curtains are wonderful. The continental breakfast has good choices including fresh fruit and good coffee. Other nice touches are a free wine and cheese hour with live piano music, classical music piped throughout the lobby and breakfast room, coffee availabke all day in the lobby, and a tasty tray of cookies in the lobby at night. My husband and I had the best trip of our marriage in Savannah and the Planters Inn was a significant part of it.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the side facing the parking garage or in the back of the building. The best views would be in the front, overlooking Reynolds Square (these may cost more?), or on the side facing The Olde Pink House Restaurant. Also there are 7 floors, so the higher up the better the view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ER1970NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

With the exception of the bell men...the staff at this hotel could care less about your comfort. They apparently have so much business that the comfort of the guest is not that important. Just run them in and out...keep the rooms filled and collect the money.

The breakfast is a complete joke. I have never seen such a pitiful presentation of a hotel breakfast. During the 3 days were were there we never saw all of the food. I don't where they kept it, but it wasn't on the breakfast bar. Dishes were piled high on the tables and the staff were completely unattentive to the guests. If you stay here avoid the breakfast. There is a restaurant near by. Chances are you wont find a clean table to sit at anyway.

The hotel location is excellent, Close to restaurants, shopping and the River....But the rooms are small and the lack of concern demonstrated by the staff moved it off of my list of places to stay in Savannah.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on side that faces the street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runamuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

As you can tell by my tag line we enjoyed the wine and cheese reception. Piano playing, decent wine, and good cheese. But more importantly was the overall stay which was pleasant, friendly staff, and super location, we valet the car and didnt even see it for the 2 nights we were there since we walked ever where. We did priceline so we ended up with a room looking at the garage but who in the heck sits in their hotel and stares out the window? More so, the noise from that garage can be a bit much, but if you smartly take full advantage of the wine and cheese reception, sleeping soundly should not be a problem :) Anyway, for the deal i got on Priceline it was a no brainer and would stay again even if I didnt get that same deal again. Saw some neg comments on breakfast, not sure where most people eat or what they eat but we found breakfast just perfect and delightful. We were there in Nov for the Rock and Roll marathon so it worked perfectly for my wife who was running -- no running for me, i dont even like driving 13 or 26 miles, much less run that far. In summary, great location, service, and happy hour, just try to ask for a park facing room (or non garage otherwise).

Room Tip: ask for non garage facing room if possible
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Planter's Inn is centrally located to everything you'd want to do in the historic district. The room was spacious and good for two people who aren't a couple. The service was mixed, as sometimes we couldn't reach anyone at the front desk. The breakfast was minimal but did the job. There is nothing really special (great food, decor, gym or spa) but it is totally serviceable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnrosenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We recently had a short visit to Savannah to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was our first time in Savannah. The accommodations at Planters Inn certainly met our expectations. The service was outstanding and the location is ideal for walking around the historic area of Savannah.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMAB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews