We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #52 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Nice hotel right on the edge of the historical district. Very easy to find. Room was very clean. Normal breakfast in the am. No pool or workout room. Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear that you did not get to take advantage of the pool and fitness center during your stay. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.
Thank you,
Jeff Fouste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,418)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Savannah Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,146 - 1,150 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Another great experience at this wonderful hotel. This is probably the 7th stay here for my husband and myself. We love visiting the city of Savannah and all it has to offer--it has to be one of the prettiest towns in the U.S. The bedding at this property is like that of an Omni or Ritz-Carlton. Nice flat screen TV, in-room refrigerator, white-noise machines in the room (I will usually move it beside the bed), marble bathroom, free USA Today newspaper in the lobby and free breakfast that has added some new items since our last visit. The pool and exercise room are both new within the past 18 months and extremely nice with no expense spared. With all that said I would have to agree that the staff at this property is probably what sets this hotel apart--whatever is needed they will try to accomodate and truly seem to care from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the concierge--they all treat you like family. This property has great location--is in the midst of the historic district and literally one block from City Market and 1-2 blocks from River Street. Everything in walking distance so we typically leave our car parked in the Best Western lot the entire stay--at $10/day this is so worth it since parking is at a premium in this town and very expensive. Looking forward to our next visit and already formulating my list of must-halves to pickup next time (Paula Deen coffee, pecan pralines, lotion from Nourish Store, etc.)!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Music to my ears! We love Repeat Guests! Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor!

Thanks,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our first stay at this hotel and I wouldn't return. Unfortunately, we were greeted by a construction project (sidewalk "painting") that created an odor so bad we were ready to leave. However, we finally (after three changes) were put into a room that worked for us. (We did leave one of the rooms we were in because it was dirty and one because the odor of smoke was strong.) I don't like outside corridors because of security issues, but since we were on the third level I let that go. The room we ended up in was nice enough and the bathroom seemed newly remodeled and was clean. There is a white noise machine in the room and that was a plus because this hotel is not in a quiet section of the city. However, it is in a very convenient location and that was a plus. Finally, the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The front desk staff who was dealing with the odor issue handled complaints with calm, humor, and helpful suggestions. They have an excellent concierge to help with your sightseeing plans.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back and on the third level.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddybeans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize. Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very pleased with our stay at the Best Western Plus in Historic Savannah! Each staff member we came in contact with was smiling and ready to answer questions or lend a hand (the sewing kit the front desk gave me to repair my daughter's Girl Scout uniform was wonderful!). The location was convenient and within walking distance to all the sites we were interested in. It was super close to the river and the City Market. Breakfast was good and our room always clean. We were a little worried about the noise mentioned in previous reviews on Trip Advisor but did not have a problem. There was work on the sidewalks during our stay at the hotel but we were told this at the time we booked and it didn't interrupt our stay. Hope to be back there soon with my Girl Scout troop and their families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I hope when you return to Savannah you become one of the many BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!

Thanks,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Upon first glance, reaction was dubious. Looks like a roadside motel with nothing to get excited about! Room was adequate. But then......bed was wonderful and pillows awesome...so far so good...no internet connection and told by night desk manager it should be repaired following morning! Hah!!!Fast forward...the room we were given has had problems in the past. Would have been nice if we were honestly advised..but then in steps Sherri, daytime desk staff...what a gem. Honestly..we will return there, and thanks mainly to her handling, in a most professional and caring manner of our problem. We were eventually moved to another room, and compensated for our inconveniences. Also have to mention the concierge Miss Mary who is another gem. I fell in love with the place..location is very convenient to the Old Town..we experienced no noise, were not fearful of surroundings at all. Room clean and breakfast more than adequate. I had an amazing 3 nights' sleep, and upon check out felt I was saying good by to old and dear friends. Would definitely go back! Thank you to the staff!

Room Tip: we were facing the front on the 3rd floor....do not take room 110 where we had problems with the int...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leetanMontreal_Quebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: ₹ 7,405 - ₹ 16,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing