We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of America's Best Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
America's Best Inn
Ranked #98 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

While the ABVI in Savannah was not the WORST hotel we ever stayed at, I cannot say it was anywhere near the best, either. My wife and I stayed there for 5 days during the first week of June. My first impression when we arrived at 2:30 in the afternoon was an empty parking lot and no one to be found at the front desk. I have NEVER had this happen when staying at a motel. Finally, the owner's wife (who also served as one of the cleaning crew), showed up--she originally could not find our reservation--and gave us our room.

Upon entering the room, we noticed the cover to the smoke detector was on the bed, there was a hole in the comforter, the refrigerator was unplugged, and the electrical outlets next to the bathroom sink did not work. The breakfast area was not well maintained, either. There were too many requests we had to make, and while the owner and staff did respond to many of them, the whole experience made our time in Savannah less than what it should have been.

There are too many other hotels (some of which we have stayed at) in Savannah to recommend this one, even if I am a Value Club member. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    0
    4
    28
See reviews for
20
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orton, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

In the past we have had very nice stays in Americas Best Value Inns - this was not one of them. I had booked 2 nights stays ahead of time, based on the write up and past experience, so that is why we stayed here and did not change hotels. I agree with kellierae that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The head board was damaged, there was a huge hole in the side of the mattress, the light switch plates were worn and badly marked, there was mold in the shower, it needed painting and caulking done, no tissues and none available at the desk and we had to ask for towels etc., etc. The breakfast was a joke - packaged muffins, cardboard bagels, coffee, orange juice and that was it. So when all is said and done this stay has now turned me off Americas Best Value Inns and I will never book ahead with out seeing it first. Too bad because others were good value for your dollar. Bottom line - don't stay here unless they do a major make over.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerfitzpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Savannah hotels

valdosta, Georgia, USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The woman at the desk took forever to sign us in. Once we finally got to the room it was musty and looked as thought it hadn't been updated in 20 years. The mattresses were so worn out they didn't even come up as high as the head board. We left to go to the wedding and upon I noticed the room smelled of urine. Luckily we only had to stay one night. The morning of checkout I was using the restroom, my husband had left with my daughter to go to the store. The bathroom door wasn't completely shut, I didn't think anything of it since I was alone. When I looked up, the owner was spying through a small gap between the curtains and watching me use the restroom. Nasty pervert. Then when we checked out the owners family ignored my husband in their living quarters behind the office for almost 15 minutes before responding to him trying to get their attention so that he could check out. He knew they could hear him because he could hear them so clearly. This place is terrible. Do NOT stay here. Ever. I have bites all over me from bed bugs i'm assuming.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellierae1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My son and I was on a road trip. We had not planned to make this stop but I was too tired to continue driving for the night. This is about 4am and was just going to sleep a few hours. We was not there more than 20 mins when the roaches started crawling all over the place. I went back to the front desk and demanded a refund to no avail. This is one of the most disgusting places I have ever stopped at. I am a Truck Driver so I have stayed a some cheap motels before but this takes the cake.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugotstobekidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisavannahga, Owner at America's Best Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Traveler,

Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know that your stay was not up to your expectations. We apologize for this and will certainly look into your comments and take any appropriate action. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with quality service and comfort at an exceptional price.

Our pest control company comes and sprays once a month and we have not had a problem in a long time. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Thanks again for your comments,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We held the room on a bank credit/debit card and paid cash when we got there. A month later they ran a debit on our bank card for the full amount. When I called I kept getting the run around. The manager would be back at 4pm, then I was told he'd be back at 5 pm, then 8 pm.

The free internet was not thru the hotel, and it was so slow it wasn't worth trying to log on.

There was hair in the sink and tub when we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancfeathr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisavannahga, Owner at America's Best Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Traveler,

We did in fact return the money back to your card - yes, we made a mistake. Regarding the internet, if you had let us know you were having a problem, we would have been happy to help.

Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know that your stay was not up to your expectations.

We hope you will give us another try and stay with us again in the near future.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.8 km away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#96 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#87 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#71 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
0.2 km away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#48 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Savannah I-95
La Quinta Inn Savannah I-95
#94 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn

Property: America's Best Inn
Address: 390 Canebrake Rd, Savannah, GA 31419-9000 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Savannah/I-95)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,846 - ₹ 8,801
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your America's Best Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing